Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Kevin Bloomfield


Kevin Bloomfield author of Mr Biggs in the City.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?

I read quite a bit and sometimes listen to books as I drive. I recently finished the Hunger games series and am listening to book #2 of Game of Thrones. I think next in line is something a little less sci-fi… maybe Lincoln Lawyer.

What were your earliest memories of writing?

Most of my early story creation is through art. I am an illustrator first. I’ve been creating stories through art since I was a youngster. There were probably even a few Bigfoot drawings back then sometime.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

My mom is an amazing oil painter and always had me creating. I think it was a good mix of naturally being attracted to story telling and the encouraging support of my family.

Are you working on a new book?

I just finished Mr. Biggs at the Circus. It should be out in May 2012. I am also getting ready to start a new children’s series that include aliens, kids, a farm and breakfast… what could it be?

What inspired you to write Mr. Biggs in the City, and how did you come up with the character?

I am a big guy and I travel to China about 2 times each year. When I am in China I stick out like a sore thumb and am much bigger than the average person in China. This sort of sprouted the idea of a giant in the city.

What do your children think about Mr. Biggs?

I have two daughters  (ages 2 and 5) and they love him. He’s part of the family now. I had a golden rule as I was illustrating the book. If they didn’t laugh at the page I would throw it out and start over.

What was your favorite children’s book?

My favorite book when I was a kid was Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs (the original). Now a days, I enjoy Splat the Cat and Shaun the Sheep by Rob Scotton.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

I like to first start with writing a description of what I want to happen on each page. The hard part is translating that to a much shorter text for young children. I also believe that a child should be able to read the story without reading the text – the illustrations should tell the story all by themselves. This is always a challenge.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

My full time career is as a children’s toy creator. This takes up the majority of my day to day. When I’m not working, I attempt to play golf and I love to take my girls off roading in my Jeep.

You have invented and designed children’s toys for the past 10 years. Could you name a few of the toys?

I use to actually design the toys. Now I have a team of very talented designers that get to have all the fun. Together we create toys for Gazillion Bubbles and coming this Fall – Nation Geographic.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

I actually haven’t had a bad review in the children’s book world. Let’s hope it stays this way. I think I’m too new to the world of writing to have writers block, but I do get burnt out every once in a while. This usually means I need to go fishing or play golf.. Something to let off some steam and clear my head.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

All smiles! At this age kids should be smiling non-stop. I think children’s books should be about giggling and laughter… and behind the scenes sneak in a good lesson. In this case, realizing we are all different. Big, small, green or purple – we all belong… and if you see another kid that doesn’t feel like they belong, you should help them feel a bit more welcome.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

My absolute favorite children’s author / illustrator is Rob Scotton. I would also love to have dinner with a great storyteller like Jon Krakauer or J.K. Rowling.

What author inspires you the most and why?

No one specific author inspires me. I love to read all genres and all reading levels. Sometimes I need a true story from Jon Krakaur and sometimes I need a sci-fi/fantasy book like Game of Thrones. Every once in a while I’ll throw in a mystery or thriller like  Davinci Code. I’ll even jump back to a classic like 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

I am a very determined guy. If I set my mind to something, I can go get it. When I was illustrating Mr. Biggs I woke up before work and illustrated for an hour and started up again after the kids went to bed. I didn’t sleep much during this time, but it’s worth it in the long run.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

Look for something creative and fun! There is no such thing as bad reading for a kid. Be open to what they want, but also show them new books that they might not know about. I judge all books by the illustrations because that’s what kids will notice first.

What advice would you would give to new writers?

Hang in there. Expect to be shut down allot and keep a thick skin. Keep pushing consistently. If you want a publisher, don’t send it to just a few publishers, send it to all publishers. Set a schedule for yourself (submit to 10 publishers each day).

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

Check out our website at, Blog at,  Facebook page at and Twitter @KevinBloomfield.

Thank you for this interview.


October 20, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. Wow what a wonderful writer of children’s book’s ….my lil grandaughter would love this book…hope to win the book ‘Mr.Biggs In The City’ by Kevin Bloomfield………

    Comment by Linda McFarland | October 20, 2011 | Reply

  2. Amazing ideas for childrens’ books! And the illustrations are adorable!

    Comment by lisa | October 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. It sounds like your girls have a big part in creating your books. I have fourteen grandchildren so I know what an infuluence they can have on our behavior and actions. Wait isn’t that suppose to be the other way around?
    Did your sticking out like a sore thumb in China because of your size have anything to do with creation of Mr.Biggs? Adults have a way of wanting to make ourselves and our children to fit into the mold of society. So this book will be a good lesson for parents and children alike to just be who you are. Break the mold!

    Blessing to you and Yours,
    Patricia aka Mamaw

    Comment by It's Time To Read Mamaw | October 21, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, my travels for sure helped me create some of the humor in this book. When you are in a place built for smaller people it’s important to keep a sense of humor.
      Thank you!
      -Kevin Bloomfield

      Comment by kbloomfield | October 21, 2011 | Reply

  4. “…the illustrations should tell the story all by themselves”
    This is a wonderful idea that I think makes a book appeal to children of all ages – when they are younger & need stories read to them & when they are able to read on their own.
    This is a series I can pictire my 8 year old grandson reading to his 2 younger sisters
    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | October 21, 2011 | Reply

    • It’s great you recognize this. My oldest daughter is 6 and she reads it to my youngest who is 2. I thinki if the book is created correctly you can reach a very broad audience.
      Thank you!
      -Kevin Bloomfield

      Comment by kbloomfield | October 21, 2011 | Reply

  5. Its nice to see an interview with a dad. I love kevins advice on keep on trying .

    Comment by Larissa | October 22, 2011 | Reply

  6. So funny, I looked at your photo and thought “He looks a little like a Bigfoot” and then read about your travels to China where you were the big guy! I’m glad to see there will be future books. My son loves to read more then one book about the same characters.

    Comment by Jodi Webb | October 24, 2011 | Reply

    • I love this book I have posted it on my twitter wall and other places. Mr. Biggs is darling and the Kevin ain’t so bad either ;o)

      Comment by It's Time To Read Mamaw | October 25, 2011 | Reply

  7. Creating characters and stories for your own children must be so fun and rewarding! Very cute story concepts, and I think it’s very cool that you’re both author and illustrator– makes for a more cohesive experience.

    Comment by Kassie | October 31, 2011 | Reply

  8. I think it’s great that you’ve been so successful with your books, while working full time and raising your girls. It’s an encouragement for those struggling to find time to do the things they want. Just shows you, if you really want to do something, you can. Thanks for the great book!

    Comment by Amy W. | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  9. I love how the author came up with the character in comparison to his own life and trips to china.

    Comment by Donna Marie | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  10. I also love Splat the Cat!

    Comment by Lily Kwan | November 4, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

