Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author T.P.Boje

Biography: T. P. Boje is a mother of two, a stepmother of another two and a hardcore cartoon lover, Tim Burton enthusiast, and enjoys any movie the Coen Brothers have made (with the big Lebowski being her favorite strongly followed by Burn after Reading). She is also a writer of Y/A Paranormal Romance, fantasy and mystery. She is originally fromDenmarkbut currently living inFlorida,USA. Her books are translated into several languages.

To learn more follow her on Twitter, visit her fan site on Facebook or check out her web-page:

Interview with T.P.Boje author of The Eye of The Crystal Ball

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?
The Shack by William P. Young

What was your favorite teen book?

I have always loved The Neverending Story.

What were your earliest memories of writing?
I remember writing a story about Tarzan when I was just a child. I have still got it somewhere at my parents house. Then I remember that I loved telling stories to my classmates in school, making them forget that they were about to go out and play. My teacher loved listening to my stories and he made me write some for him and he would comment on them.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

It was that teacher in the fourth grade that told me I should write my stories down. I would tell stories constantly and he wanted me to put them on paper. Today I have a daughter who does the exact same. She tells the most amazing stories all day long. 

Are you working on a new book?

This fall I have published a new series called Afterlife. The first book is called The Academy and the sequel is Serenity. It is about a girl who wakes up on a flying steamboat and realizes she is dead. She is on her way to a school that she has to graduate from before she can go to heaven. On the boat she meets Mick who helps her through a difficult time in this new world filled with heavenly magic. At the school she finds a magic mirror and goes through it. She ends up back on earth where she meets Jason. But Jason is in trouble and one day she discovers that she knows something important. Something that is the matter of life and death. Soon she has to choose between the two worlds.
It is a Y/A paranormal romance series. I am currently working on the third book.

What inspired you to write The Eye of the Crystal Ball and how did you come up with each character?

This story is inspired by stories my dad used to tell me. I have always had an interest in gypsies and loved the stories my dad would tell about their music, dancing and fluttering skirts. Actually he used to tell me that I was really a gypsy. That they had found me on the doorstep at our house with a note and that one day my real parents would come and get me. It was just for fun and I didn’t believe him (he also told my brother that they had bought him at the zoo – from the monkeycage) but some part of me wanted that to be my story. I wanted to be different than the regular middle-class girl that I was. I wanted to go to exotic places and dance like he told me they did. I wanted an adventure of my own.

So the main-character Sara has actually been with me ever since my childhood and it wasn’t until last spring that I realized she was getting ready to go on an adventure on her own.

If you were to chose a character from your book, which one would it be?

Abigail the ten-foot speedtalking snail. She is so adorable, but no one understand her. She is really clumsy and people are afraid of her, but all she really wants is to have someone to talk to.

What was the most difficult part when writing The Eye of the Crystal?

To remember to give the scenes the time they need. I love to tell stories and sometimes I rush them a little too much.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

I go to the beach with my husband and kids. We live inFloridaso we do that a lot.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

I have never had writer’s block, and bad reviews are part of the game. That is just something you have to get used to. Sometimes I read them to see if there could be anything I could learn from, other times I just ignore them. We are all different and like different books, that is just the way it is. I tell myself that the book just wasn’t for that person, that the reviewer just wasn’t my target-audience.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

I hope they will have the feeling of having been on a great adventure. I hope they have been spell-bound and have forgotten everything around them. After all that is what it is all about.

 Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

Michael Ende, C.S. Lewis, Jules Verne, Karen Blixen

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.

I have to write five pages a day, then I am happy.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?
I have only small children myself and I pick their books, so I really don’t know much about what to look out for yet, but ask me again in a couple of years.

What advice you would give to new writers?

Read as much as you write. Some of the best inspiration comes from other books.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

Just that I love to write and I hope they will enjoy my books as much as I enjoy writing them.

Thank you for this interview.

October 19, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , ,


  1. Love to win the book for my lil grandaughter…she would love it…she loves to read. I really enjoyed reading your interview.. such a talented writer…

    Comment by Linda McFarland | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. I would love to read this book. But most of all I’d like to give this book to my grandson. He loves to read and this book would really keep him interested.

    I’d like to read her next series Afterlife. I enjoyed reading about her father telling her stories of gypsies.

    clenna at aol dot com

    Comment by clenna | October 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. It was wonderful learning about a new author. I find it’s better to read interviews on blogs than just reading the back cover of a book. I’m really interested in The Eye of the Crystal Ball. I adore fantasy based books if they are base for children or adults but I do have to say that One, Two…He is coming for you looks great too.

    Thank you for introducing me to a new author and the giveaway!
    jbronderblogs at aol dot com

    Comment by Jessica Bronder | October 20, 2011 | Reply

  4. The interview was interesting. I love to read other author’s success stories. Kudos to T.P.Boje!

    Comment by Debbie Cocchio | October 21, 2011 | Reply

  5. I really loved the description of her father telling her and her brothers stories. I would have loved that growing up. I was the only writer/story teller when I was young. Now it seems they’re everywhere. Lol.

    Comment by Cherese Vines | October 21, 2011 | Reply

  6. Great interview and Great sounding book!
    It is nice to hear her stories of family members.

    Comment by larissa brunken | October 22, 2011 | Reply

  7. Great interview. I especially love that the inspiration for her character in the book came from stories that her father used to tell. It sounds like she grew up in a loving and creative family.

    stuffsmartblog at gmail dot com

    Comment by Stuff Smart (@StuffSmart) | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  8. Sounds like a book my son would love and I love to encourage him to read!

    Comment by Sara McKibben-Lehman (@Sweetsillysara) | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  9. I would also love to dine with Jules Verne!

    Comment by Lily Kwan | November 4, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

