Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Tina Turbin


Tina Turbin is a multi-award-winning children’s author, writer, researcher, humanitarian and mother. Having written her first children’s story at age 16, she has enjoyed many years of working with and helping children and their families. Her Danny the Dragon children’s series fulfills a passion of hers to delight and entertain through her enchanting characters. Her style of writing conveys to the young and young at heart. Tina resides in both her East and West Coast studios, always writing more children’s books to entertain the world.

Interview with Tina Turbin author of  Danny The Dragon “Meets Jimmy”

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?

Since I am working on some eBooks for the gluten free market I have had my nose in a variety of cookbooks, and nutrition books from some of the top chefs and nutritionists in this field, as part of my research.

What were your earliest memories of writing?

When I was in second grade I wrote my first story that I can recall. One of the high school students came in to assist the teacher. She came to my desk proceeded to correct my work, my thoughts and ideas. It was then even at that young age that I realized deep down that we all are unique, have our own ideas and there is not right or wrong as an author.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

I am and Artist in general. I design, I paint. I cook “beautiful” dishes and I write. The urge I have within is ME.

Are you working on a new book?

I just wrapped up three eBooks, one released and have three new children’s books on the line. There is much to go though as far as editing and getting it published. So keep your eyes open!

What inspired you to write Danny the Dragon?

It was a culmination of events, ideas and “Danny the Dragon Meets Jimmy” it is only the first of a large set of ideas to be released. Each character has a personal note within my life and then the character developed from there.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

Yes, and there is no magic potion I can share to getting over it. I sometimes leave my desk, go read other authors books, head to the library, get inspired by reading other authors sites- you name it. Sometime I juts need to sit and look at blank paper and make it happen.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

I would say setting the time, adhereing to a schedule and keeping in my Policy to NOT answer my phones and emails on the days the writing is a bit rougher.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

I write for a number fo other publications and on- line sites, develop recipes for , read and research other authors and I love reading interviews. I am an avid outdoors gal. I love to hike with my husband and friends, exercise and swim. Keeping in shape is fun “work” to me.

How do you react to a bad review?

I have had only two so far. One was a personal opinion so I could not “learn” from it. The other had some valid points. I am willing to look to see if there is something I could imrove. If so, I can use it to my benefit. In the case of the first, it was nonsense. I do not like to read reviews of simply critics or “want-to-be”  or failed authors.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with- and what would you do or say?

I can name just a few for now as there are far too many for this interview. I’d have to arrange a huge party and call all the amazing authors from the past and present to dine and mingle. Here you go: A. A Milnie and of course some tea with Pooh bear, Richard Back to tell him how I have never looked at birds the same after his fabulous book, Judy Blume to tell her she has set such an example as an author. I just want to thank her profusely for speaking openly about her thoughts, sharing what she believes and supporting authors all over the world to write what they want!

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

I have a set schedule per week, no cell phones and do not at all address emails when writing no matter how tempting. As far as Goals, I set a target to completion and set goals on now concepts started.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

I am not sure I feel there are right books. I feel that the more variety the child had access to the better. By all means do not bring home a book that totally violates your family beliefs or a book that could in same way cause more harm than good. Do be liberal in allowing a variety of books to communicate to your child and let him reap the benefits of all the various styles that authors write of the here now and the long past.

Books of all sorts are inspiring, stimulate interests and dreams and are full of imagination and education with very little efforts on the reader. Kids love books and the larger the stack you bring home, the better.

What advice you would give to new writers?

To spend more time reading children’s authors of the genre you choose and writing profusely and less time reading “how to” books. Reading how to is important but don’t get stuck in them. There is nothing better than doing it- write!

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

Yes, thank you for asking. I truly love writing for children, their families, the schools and libraries and thank everyone for accepting my styles of writing, my communication and all I write with such acceptance and pleasure. This adds to my pleasure. I am constantly writing with all of you in mind. Thank you so very much! Tina

October 1, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , ,


  1. I so enjoyed this interview and learning about this author as I think my grandson would be a great recipient of one of her books so I’m going to write her name down and look for books written by her as gifts for the coming season.

    I especially loved her comment towards bad reviews. She sounds like an open person who is able to accept and learn from others views. I also agree with her on personal opinion reviews and how worthless they are to those trying to grow in their field of art.
    Most of those types are just written from a jealous stand point and are not worth reading.
    Another wonderful interview, Ella!

    Comment by Grace | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  2. Wow a multi purpose chiildrens writer and a cookbook. Two different items coompletly.
    Wonderful interview and reasoning behind the book.

    Comment by larissa | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  3. Hello I am intreseted in reviewing your book. My daughter loves to read and i think she would really enjoy this book. I would love the chance to read it both her and my son who is just starting to enjoy being read to. I will in return write a review about it on here and on my blog.

    Comment by Rebecca Gardner | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  4. It’s good to hear that this might lead to a series. Such a cute idea for a book and I’m sure many children will love listening to and reading it and the books to come!🙂

    Comment by Kristie | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  5. I agree with the author on how to choose books for my family. With three kids we have a wide variety to choose from. Which is good because honestly I am not much of a reader and if we didnt have a variety I cant say I would do it.

    Comment by lon | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  6. Hello, I saw your post on the other blog and as a mom of a 3 1/2 year old I would Love to get this book for him as he Loves Dinosaurs and he is taking a reading class in school so we could share it with his friends. I also would Love to do a interview with the Author on my blog Authors Book Corner http://www.AuthorsBookCorner and also Mommies Point of View I do like knowing it might be a series as well. Starting when you where 16 is awesome I can not imagine that. I am totally enterested in the Gluetin Free cookbooks and so I will be watching for them.

    Comment by Mommies Point of View | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  7. I appreciate how she bases her characters on experiences in her personal life

    Comment by Marci J | October 3, 2011 | Reply

  8. My son loves Dragons! What a great book – I love that the story teaches lessons too!

    Comment by lisa | October 3, 2011 | Reply

  9. Cant wait for the whole series! I know my 4 yr old daughter is going to greatly enjoy this book, as it will help her with her chore chart!

    Comment by nick0166nicole | October 4, 2011 | Reply

  10. I enjoyed this post. I admire her capabilities to do so much and be involved in so many things. My youngest grandson is so into Dragons right now. Anew book for my TRL. Thanks for the interview. GFC name is Lucky47.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | October 5, 2011 | Reply

  11. my son loves dragons and this sounds like a awesome book.

    Comment by Asha Marie Pena | October 7, 2011 | Reply

  12. My grandson loves dragons and would really love to have this book! She sounds very warm and friendly.

    Comment by Mary Bearden | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  13. I love books that reinforce what I teach my children. Thanks for this cute book!

    Comment by Amy W. | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  14. My grandson has a wild imagination I can just see him as the little boy in this book. He loves dragons. Just what kind of creature is the dragons companion? I like that the dragon is wearing red sneakers. I would love to have this book for my grandson he is three yrs old but acts a lot older maybe that is because he has twin sisters that are fifteen yrs old, and another sister that is eight yrs old. You think he might be a little spoiled? ;o)

    Patricia aka Mamaw

    plb1050 at gmail dot com

    Comment by It's Time To Read Mamaw | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  15. Wonderful interview! Looks like a super cute book and it teachers children about manners…a definite have to get! My cousin loves dinosaurs. I know he would love this. Ill be getting him a copy.🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Comment by Shadow | October 17, 2011 | Reply

  16. Stacey L
    I liked your advice on how to write childrens bookis to read more of them and not as many how to books

    Comment by stacey l | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  17. Look like more to come in the series..I will watch for those!

    Comment by Erinn S | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  18. Danny the dragon sounds like an adorable character, I can’t wait to read this book with my child

    Comment by kathleen | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  19. I love your book illustration of the dragon – it reminds me fondly of Puff the magic dragon and childhood fantasies

    Comment by Carol | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  20. Thank you for the link to the gluten-free living website. I thought it was very helpful.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | October 20, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

