Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Margie Taylor Lisbona

Margie Taylor Lisbona is a mother and wife to a hilarious and loving family. Her husband Larry and their three children, Beth, Bryan and Betsy, along with daughter-in-law Kristin and son-in-law Shawn, continually keep her on her toes. The best gift that was ever given to Margie was her two SUPER FANTABULOUS grandchildren – Lady Loren Adele and Sir Greyson Paul. They are the very heart of her being. When Lady Loren started talking, Margie became a YaYa, a title that is earned by lots of love, hugs, HI-FIVES and constant attention. Margie’s days are spent writing, baking for the wonderful kids at Prairie Ridge Elementary, or just being herself.

Children have always been a source of energy for Margie. Her love for children is recognized immediately by any child that comes into contact with her. Throughout her life, many people would tell her that she should write a book on how to raise good kids – so one day back in 2006, she started doing just that. The first book “Rock & Rhino Learn Responsibility” which will be released in May 2011, shortly turned into just shy of a dozen books to date.

Margie has no accolades or awards to impress you with at this time, but give her a few months, then reread this bio. She is a determined YaYa with a goal to be obtained. That goal is “KIDS” – they always have been and always will be her only business!

Interview with Margie Taylor Lisbona author of Rock & Rhino Learn Responsibility

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog


What is the last book you read? Well, since I have been writing the “Rock and Rhino”series since 2006 I will have to say “See the USA the Rock and Rhino Way”. (Although, it is not yet published, but that is what I have been reading and reading and rereading.  


What were your earliest memories of writing? I am not the author that had visions of becoming a famous world renowned writer since I learned to write my first word in the first grade. On the contrary, I NEVER saw myself as an author! Honest! I was and still am a bit of a ‘Rhino’ you see. To answer your question in a timeline – I would have to say when I was 52 years old. 
Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? I had this little niggle in my head back in 2006 of a desire to help parents and ‘show and tell’ kids how to become a Rock and not a Rhino. A ‘niggle’ to me is  burning thoughts that were rolling around in my head and one day, I just sat down and started writing these niggles down on paper. When there got to be to many papers laying on my desk, I turned on my computer and transferred all that information into my first book. For many, many years adults would say “Margie, your kids are so awesome, you need to write a book on how to raise good kids”. So with my niggle and people’s request – I did just that.


Are you working on a new book? Yes, I am finishing up a wonderful book on the Geography of the United States. Learning the states and capitals has always been a tough go for a lot of kids. “See the USA the Rock and Rhino Way” is full of nemonic helpers for anyone that has a bit of trouble remembering how to spell the names. (I know I did when I was a kid – wish Rock and Rhino had been around when I needed them).  
What inspired you to write Rock and Rhino? I have a great nephew that I took care of before and after school, along with my almost 90 year old mother. Brock was a real, true to life ‘Rhino’ and my inspiration to start writing. I had to put some order into my life to make our situation work and save our sanity. Rock had potential of becoming a Rockstar, with a gentle help-push from his “Greatest” Aunt Margie. He is now entering Middle School and as he says, “I am living proof that this book really works”. I love that kid!


How did you come up with each characters? They just come to life in my head. Rock is a chicken kid – a very cute chicken kid – a child that follows the rules, a child that adults look at and wish their child was like Rock. Rock does it the right way and is a ROCKSTAR. Most people would think that a chicken is afraid of everything – but Rock shows children that being called a ‘chicken’ is a good thing. Rhino is a rhinoceros kid – loveable and always doing things the wrong way. We love you Rhino, but boy do you need a lot of practice to become a ROCKSTAR.  I’ll tell you a secret. I think my “secretidento” had something to do with making up the characters. Someday I’ll tell you all about “secretidento”, but not today. Each and every character in my books are very special to me – they all have touched my heart at one time or another in my life.
What was your favorite children’s book? I didn’t have a favorite children’s book. I did however, love fairy tales. Hansel and Gretel was my all time fav.
Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? I don’t believe in ‘writer’s block. I do believe that your brain gets tired. I just exercise or play with my grandkids and then get back to writing. It’s there – you just have to rest your imagination sometimes.  

What is the most difficult part of writing? Keeping my focus on what I am writing. I tend to get off track and start writing other stories. I have to turn my recorder on, tell it my new thoughts,  then get back to the business at hand. (I told you about that ‘secretidento’ – it gives me a whale of a fit sometimes.)
What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books? I do a lot of things. My most ‘special time’ is the time that I spend with my grandkids Loren and Greyson. They are ROCKSTARS and just crack this YaYa up when we are together. Since ‘kids’ are the love of my life, I bake all kinds of good things to eat at our local elementary school. Yes, I am ‘The Lunch Lady’.  I also ride a tractor. I love to mow. I think and think when I mow – I get a lot of good ideas when I do this. 
How do you react to a bad review? This is hard to answer, since I have not had a bad review yet. When I do get one – I’ll look at what the person has to say, think it over, pick out the good pieces and move forward. 
What do you hope that readers will take away from your book? That there is no such thing as a ‘bad’ kid. There are only parents, guardians and or teachers that just need a gentle reminder on how to show kids that they can ALL be ROCKSTARS. Learning this has to start early, before the ‘ways of the world’ take over in their little minds.  Let kids be kids – not little adults, there is a lifetime of being an adult, but such a little amount of time to be a kid. Kids are our bestest gift in the world – with patience and repetition we can change behavior – ONE BEAUTIFUL CHILD AT A TIME!
Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? Bill Cosby! I have admired this man for almost all my life. (he is quite a bit older than me – he,he, he)  His love for all kids is unique and heart-able.
What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? I don’t pressure myself ever. I let God drive my bus.  I have never missed a stop yet. My goals are to touch as many children’s lives as I possibly can in my lifetime – to love them, nurture them and encourage them. As I move forward – I am just a YaYa – no pressure!
What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? Wow, this is a hard question. There are so many books out there – some for the right reason and some for the not so right reason. Some good and some not so good. I guess I would say – keep your child’s best interest at heart. When you have selected a book, be sure that it leaves a ‘positive’ for your child to think about. 
What advice you would give to new writers? Don’t EVER give up on your dream. If it is meant to be, it will be.  Look deep into your soul and if you have a burning desire to share something, then stay on it until you succeed.
Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? Just love your children. When they are born, put yourself upstairs in the attic for the next 18 years. Spend all your efforts, time and patience to raise the best child yet. You won’t regret it – not for one minute!
Thank you for this interview.

August 31, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. Become a friend to Rock and Rhino – go to Rock and Rhino on Facebook and check out their page!

    Comment by Margie Taylor Lisbona (YaYa) | September 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. Congratulations on turning your “niggle” into a reality! I pray that one day I will be able to do the same, for I, too, have a niggle! It is wonderful that you want help parents and kids be better through your books! Thanks for the interview. It was inspiring.

    Comment by Megan | September 1, 2011 | Reply

  3. I think her next book will be great. Learning the states and capitals was hard for me. I still dont know them well.

    Comment by Lora1967 | September 3, 2011 | Reply

  4. I like your theory on writer’s block!

    Comment by Susie Chadwick | September 5, 2011 | Reply

  5. The new book sounds wonderful! I’ve always been really interested in geography, maps and traveling and I’d love for my children to enjoy it too🙂

    Comment by Kristie | September 7, 2011 | Reply

  6. I love that your main focus is on kids and how to help them succeed in various challenges—such as learning responsibility! This is a big step for any kid, and the fact that your heart is to help them through different steps in life is very encouraging to me as a parent! I need authors who can help me as a young parent teach my kids–and what better way than through a fun book!

    Comment by Sophie and Momma | September 8, 2011 | Reply

  7. I love that these books were inspired by a real life child. As she said, her kids grew up great, so I wouldn’t have given her as much credit if she hadn’t had the extremely challenging nephew to add to her experiences. With his “I am living proof” accolades, I am certain that this set of books would be very helpful!
    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Alicia C. | September 9, 2011 | Reply

  8. I love this lady and her logics! Margie wrote a book that some people would never think of. Love that it is teaching responsiblity not only is with the child but adult as well. Great interview!

    Comment by Larissa | September 11, 2011 | Reply

  9. Margie you sound like an awesome mom/grandmom. Can you adopt me? ;0D

    Comment by Lily Kwan | September 14, 2011 | Reply

    • LOL!

      Comment by mymcbooks | September 14, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

