Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview and Giveaway: World of Ink Tour for LaNiyah Bailey – Not Fat Because I Wanna Be! Ends Aug 31st

Author Bio: LaNiyah Bailey is a 6‐year‐old author with a message for children like her – just because you are bigger than other kid, that doesn’t mean that people have the right to bully you.

In her debut book, Not FAT Because I Wanna Be, LaNiyah details the struggle of Jessica, a fictional girl who has an underlying medical issue that causes her to gain weight. Bullied by her peers, Jessica learns to accept her body and eventually opens up about her condition to her classmates.

LaNiyah is not only speaking to other children through her book, but has become an advocate for anti‐bullying organizations. With a message that words can hurt and that not all weight gain is due to an unhealthy lifestyle, LaNiyah hopes her book will enlighten and entertain her young readers.

Interview with LaNiyah author of Not Fat Because I wanna Be.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog.

What inspired you to write? I was inspired to write because I’ve been teased and bullied a lot. I decided that enough was enough; I wanted to use my voice to tell people what happened to me and how it made me feel. Hoping it could make it better for another kid that was getting bullied or teased because they were different.

Do you consider yourself a born writer? I would say yes, to that because I am only six and have written a book already.

Have you had any training to become a writer? No, I never had training. It just came about in my mind and because it something that happened to me it was a little easier.

What type of books do you mostly write? Truth-based; fiction

Can you share with us a little about your current book? It is a story about a fictional girl named Jessica, who had an underlying medical condition that caused her to gain weight. She was being teased and bullied all the time because she was different. Then one day she had the courage to stand up for herself.

What type of book promotion works for you? Any special strategies you’d like to share? My mother and her team promote the book all over the internet. But, we have been going out a lot to places where children are and giving away the book for free, just to get the story out there. Then people come to the website and purchase the book.

What like most about writing? I like that I get to share my feelings and that I can possibly be helping other kids share their story.

Do you find it hard to balance your personal writing time with your other job(s)? I am in kindergarten so it’s not hard to write and go to school. I write when I get home.

Do you have any other works in progress? Can you share a little about them? Well, I am trying to come up with another story right now for my 2nd book. I am working with my mom on putting together a TV cooking show that we want to do with me and a celebrity.

Tell us about your writing space? We write all over our house. Paper and pens are everywhere. hahaha

Do you do first drafts on a computer or by hand? My mom wrote down my story with a pen and paper then she typed it up to do the editing.

What is your creative process like? What happens before sitting down to write? Well, I imagined my story in my mind, along with the true things that happened and that’s how I created it.

Do you participate in competitions? Have you received any awards? I haven’t been in any contests or anything for my book.

What do you recommend I do with all those things I wrote years ago but have never been able to bring myself to show anyone? You should use the courage from inside you and share it with others because you may be helping someone else with your story.

Is there anything else you would like to share with us? Yes, I plan on writing more books soon and I hope this book helps a lot of kids and inspires them to stand up for themselves and stops bullies from bullying others because of their differences.

I thank you for taking the time to share with my readers about being an author. And I thank you, for having me today. I had a great time and I really appreciate you helping share my message and my book “Not fat because I wanna be”. Please visit my website at:

Author Website:

Blog Address:

Facebook Fan Page URL:

 Book Review

Product Description: Not Fat Because I Wanna Be by LaNiyah Bailey

In her debut book “Not FAT Because I Wanna Be” 6 year old, author/youth advocate, LaNiyah Bailey, details the struggle of Jessica, a fictional girl who has an underlying medical issue that causes her to gain weight. Bullied by her peers, Jessica learns to accept her body and eventually opens up about her condition to her classmates.

My Review: It’s important to take bullying seriously and not just brush it off as something that kids DO. Looking different do not give anyone the right to be picked on.  If you or someone you know is bothered by a bully, talk to someone you trust. This is a great book for parents to read to their children and for teachers to share with their students, to educate them about bullies and the signs of bullying.  Highly recommend this book.

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.


Giveaway (US ONLY)

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! So please leave a helpful comment relating to this book.

PLEASE FOLLOW ALL MANDATORY RULES – Rukes not followed will be deleted immediately.

Mandatory: Leave your comments in the comment field below Don’t forget to leave your email address for contact if you win.

Giveaway Ends August 31st  @ 12 noon

The winner will be selected via

For an Extra chance to win

Book Giveaway Rules:

Join the Book Lovers Blog Hop. (One entry)

Follow the World of Ink Tours and leave a comment per tour blog stop. (must leave a real comment about the author, tour or book. Saying “this is cool” or “I love your book” will not count.)

Make sure to include your safe email so we can contact you if you are the winner. Example: vsgrenier AT storiesforchildrenpublishing DOT com. (One bonus entry per blog stop) Ask a question per World of Ink Tour blog stop. (One bonus entry per tour blog stop)

Click link to enter

Follow this tour to its next stops:

August 24th

The Book Faery Reviews – Author Spotlight

Book Snatchers – Book Review

August 25th

Writers On The Move – Guest Post: What it is like Writing a Book as a Youth Author

August 26th

The Bumpy Road—Book Review

August 28th

Utah Children’s Writer Blog – Guest Post: Why is it Important to Write?

August 29th

BTR’s World of Ink Network: Stories for Children show.

Live Radio Interview at 8pm EST  at


This giveaway has ended.  See Giveaway Winners under Categories for the winner

August 22, 2011 - Posted by | Blog Tour | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


  1. This sounds like a very interesting book, it’s even cooler that the author is so young. I know my niece would love this, they’re getting to the age where they are more aware of body sizes. edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | August 22, 2011 | Reply

  2. Wow. I’m impressed. My own daughter is 5 years old and she would think this is cool for such a young girl to write a book. Very inspiring as is the subject matter.

    Comment by Cherese Vines | August 22, 2011 | Reply

  3. I really want to get this book for my son for several reasons. The first, OF COURSE, is to help him learn that there are ALL sorts of people will ALL sorts of differences. And those differences are not anything to make fun of. He will be different to some people as well. The other reason is for purely “selfish” reasons. I’m not a little person; at all. And I also have several medical issues which contribute to me being heavier. One of my fears is that he might be teased because his Mom is fat and I want to him to have a book that might help him understand why his Mom is a little different from other Moms.

    On a final note, I have to say the little girl’s responses to her interview questions made me fall in love with her. What a talented little person!! My very best wishes to her and her budding career as an author.

    Comment by Lori B | August 22, 2011 | Reply

  4. This looks like a great book to teach kids about not calling others names because you may not understand or know their situation.

    Comment by Daily Woman | August 22, 2011 | Reply

  5. LaNiyah sounds like a delightful, thoughtful child. Her mother must be so proud of her and her insights into life that many adults will never acquire. I hope she contiunes to write.

    Comment by Nicole Sender | August 24, 2011 | Reply

  6. What a wonderful book to discuss with girls. I think most people find this taboo to talk about. But it is very important that kids understand people are different for a lot of reasons and weight should not mold how someone is treated.

    Comment by Larissa | August 26, 2011 | Reply

  7. It is amazing that such a young girl would write something so thoughtful and meaningful to so many people. I would want my daughter to read this and know that she could make a difference too.

    Comment by Cassandra | August 27, 2011 | Reply

  8. This book sounds very inspirational and I think it would be a good way to teach kids that bullying is not okay.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | August 31, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

