Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Dawn Wynne


Dawn Wynne is an award-winning educator with more than 15 years experience teaching students from kindergarten through high school, including special needs students, English Language Learners, and at-risk youths. She was recognized and honored with the “Teacher of the Year” award and the “Superintendent’s Award” for her teaching excellence.  Wynne earned a Bachelor of Arts in theater at UCLA and holds a Master’s degree in Education from NovaSoutheasternUniversity. She has appeared in many television shows including General HospitalRenegade, and Nightman. Wynne’s short film, “Stalkers”, won numerous awards, including the Audience Choice selection at the Palm Springs and Sarasota Film Festivals. Dawn is embarking on a new journey as she combines her love of education and writing with motherhood, producing her first children’s book, I Remember When. She and her husband, Rob, live in Redondo Beach, California with their young daughter Giovanna. Visit author’s website at

Author of I Remember When…

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read? The last book I read was Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah. It is a haunting novel about growing up in the Stalin era.

What were your earliest memories of writing? As a child I loved to write plays.  I would write dialogue for puppet shows As I got older I would re-write scenes from some of my favorite T.V. shows.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? Writing was not something that came naturally to me. I had great teachers who encouraged my creativity and pushed me to refine my writing skills. I spent a lot of time taking writing classes and workshops. 

Are you working on a new book? I have an idea for a second I Remember When book. It will be another interactive book, but this one will have an environmental theme.

You were recognized and honored with the “Teacher of the Year” award, That must be a proud moment for you? Teaching is the most difficult, yet rewarding job. I often wondered if my efforts were really getting through to the students. To be honored with that reward was such a privilege and validation that I was making a difference.  That acknowledgement sparked my desire to become even better as a teacher.

What inspired you to write I Remember When? My grandmother passed away the day before my daughter was born. Shortly after that, I had a dream in which my grandmother and grandfather, who had also passed away, were telling me stories about their childhood. I loved hearing about their traveling adventures and how life was growing up for them.  I learned more about the past from them than any history book or class. I realized my daughter would never have the opportunity to hear these stories.  In my dream I kept hearing the words, “I Remember When.” I woke up and immediately started writing down what occurred.  It haunted me for days and when I finally told my husband he insisted I write this book.

How did you come up with each character? While my grandmother was the inspiration for the book, the characters are not based on any specific person. I wanted to the grandmother and grandchildren to represent anyone.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? All the time!  I guess that’s why for me this book had to come through in a dream!

What is the most difficult part of writing? Making that first step and getting my ideas out on paper is the toughest part. I plan a lot in my head and go over ideas often second guessing myself. When I take the time to outline my thoughts on paper I find that the writing process begins to flow.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books? My two- year-old keeps me very busy.  When I’m not chasing her around I like to scrapbook, travel, or enjoy a glass of wine with friends.

How do you react to a bad review? It’s hard not to take them personally. Coming from a theatrical background I have learned not to take any comments to heart. I like to keep positive notes and cards on my desk so I have those reminders.  By focusing on encouraging words it makes it easier to discard the bad ones. 

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? Currently my favorite author is Kristin Hannah. She is an empathetic writer who tells engaging stories about women and relationships.  Whether it’s best friends deal with a tragedy or a mother trying to support her children in repressive Russia, you are transported into the lives of the characters. I am also a big non-fiction reader. I would love to dine with Marianne Williamson and absorb some of her peaceful energy.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? Working out.  I feel so much better and have more energy when I make time to exercise, even if it’s only for 30 minutes.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? I am a firm believer in finding material that is interesting for the child. Comic books, chapter books, magazines or picture books are equally valid forms of literature. If a child can immerse themselves into something meaningful to them the focus becomes on wanting to read rather than having to read.

What advice you would give to new writers? Look at books or writers you admire and model what they do.  Get your ideas on paper. When you see words on paper your vision takes shape. 

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? Stay true to your beliefs and dreams. So many people will tell you what you can’t do, but few will tell you what you can do.  Listen to those positive influences and surround yourself with like-minded people.

August 18, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , ,


  1. What an amazing resume’! Writer, teacher, actress, creator of a short film, mother….I hope that in the midst of your ambitions you are taking the time to write your own story so that your daughter and her children will know what kinds of accomplishments you’ve had.

    Comment by Cassandra | August 19, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you so much Cassandra! It’s easy to dismiss what I’ve done at times and not acknowledge all the hats I’ve worn. I guess as women we do that sometimes. But, you have inspired me to start writing down my accomplishments. Best of luck🙂.

      Comment by Dawn Wynne | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. Love the interview and the inspiration behind your book. I find it hard enough going through the minor changes in technology, find it weird. Could not imagine what those generations felt.

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  3. Wow, so accomplished! Thanks for sharing your stories!

    Comment by lisa | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  4. I like the idea of an environmental themed “I Remember When” book. It will be neat to see how it turns out!🙂

    Comment by Kristie | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  5. Fantastic job on the book and I cannot wait to see the next I Remember When with the environmental theme, will be an incredible thing to share with this new generation of what we all took for granted.

    Comment by Kim | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  6. I think it’s even more admirable for you to be a writer when it doesn’t come easily for you all the time. I always read about authors who always knew they were writers, who never had writer’s block, and who it just seems to come naturally to. I think it’s even more admirable for someone who perseveres through the hard times and still comes up with amazing stuff! I hope this has made some tiny bit of sense! LOL I am definitely NOT a writer🙂

    Comment by Julie Witt | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  7. I am fascinated that the idea for I Remember When came to you in a dream – and what a wonderful dream it was! I look forward to sharing the book with my grandkids & your next book too.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  8. I love how she states that getting through to a child is the beggest reward. People so often ask me why I do what I do for a living and I am a firm believer that if I can reach just one, then I am doing well!

    Comment by Kimberly K | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  9. A beautiful inspiration behind your book. Within our own families are treasure troves of History. I too always think I learned more from my grand parents then any History book. I’m looking forward to reading this and many more books by you.🙂
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 21, 2011 | Reply

  10. “Stay true to your beliefs and dreams. So many people will tell you what you can’t do, but few will tell you what you can do. Listen to those positive influences and surround yourself with like-minded people.” What wisdom!! I especially like the part about people telling only what you CAN’T do, not what you CAN do. This also applies to the classroom. I cannot stand when teacher’s only focus on the negative and what the puishment will be if a rule is broken. I enjoyed reading this interview and learning more about about the author.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

    Comment by Nancye Davis | August 21, 2011 | Reply

  11. Such great advice, “So many people will tell you what you can’t do, but few will tell you what you can do.”! I’ve been toying with children’s book ideas and reading that is SO HELPFUL! Thank you!

    Comment by Heather S | August 24, 2011 | Reply

  12. I am a high school mathematics teacher who never considered herself very good at writing. The author has an impressive resume. I know how humbling it can be to be selected as “Teacher of the Year.” It does validate that we have made a difference. My mother always encouraged me to read what I wanted to read and not just what I had to read in my classes. It was also interesting that the idea for this book came from a dream that she had. I had a booklet that I had given to both my dad and my grandmother for them to fill in different things about when they were growing up. At least I still have a chance to get my dad to complete his. I would like to share them with my daughter and grandson one of these days.

    Comment by Christine W | August 27, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

