Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Stover. Ends August 28th

Stover written by Kathy Brodsky and illustrated by Cameron Bennett

What do you think pigs do when they’re not home?
Meet Stover, a happy little pig with a secret life. He’s a pig, so he loves playing in the mud, but once he’s all cleaned up, he gets dressed for his “other” life.

My name is Stover.
I’m a neat pig.
I keep myself healthy
in small ways and big!

Read what he does to stay happy and healthy!”

My Review: Stover is a pig who enjoys a healthy life style and he wants to show children just how healthy they can become having fun exercising. He starts his day with playing in the mud then off to take a shower and then eats a healthy breakfast before he goes to the gym. When at the gym Stover takes part in a variety of exercises. He is determined to eat right and stay in shape.

Toward the end of the book the author gives two check list related to Fitness and Food for kids to do. The check list includes questions about what is “good health?” How can you tell if you’re healthy? Why is it necessary to ear? What fun, healthy snack and recipes can you make? and much more.  These are questions you can sit down with your children and discuss. They will encourage your children to think about exercising and eating healthy.

The soft pastel colors and bright illustration by Cameron Bennett which reminds me of Dick and Jane. This book promotes conversations about the issues of unhealthy eating and lack of exercise facing children and families today.

Kathy Brodsky stated that exercise and good nutrition are keys to bring healthy. I highly recommend this book for family and classroom reading.

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway (US ONLY)

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! 

So please leave a helpful comment relating to this book.


Mandatory Entry: Leave your comment and email address below.

Please read the author’s interview and leave a comment also

1 lucky winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends August 28th  @ 12 noon

This giveaway has ended! 

Check Giveaway Winners to find out who won

August 17, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , , , , , ,


  1. How adorable is he?! In this day and age when children are bombarded with media which influences their eating habits in a negative way, how nice to be able to infuse a itttle common sense in a non-preachy way. This book provides an excellent opportunity for parents to engage children on the topic of diet & exercise.

    Comment by Rita M | August 17, 2011 | Reply

  2. We don’t see/read many books that promote healthy eating and exercise, so it’s neat to see one that I can imagine my kiddos would really get into and enjoy reading.

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | August 17, 2011 | Reply

  3. That is a cute cover! I love when authors can use cute little animals into stories that teach them good habits! My kids would love this!

    Comment by lisa | August 17, 2011 | Reply

  4. As a registered dietitian, I love that this book is a kid-friendly way to introduce healthy eating. Yay for Stover!🙂


    Comment by Beth Reinke | August 17, 2011 | Reply

  5. Being a ‘farmer’ I am always excited about children’s books that utilize the good ole farm animal. Will be interesting to read about a healthy pig, as they typically are known for eating everything in site!
    melanieinoh2003 (at) yahoo (dot) com

    Comment by Melanie | August 17, 2011 | Reply

  6. This seems like a great way to get kids excited about being healthy. The pig on the cover looks like he is having so much fun that if I were a kid, i’m sure reading it would be fun and make being healthy fun.

    Comment by Cassandra | August 18, 2011 | Reply

  7. It’s rare to find a child’s read promoting healthy living and eating. I think with a premise such as this and a character like Stover the kids are going to enjoy this learning lesson.🙂
    Gfc follower under Lucky47
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 18, 2011 | Reply

  8. With healthy eating and exercise being such issues for children these days, a book that may help them along that journey would definitely be appreciated and this sounds like good one. I love the little pig and the cover is great. I think any young children would enjoy this one and I would enjoy sharing it with them.

    countrysunset40 (at) aol dot com

    Comment by Tracy Smith | August 18, 2011 | Reply

  9. I love the description of this book!! Exercise and healthy eating are so important in this time of childhood obesity, and since I’m always fighting with my son to eat healthy food, I would love to have this book to read to him!! Thanks for yet another awesome giveaway:)

    Comment by Julie Witt | August 18, 2011 | Reply

  10. Cute cover with a Great storyline. I love that the author incorporated self esteem and how important it is to take care of yourself. All I can say is GO STOVER

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | August 19, 2011 | Reply

  11. Animal stories are always big hits around here. I like that the pig takes action to feel good about himself.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | August 20, 2011 | Reply

  12. My family loves to read and loves stories about animals. We have raised pigs before and so my boys will be able to relate a little. Ever since Charlottes Web pig stories are my favorite.

    Comment by Daily Woman | August 22, 2011 | Reply

  13. The theme of a neat and healthy pig sounds very appealing!

    Comment by Lily Kwan | August 28, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

