Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Upcoming Event: The 1st Annual Classic Reading for Kids event through the Month of September


 

Classic Books for Children

Mymcbooks Blog and Tina Peterson from Family Literacy and You!  http://familyliteracyandyou.blogspot.com/  have joined up for The First Annual Classic Books for Children event during the month of September. It will be a joint review & giveaway event featuring a Classic Children’s book and a giveaway each week.

Here are our plans:

Family Literacy and You ~ Turn of the 19th Century authors

The Princess and the Goblin by George McDonald

Heidi by Johanna Spyri

Swiss Family Robinson by Johann Wyss

Stuart Little by E.B. White

(If I have time & energy I will also be doing A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett)

Family Literacy’s focus will be on books for kids 6-9/10

Mymcbooks – A Charles Dickens’s Event

Great Expectations

Oliver Twist

A Tale of Two Cities and

David Copperfield

So come join us on September 4th and help celebrate Classics 4 Kids.

August 15, 2011 - Posted by | Classic Reading for Kids | , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. How incredible. I believe all children should be introduced to the classics early on. What timeless wonders they are. Thanks so much Ella.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Carol, I can’t wait to start this event. And hope readers will be interested in the history of these classics writers. And thanks for supporting our authors with your comments.

      Comment by mymcbooks | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. Oh, I’ll be here! I didn’t read any of the classics until I was in my 20’s and did it on my own. I know that I’d have earned to love reading much earlier if I had been introduced to these when I was a child. Do you know if these will be unabridged?

    I can’t wait!!!

    Comment by Alicia C. | August 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Alicia, the books I will be given will be the complete stories.

      Comment by mymcbooks | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  3. I love that you are doing this. I currently work at a school that teaches the classics through a core knowledge approach. It has been fun reading books that I have heard of, but never read. It is so critical that our children be exposed to these timeless treasures. Thanks for doing this!

    Comment by C Bauers | August 17, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

