Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Cougar Cub Tales. Ends August 21st

Cougar Cub Tales: Lost and Alone written and illustrated by Sharon Cramer

Lost and Alone, is about two sibling cougar cubs who live alone after losing their mother. The cubs are at odds one day, as siblings will be, and they decide to go their separate ways. The adventure becomes lonely and the cubs discover that the single most important thing is to find one another. Unusual circumstances come into play as the cubs are wonderfully reunited, never again to be separated. The story deals with the everyday childhood issues of friend or sibling rivalry and spats and conflict resolution. It communicates to a child in a wonderful, nonsensical rhyme, and the eighteen watercolors are an exquisite representation of this timeless story.

My Review: This book captures the unique relationship between siblings from playing hide and seeks to hunting lizards and rabbits. Then one day they were at odds with each other and decided to part ways. After time apart they realized that they miss one another and journey on to find each other. They found out that nothing is warmer than cub love.

Cougar Cub Tales: I’m Just Like You. Written and illustrated by Sharon Cramer

From the award winning series, Cougar Cub Tales: I’m Just Like You is the second book about the ongoing adventures of the cougar cub brother and sister. One day, they encounter a creature very unlike themselves. They have ungrounded apprehension about whether or not the blind bobcat is aREALcougar cub. By the end of the tale, they realize that they reallyAREthe same, overlooking their physical differences as they embrace their new friend. It is a timeless story that deals with the everyday issues of non-acceptance and intolerance, especially regarding physical difference and disability. It is written in a wonderful nonsensical rhyme, and the eighteen watercolors are an exquisite representation of this charming tale.

My Review: A story of noticing the difference in others and accepting that we are all the same.    

Age: 4 -8

Hardcover: 38

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving these books to one lucky winner

Giveaway Ends August 21th  @ 12 noon

 Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Mandatory: Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified.

This giveaway has ended!

August 13, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,


  1. Nonsensical rhyme and watercolors make for a great book I am sure. My nieces and nephew would really enjoy this, thank you for the chance to win! It helps that the book is about animals. edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by Krystal Larson | August 13, 2011 | Reply

  2. My Grandkids loving animals will love reading a book like the Cougar Cub Tales. The messages the Author is giving them are so important. Loving the pictures. Thanks again for the opportunity.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 13, 2011 | Reply

  3. I love the message of this book, and watercolors are my favorite in picture books. My kids would be thrilled to add this book to their collection of books.

    Comment by Maria Malaveci | August 13, 2011 | Reply

  4. These look like wonderful books my kids would enjoy. Love the wonderful messages being told through the stories! And the pictures look adorable!

    Comment by lisa | August 13, 2011 | Reply

  5. These stories sound like they are really great for teaching life lessons. I think my granddaughters would definitely enjoy them and I love the covers. The use of watercolors are wonderful for the pictures!

    I am starting to collect children’s books for my grandchildren so these look like two that I would love to have. Thank you for hosting this giveaway.

    countrysunset40 (at) aol dot com

    Comment by Tracy Smith | August 13, 2011 | Reply

  6. I have a good friend whose son has a condition which makes him grow moles all over his body with hair growing out of them. There are a lot of kids who are very mean and call him wolf boy, and names like that. I am very blessed in having children who have never called him name and who don’t treat him any different than anyone else. I think this book is a very good lesson-book and I would love to read it to my kids🙂

    Comment by Julie Witt | August 13, 2011 | Reply

  7. This review reminds me of my daughter’s favorite books when she was in elementary school–Stellaluna.
    I’d love to share this one with my granddaughter. I’ve been updating our shelves of kid’s books and this would be an awesome addition to Stellaluna.


    alterlisa AT yahoo DOT com

    Comment by Lisa Ann Richards | August 13, 2011 | Reply

  8. The theme that we are all the same, despite our differences, is an important one for kids to learn. This would be a great book to donate to my church library.

    rdwriter (at) hotmail (dot) com

    Comment by Beth Reinke | August 13, 2011 | Reply

  9. I love a book about siblings and how they interact with one another. Teamwork and cooperation is essential in life.

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | August 14, 2011 | Reply

  10. This looks like a book that my niece and nephews would love. I love giving them books as gifts because I don’t think you can ever have to many books.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

    Comment by Sherry S. | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  11. Being a special education teacher I love that the focus of the book I’m Just Like You is about accepting differences and recognizing we area ll the same. This is a topic that always comes up with my students and this sounds like a great book to read to them.

    Comment by Lauren S | August 16, 2011 | Reply

  12. I like to read books to my grandkids that have subtle lessons – there is some sibling rivalry. I’d like them to learn that they need to support each other just like the cougar cubs do.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | August 18, 2011 | Reply

  13. The illustrations are very whimsical and charming. I like the books’ themes of the importance of family and learning to accept those who are different from you.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | August 21, 2011 | Reply

  14. the books look good for my son to read

    Comment by kathleen | August 21, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

