Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Reivew and Giveaway: Sunrise Over Fire Rock Field. Ends August 20th


Sunrise Over Fire Rock Field written by John M. Dolbey & Mae L. Dolbey

An incredibly engaging adventure, Sunrise Over Fire Rock Field is a wildly fun children’s chapter book about a herd of dinosaurs that rally around one young whippersnapper, an iguanodon named Iggy, who comes up with a daring plan to go for the green–salad greens, that is. On the quest of his life, Iggy will learn what it means to be a leader and what it means to be brave enough to stand up for what he believes in. 

My Review: Sunrise Over Fire Rock Field is a chapter book for early readers, written by father and daughter. Before the great fire, the dinosaurs eat the best food in the forest. They had more places to look for food. But due to the fire they had less food and have to share with all the plant eaters. Iggy and his siblings where fed up of eating salad but their father had to remind them that they are plant-eaters now. But they had a big concerned about the t-rex family as they were known to be meat-eaters. Would they ever come to Plant-Eater’s field? If they were to survive Iggy has to come up with a plan.

This book talks about courage and bravery of a young iguanodons Iggy, being a leader and able to stand up and take charge in other to survive not just for him and his family, but for the brachiosauruses, diplodocuses, stegosauruses and the triceratopses. For every dinosaur lover you would love this book as it will hold your attention from start to finish no matter your age.  Nice pencil art work by Mae L. Dolbey.

Age: 6 -12

Pages: 100

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

 

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving 1 lucky winner a  copy of this book

Giveaway Ends August 20th  @ 12 noon

 Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Mandatory: Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified.

This Giveaway has ended!

August 11, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,

23 Comments »

  1. Instiling leadership qualities in children today is very impiortant and it sounds like with this story that young children might get a good taste of that. I would like to share this book with a 4 year old young lady that likes me to read to her now. I think she would enjoy listening to Iggy’s story.

    countrysunset40 (at) aol dot com

    Comment by Tracy Smith | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. Dinosaurs…. yeah! Love the tale involved with explaining a dinosaur life and survival.

    Thanks!

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | August 11, 2011 | Reply

    • I am the author of this book – If you were not the giveaway winner and would like a discount code for the book, I can send you a link and the code – just email me at jodolbey@dolbeyco.com – thank you for showing interest in my book!

      Comment by John Dolbey | August 25, 2011 | Reply

  3. Reminds me of the “Land Before Time” movies that my kids loved (20 years ago). My daughter still has her Little Foot on her bed. Would love to introduce my granddaughter to this “new” dinosaur story. She is constantly stealing Little Foot to sleep with.

    Comment by Lisa Ann Richards | August 11, 2011 | Reply

    • am the author of this book – If you were not the giveaway winner and would like a discount code for the book, I can send you a link and the code – just email me at jodolbey@dolbeyco.com – thank you for showing interest in my book!

      Comment by John Dolbey | August 25, 2011 | Reply

  4. I have a 5 year old son who would love this book! He already has a big picture book of dinosaurs that names all of them and says if they are plant or meat eaters and we read it all the time. I would love to have a chapter book written specifically for the younger set to read to him! And I really love the fact that it was written by a father and his daughter – that just makes it seem even more special 🙂
    jwitt33 at live dot com

    Comment by Julie Witt | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  5. This sounds great. My 8 year old grandson is so into Dinosaurs this year. He’d love this read. Thanks for the chance.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  6. My nephew is obsessed with dinosaurs…my nieces are too-they can’t get enough of “Little Foot” from The Land Before Time. Thank you for this giveaway, the synopsis looks adorable! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by Krystal Larson | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  7. This would be a great book for my son to practice his reading skills. Perfect for his age.

    Comment by Dorine White | August 11, 2011 | Reply

    • I am the author of this book – If you were not the giveaway winner and would like a discount code for the book, I can send you a link and the code – just email me at jodolbey@dolbeyco.com – thank you for showing interest in my book!

      Comment by John Dolbey | August 25, 2011 | Reply

  8. My son is only 4 but has been so interested in dinosaurs since he was about 1 1/2. He has just fallen in love with them. He know names that I didn’t even know. He is just too smart. Just about every toy he has is some sort of dinosaur. I thought he would grow out of it but he hasn’t yet. Maybe he will be the next paleontologist.

    Comment by Candita | August 12, 2011 | Reply

    • If you were not the giveaway winner and would like a discount code for the book, I can send you a link and the code – just email me at jodolbey@dolbeyco.com – thank you for showing interest in my book!

      Comment by John Dolbey | August 25, 2011 | Reply

  9. My son loves dinosaurs, and a book with them, teaching them good lessons and facts, sounds awesome!

    Comment by lisa | August 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Lisa – the book was certainly written to provide very positive lessons to children. I majored in Sociology (way back when…) so I am keyed into how different groups interact and depend upon each other – that was a significant part of the writing. If you would like a discount code for the book, please email me at jodolbey@dolbeyco.com – many thanks!

      Comment by John Dolbey | August 25, 2011 | Reply

  10. I like books about courage and ingenuity. This sounds like it fits the bill.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | August 12, 2011 | Reply

  11. My grandsons love dinosaurs and using dinosaurs to teach leadership and bravery is an excellent idea. Dinosaur Train has introduced kids to many different kinds of dinosaurs and this book would fit right in with the current fascination with dinosaurs.

    Comment by Nicole Sender | August 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Nicole – thank you for the comments, it does make a nice gift as a “feel good” book and one that inspires leadership. If you would like a discount copy, please email me at jodolbey@dolbeyco.com and I can send you a link and a discount code.

      Comment by John Dolbey | August 25, 2011 | Reply

  12. Dinosaurs are such a great topic to write about. They are so often geared towards boys however with this book I love that it was written by a father and daughter. I know this would interest my daughter as well as my son. This would be a great first chapter book for them!

    Comment by Lauren S | August 16, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you for your comments – this book does really appeal to both girls and boys based on the characters and siblings. If you were not the giveaway winner and would like a discount code for the book, I can send you a link and the code – just email me at jodolbey@dolbeyco.com – thank you for showing interest in my book!

      Comment by John Dolbey | August 25, 2011 | Reply

  13. This book sounds a little bit like the Land Before Time stories that my kids loved. The pencil drawings sound great, too.

    rdwriter(at)hotmail(d0t)com

    Comment by Beth Reinke | August 17, 2011 | Reply

    • My daughter loved LBT and it was a starting point for her passion for dinosaurs. We made up stories every day and settled on these three fun siblings, Iggy, Guana, and Dawn – she had me tell a new story about these three every morning on the way to school and every night at bedtime for 1 1/2 years. The book was a natural evolution of the time I spent with my daughter and these stories.

      Comment by John Dolbey | August 25, 2011 | Reply

  14. The storyline sounds very inspirational and I’m not very fond of salad either.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | August 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Funny comment – there is some good humor in the book throughout, as well as adventure and loads of positive energy and teamwork. If you want a discount copy, let me know and I can send you a link and a code – jodolbey@dolbeyco.com – many thanks!

      Comment by John Dolbey | August 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

