Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Yvonne Capitelli

Biography of Yvonne Capitelli

It has been a dream of Yvonne Capitelli’s to write a children’s book that will inspire young children to make good choices and realize the power they have within.  She wants all children to know that they posses the power to create their own happiness through how they act and react to different situations. Daria Rose books will inspire then to make good choices, have strong self-esteem, build confidence, courage, strength, determination, friendship and good values. They will be inspired to be thoughtful and thankful. A percentage of her books sales will be donated to: the Children’s Cancer Society  and the CFIDS Association of America.  For more information click

Interview with Yvonne Capitelli author of Daria Rose and The Day She Chose.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?  You’ve Got To Read This Book! by Jack Canfield and Gay Hendricks.  55 People tell the story of the book that changed their life.

What were your earliest memories of writing? As a young girl I can remember always walking to the beach to write poems. Still today I drive down to the beach to write. For some reason being by the water makes my mind quite, more creative and open to ideas.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? I’ve always had a love of expressing myself through writing. English was my favorite class in high school.

Are you working on a new book? I just co-authored a book titled, How John Figures It Out, about a little boy who has an Auditory Processing Disorder. It’s due out February 2011. I am also working on the second book of my Daria Rose Series. This second book is about Daria Rose and two male characters facing diversity and acceptance along with friendship and kindness.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books? I’m raising my 14 year old daughter and resting 🙂.

How did you feel when your book Daria Rose and The Day She Chose won the Moonbeam Children’s Book Award? It was the first award my book won. My daughter and I were screaming and doing the happy dance! It’s a wonderful feeling to be recognized for a labor of love.

How did you come up with each characters? I am inspired by what happens in the real lives of children.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? Not really, the hard part for me is getting in the right mind frame to be open to be creative.

How do you react to a bad review?  I am happy to say my book has always been extremely enjoyed by all the children, parents and teachers that have read it.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?  Farrah Gray, E. E. Cummings, Mahatma Gandhi, Don Miguel Ruiz, Beatrix Potter and Martin Luther King Jr. are just a few people I would love to dine with and be inspired by.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? For  young children I feel the story should be fun and adventurous and at the same time have a character that displays good moral strength: kindness, determination, honesty and courage. A book that will inspire them to make good choices.

What advice you would give to new writers? I makes sure I always have a pen and paper with me. I jot down any ideas I think would be good for the story. I put them all in a folder and when I feel I have enough ideas, I take the folder out and start creating the story. Don’t be afraid to keep changing the story until you feel it’s complete.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? Finding ones purpose: My children’s books are one of my passions, they bring together my love of wanting to help children and my love of writing. Being an author is a dream come true for me. Find your passion by thinking of something you love to do. Something you could do for hours and hours and not become bored. Find a way to do it, either for a career or as a hobby. Be determined and never give up on your dreams because you have the power to make them happen.

Thanks for sharing with our readers.


August 10, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. Hi Yvonne,
    It’s wonderful meeting you here. I love your new series. I think it’s so important to reach children at a young age and letting them know they have choices etc. You’re sending a great message to the children Yvonne. Thank you and Congrats on your award.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 11, 2011 | Reply

    • Hello Carol,
      It’s nice to meet you! Thank you very much for your kind words, you made me smile. Visit us at dariarosebooks anytime!
      Yvonne Capitelli

      Comment by Yvonne Capitelli | August 12, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

