Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Beth Bence Reinke


Beth Bence Reinke author of In My Bath,Carla’s Cloud Catastrophe and A Wish and A Prayer.

Beth holds a Bachelor’s in biology & secondary education and a Master’s in nutrition. Using her expertise as a registered dietitian, she writes articles about food, health and nutrition for magazines and websites such as ParentLife, Hallmark Magazine, Smart and She has written more than 110 articles and numerous devotionals for publication.  

In snippets of spare time, Beth enjoys reading, baking, and watching NASCAR and football. As the librarian for her church, she had the privilege of choosing books to fill the shelves for the adults and children who visit the library.  

Professional affiliations include the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and the American Dietetic Association. She was also a member of Indie-Debut 2010, a group of first-time authors who helped promote each other’s books.  

Beth’s first two children’s books, In My Bath and  A Wish and a Prayer, released in 2010 from 4RV Publishing. A third book, Carla’s Cloud Catastrophe, is slated for summer 2011.  

She has written two 30-day devotional books for women, releasing this spring from Extreme Diva Media – –Fruit Lovers’ Devotions to Go and Race Fans’ Devotions to Go.


I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?

I finished Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst this week and started The Muir House, a new novel by Mary DeMuth.

What were your earliest memories of writing?

When I was in early elementary school, I read a children’s book about a little dog named Pretzel, then tried to write my own story about him. I also remember making up silly stories with a friend and we would speak them into a tape recorder, doing different voices for each character.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

In school, I secretly enjoyed creative writing assignments and preferred essay questions over multiple choice on tests. Sounds crazy, I know! As a kid, I remember my mom telling me I was a good writer. Perhaps she was just trying to encourage me, but it stuck with me. Even when I was in college and grad school studying other disciplines, the love of writing was still there.

Are you working on a new book?

I have a couple new manuscripts in the works, but have been focusing mostly on marketing my published books and writing about health and nutrition for magazines. In addition to Carla’s Cloud Catastrophe, my devotional books for women released recently: Fruit Lovers’ Devotions to Go and Race Fans’ Devotions to Go. I find that marketing the books is a full-time job in itself!

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

I spend time with my family, wander the aisles at Wal-Mart, bake cookies, and watch NASCAR races or football after church on Sundays.

How did you come up with each character?

I tend to develop a story’s plot first, then decide what character fits best. The ideas for my children’s books all came from things my boys said or from activities we did together.

I see you hold a Master’s in nutrition – congrats. Would you be writing a fun book on children’s nutrition soon?

I hope so! One of my goals is to write nonfiction books for the children’s educational market. I’d love to write about food, nutrition, health, biology and even stock car racing, one of my other passions.

Do you think there are enough children’s books out there that talk about nutrition?

Probably not. Helping kids learn about fueling their bodies with good stuff, instead of junk, is an important message to share.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

No, not really, and I’m very grateful for that. I tend to go the other way – having lots of ideas and not enough time to write them all. Ideas often strike in the middle of the night, so I keep a tablet, pen and flashlight on my nightstand. If I don’t write the ideas down right away, they slip away.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

That’s a great question! So far, the hardest (and most time-consuming) part of being a writer isn’t the writing itself, but promoting and marketing the books.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

 I’d love to have lunch with Cec Murphey, Kathi Macias and Mary DeMuth. For children’s writers, it would be fun to hang out in person with Nikki Bethea, Rena Jones, Jennifer Reed and Beverly Stowe McClure.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

Boy, that’s a tough question. I think each parent is the expert on his or her own child(ren) so would be the best judge of which books are best.

What advice you would give to new writers?

Read the kind of books you want to write. Attend writer’s conferences. Join online writer’s groups and network with other writers on social networks. There is so much to learn, so dive right in!

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

I’d like to thank them for taking the time to stop in today. And if your readers want to stop by my website and say “hi,” I would love that. Here’s the

LINKS for books:

4RV Publishing online bookstore:

Author website:

Illustrator website:

Thank you for this interview.

It’s a privilege to visit with you and your followers today, Ella. Thank you so much for having me!




August 7, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. Looking forward to the nutrition cookbook for kids. I had a cookbook as a kid where I could make the meals myself. It would be great to share a book with healthy food that my kids could make themselves.

    Comment by Cherese Vines | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  2. Awwww! You’re right, Beth. This did make me SMILE!

    Thank you!🙂🙂

    Comment by Rena | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  3. Hi Beth,
    A good book about Nutrition would be so beneficial and involving them in the process would have many rewards I think. I enjoyed your interview and I’m off to look at your web site.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for popping in to read the interview, Carol. I hope you find something helpful at my website, too.🙂

      Comment by Beth Reinke | August 9, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

