Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: In My Bath and A Wish and A Prayer. Ends August 17th

In My Bath by Beth Bence Reinke

Bathtime can be adventure time. Where else can a boy have fun with whales, dolphins, pelicans, and their friends?

Review: Who thought taking a bath could be so much fun? Well, this little boy thought so as he gets ready to take his bath he let his imagination run wide with water animals. From rolling in the oceans to waddling off a sudsy iceberg, bath time will never be the same again.

Kids will love to read this book as it captures the fun of bath time. Ginger Nielson brought the pictures to life by capturing any young child’s imagination. After reading this book to your kids, they might not be able to wait to take a bath and see what fun might be waiting for them in their bath tub. Fun book highly recommend.


 A Wish and A Prayer by Beth Bence Reinke

Jason’s parakeet accidentally flies out the window and is lost. He tries wishing to bring his pet home. But one night during a thunderstorm, Jason discovers the truth about wishes. 

Review: While playing Captain and Pirate, Jason’s pet parakeet flies out of the window. He went out with his mom to find Sonny his pet parakeet but Sonny was nowhere to be found.

Jason kept wishing for Sonny to come back, he threw pennies in the fountain and wished when the clock turns 11:11everyday but still no sign of Sonny. Until his mom told him one Sunday morning that God hears every prayer and has the power to answer prayers. Once Jason realizes what his mom said, he prayed for his lost pet to come home.  So did his pet parakeet come back home after saying a prayer? Visit and order a copy today.

What a great way to show children the difference between wishing and praying to God for something.


 Carla’s Cloud Catastrophe by Beth Bence Reinke

When a weather disaster threatens to shut down the town and ruin Carla’s birthday, someone must save the day. Ever wonder what would happen if clouds fell from the sky? Disaster strikes two hours before Carla’s birthday party. Clouds scatter on the ground like giant cotton balls. Papa says, “The weather lady said a tornado knocked the clouds loose.” But how can this be? Carla dubs it a cloud catastrophe.

Review: Another great story written by Beth Reinke. Imagine the cloud falling out of the sky and clogging the town where you live, what would you do?

Carla was with her father and sister picking up her birthday cake for her party when the clouds came down like giant cotton balls. She had to go with her father to meet the Mayor to find a solution to the problem. At the meeting the Mayor asked for suggestion on how to clean up the clouds. Some suggested dumping it in the trash, others said in the ocean or use to make pillows stuffing. But Carla thinks she has the best solution. Would that help the cloud catastrophe and would Carla get home on time for her birthday party?

This would be a great educational story for the classroom teaching about the weather.  And another beautiful illustration by Ginger Neilson full of bright colors.

Ages: 4-8

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving 3 of these books to 1 lucky winner

Giveaway Ends August 17th  @ 12 noon

 Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Mandatory: Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified.

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.


This giveaway has ended! Check Giveaway Winners to find out who won

August 7, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review | , , , , , , , ,


  1. My 4 year old son loves to play with his toys during baths, so this book would be good for him. He also loves to be the one to say the prayer at dinner time, so the book about God answering prayers would be good for him also.

    Comment by Brenda | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thank you so much, Ella, for these terrific reviews of my books. I look forward to seeing which of your readers wins them. “;o) Blessings to you!

    Comment by Beth Reinke | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  3. I think my favorite is A Wish and a Prayer because I have a 5 y/o, and it’s really hard to teach them the difference between two things that are not concrete – that they can’t see or feel or hear – something that they are saying and thinking about. I don’t know if I’m explaining this well at all! I would imagine the author knows exactly what I’m talking about and that’s why she has written this great book! Thanks for the chance to win a copy of two of these three awesome books:)

    Comment by jwitt33 | August 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, I DO know exactly what you mean. :o)

      Comment by Beth Reinke | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  4. In a bath sounds like so much fun! I love bubble baths and playtime!

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  5. I’ve read Beth’s first two books and they are so much fun. The artwork complements the story. I believe young readers will learn a subtle lesson in the books and have a good time while they’re learning. I haven’t read about the clouds yet, but clouds are one of my favorite subjects so I’m looking forward to Beth’s cloud story.

    Very nice reviews.

    Beverly Beverlysmcclure(at)aol(dot)com

    Comment by Beverly | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  6. I’ve read all of these books, although I don’t have a hard copy of In My Bath yet. They’re all wonderful and beautifully illustrated. What I loved about Carla’s Cloud Catastrophe was that it lets children use their imaginations to come up with a solution to the problem. Books that make kids think are always winners in my mind.

    Rena @

    Comment by Rena | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  7. My younger sister would love this-she’s obsessed with birds right now. She also loves to play in the bath tub >< edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom GFC Krystal Larson both books look great!

    Comment by krystallarson | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  8. I feel that as an adult, I can still use help with learning the difference between wishing for
    things and praying for them! I would love to read this beautiful book with my children…
    We have two kinds of birds and I grew up with having parakeets and canaries! I find the book
    about clouds falling from the sky a very interesting concept. I have never thought about that
    and the consequences if it happened. Our family would love to find out what Carla choose to
    do about the fallen clouds!!!!!
    Many thanks, Cindi

    Comment by Cindi | August 7, 2011 | Reply

  9. These books all look great, especially “In my Bath” because my three kids are at that perfect bath-loving stage…they are 3, 2, and 1. I also think they’d enjoy the make-believe factor about that one, such as pretending they are in an ocean at bath time…especially because we just moved to the coast and they go to the beach all the time now.

    Comment by Marty | August 8, 2011 | Reply

  10. Another wonderful giveaway. I have 2 grandsons who love bath time so much their Mom’s have a hard time removing them fro the bath and their toys. This would be a great read for them. I have another grandson whose parakeet just flew out their back door. How Perfect for him at this time. All of these books get the kids thinking and you can’t ask for more then that.
    GFC follower under Lucky47.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 8, 2011 | Reply

  11. These books look wonderful! My children love to take their baths, and love the “adventures” they can create – so In My Bath looks like it is certainly for them! The lessons in these books looks wonderful for kids!

    Comment by lisa | August 8, 2011 | Reply

  12. All of these books are wonderful. Its all about the things kids do to keep themselves entertained. I love reading these kind of books to my girls. Thanks

    Comment by kristen Davis | August 8, 2011 | Reply

  13. These books sound cute and fun. I love that they all could spark a child’s imagination!🙂

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | August 8, 2011 | Reply

  14. My 3 year old son would love In My Bath- he would stay in the bath for hours using his imagination to fuel the fun if I let him. A Wish and a Prayer would be perfect for my 6 year old, who is currently wondering quite a bit about God. She often asks questions about prayer and what God thinks about behaviors. And Carla’s Cloud Catastrophe- it’s not often you see such a unique storyline. I bet even my 10 year old would be interested to see what happens! I know I want to know! I love books that have an educational spark to them.

    Comment by Alexandra Knaub | August 8, 2011 | Reply

  15. I’ve read and reviewed “In My Bath”, and hope to read Beth’s other books some time. I really like the way you reviewed several books at once and even held a giveaway Ella! I will definitely contact you once my picture book is published!

    Comment by marandarussell | August 8, 2011 | Reply

  16. I think my grandchildren would love the In My Bath book the most. They love playing with toy fish and such in the bathtub already, so to read about it too would be right up their alley. I think I would enjoy reading to them about the wishes and the prayers too. I don’t think children can always grasp that there is a difference so a sweet story like this may help them make more sense of it.

    Thank you for reviewing these. They all sound great!

    countrysunset40 (at) aol dot com

    Comment by Tracy Smith | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  17. My grandson enjoys birds and I think A Wish and A Prayer would be a book he would really like to read. Years age, my sons found a parakeet flying around our yard. We were able to rescue her and she lived a long and fruitful life.

    Comment by Nicole Sender | August 14, 2011 | Reply

  18. Would love this to read to my classroom!

    Comment by Stephanie Karina | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  19. I’m very curious to see these books. I love reading children’s books to my children and am always looking for ways to share wisdom with them without is seeming like that’s what I’m doing. The book “Carla’s Cloud Catastrophe” sounds like a very imaginative book that would also deliver a message about “out of the box” thinking. “A Wish and a Prayer” sounds like a fantastic way to teach children the difference between the two. So often we as adults do too much wishing and not enough praying. I think it’s a lesson that all of us could learn.

    Comment by Annette Lanius | August 16, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

