Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Countercharm by Cherese A. Vines. Ends August 10th

Countercharm by Cherese A. Vines

Sydnie Knight never knew how much her life would change when her mother sent her to Seattle to stay with her aunt. Upon her first meeting with a strange young man named Ron Andres, she has a foreboding feeling about him. After a series of dreamlike visions, bizarre behavior, and a near-fatal drowning accident, Sydnie is sent to “talk things out” with psychologist Dr. Neal Vaughan. From the doctor, Sydnie learns frightening realizations that only get more fantastic as time goes on. Who can she trust when she finds out her mother is missing and everyone seems to think she’s gone crazy? Including herself.

My Review: I love a good book that you can’t put down and Countercharm is that book. This story reminds me of sitting with my brothers and sister listen to my grandmother tell a good story where you can’t wait to know what happened to the main character. A story full of fantasy and imagination as you wonder what Ron is up to, and why Sydnie felt so strange every time he is around. Great story line and I recommend this book to family.

Age: 9 – 12

Pages: 111 

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving 1 lucky winner a signed copy of this book

Giveaway Ends August 10th  @ 12 noon

 Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Mandatory: Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified.


This giveaway has ended!

July 29, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,


  1. My older niece would probably enjoy this a lot! She puts a lot of stock in her dreams. The plot looks really cool, thank you! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | July 29, 2011 | Reply

  2. Sounds really neat – my niece would love this book, as she is right in that age group, and she loves mystery books, and even better is that is a mystery book about dreams and fantasy!

    Comment by lisa | July 29, 2011 | Reply

  3. I enjoyed your review of this book and look forward to reading it myself. I’m always on the lookout for good books to recommend to the young readers at the library where I work. navywyfe@yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by Yvonne J | July 29, 2011 | Reply

  4. You said its a good family read, well that alone makes me want to win this book. It also sounds appealing for my 10 year old. Could be wrong but it would be worth it!

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | July 29, 2011 | Reply

  5. Sounds interesting, and I think the image on the cover is intriguing.

    Comment by ElfRenee | July 30, 2011 | Reply

  6. My students are always looking for great new mysteries. I’ve never heard of this one before, but it looks intriguing! I’d love to share it with them
    mearley1979 at gmail dot com

    Comment by Megan | August 1, 2011 | Reply

  7. I’m very intrigued with this story. I like that she is having “a series of dreamlike visions”. That’s kind of eerie but cool. Thank you for the giveaway!
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

    Comment by mamabunny13 | August 2, 2011 | Reply

  8. What hit me was the thoughts that Sydnie had about going crazy. What a scary feeling. I think it would be a good discussion point with the child reading the book. Thier thoughts and how they perceived Sydnie’s feelings.

    Comment by joekathbia | August 4, 2011 | Reply

  9. This story would be great for my 10 year old son – he loves reading and I’m always looking for new books for him! Thanks for the chance to win a copy:)
    jwitt33 at live dot com

    Comment by jwitt33 | August 4, 2011 | Reply

  10. Is this book more of a fantasy or paranormal book or a contemporary middle grade novel?

    jennlovesed14 at gmail

    Comment by Jenn of Frequent Reader, Infrequent Blogger | August 5, 2011 | Reply

  11. The storyline sounds very mysterious and intriguing. I’ll definitely check this book out!

    Comment by Lily Kwan | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  12. I wanna read this book! I’m not a tween but I do love to have a short fast read sometimes. Some keep my attention better!

    I love the witchness sounding of the title top.

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | August 10, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

