Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Nicole Weaver


Nicole weaver was born in Port-au-Prince Haiti. She came to the United States when she was ten years old. She is fluent in Creole, French, Spanish and English. She is a veteran teacher of French and Spanish. She is the author of a children’s trilingual picture book titled ” Marie and Her Friend the Sea Turtle.” The story is about a Haitian little girl who resided by the beach in Haiti. Her second trilingual children’s picture book will be published by Guardian Angel Publishing. The book titled, ” My sister is my Best Friend ” will be published in 2011.

Interview with Nicole Weaver author of Marie and Her Friend the Sea Turtle.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?
I read Habanera –A portrait of a Cuban Family by Teresa Dovalpage. I remember being in Catholic grade school and having to write these long descriptive essays. All of my exams were essays so I did a fair amount of writing.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?
I started writing poetry for therapeutic reasons. In 2005, I won a local poetry contest and that experience encouraged me to venture out. An author friend talked me into attending the Denver chapter of SCBWI. At the conference I was encouraged to use personal experiences as part of my writing. A few months later I wrote my first trilingual children’s picture book titled: Marie and her Friend the Sea Turtle/ María y su amiga la Tortuga del mar/ Marie et son amie la Tortue de mer.

Are you working on a new book?
Yes! I have several manuscripts I am revising. I am currently working on publishing an E book on kindle. I just got the manuscripts back from the copyeditor.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?
I spend a great deal of time reading and reviewing books. My youngest keeps me very busy with his sportive activities too. Lastly, as a school teacher I do a lot of grading of papers and preparing of lesson plans. In short, I am a very busy person.

How did you come up with each characters?
My first trilingual children’s picture book is based on my life while living in my native country of Haiti. My second trilingual book due to be released this month is about my sister.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block?
Yes! Many times!

What is the most difficult part of writing?
Writing for children is very difficult. I have trouble letting the child character solve his or her problems.

How do you react to a bad review?
I am very lucky, all of my reviews have been very positive. I did get one bad review from a reviewer. I was definitely not very pleased. I realized you can’t make everyone happy. I get daily request from authors to do reviews and to me that is a huge responsibility. In my opinion it is best to not do a review if it is not positive.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?
I would love to dine with Jane Yolen and Alexandre Dumas . A lexandre Dumas is by far my favorite author. I have read all of his books.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? Since I teach high school French and Spanish I have a very busy schedule. I make appointments with myself to get time to write. I try to write every day.
I also must take time to exercise at least three times a week. I used to watch a lot of television, now I write. My youngest will be a junior in high school in the fall, and I try to attend all of his basketball tournaments. So you see, I am one busy person. As far as goals are concerned, I always write them down and every morning I make positive affirmations concerning those goals. I have short term and long term goals. Making positive affirmations is a very powerful tool that can help someone visualize what it is he or she wants. I neatly type each goal and say them out loud each morning after my morning ritual of praying and reading my favorite bible verses. I also keep a journal where I write nothing but positives.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?
Always read the book first and be sure to let children read books on topics they are interested in. I also think it is a very good idea for parents to
become familiar with certain publishers. For instance, Guardian Angel Publishing, Inc publishes books that are very positive and that always
teach children good morals. Just recently I read about the children author who wrote a book titled: Go the*** to Sleep. As a parent I would not buy books from the publisher of this book.

What advice you would give to new writers?
Make it a habit to read books on the genre you like to write for. Attend writer’s conferences. Join a critique group. Join online writer’s organizations and groups. There are many excellent groups online, but be sure the groups have the same interest as you.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? Thank you for your time and interest and if you would like to learn more about my books and what I do please visit my sites: My Sister Is My Best Friend Blog:

Marie and her Friend the Sea Turtle Blog:


Educational Expert:

Blogcritics Contributor:


July 27, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , , , , ,


  1. Nicole I visited your blog “Marie and her Friend the Sea Turtle” Blog. I love all the trailers and pics you have up. I was really amazed to see that Florida is home to so many Sea Turtles.Very interesting info as well. I really enjoyed your interview Nicole. God Bless that you speak so many languages. Thanks for writing about Marie and her friend he Sea Turtle.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | July 27, 2011 | Reply

    • Carol,

      Thank you for leaving a comment. I appreciate you taking time to visit my blog.

      Nicole Weaver

      Comment by melangeofcultures | July 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hi Ella,

    I want to thank you for posting the interview and book review. You are such a kind, compassionate person. God Bless you abundantly.

    Nicole Weaver

    Comment by melangeofcultures | July 28, 2011 | Reply

  3. My husband is from Haiti so I’m always looking for books to help my kids learn more about the culture and language. Thanks for writing this tri-language book.

    Comment by Cherese Vines Cadet | August 3, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

