Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review & Giveaway: Sh Sh Sh Let the Baby Sleep – Ends 1st August

Sh Sh Sh Let the Baby Sleep by Kathy Stemke and illustration by Jack Foster

When Zachary puts on his thick black glasses, he becomes a super-hero. This enables him to protect his new baby sister from all kinds of problems. In the process he learns how much he loves her. This action- packed book with clever rhymes focuses on teaching consonant blends.

My Review: Author Kathy Stemke tells a story that children, especially those who have younger siblings can relate to. Big brothers are known to be very protective of their baby sisters and do think everything is about their little sisters and Zachary was no different. His time wasn’t his anymore but revolves around the needs of his baby sister Layla.

And while Layla is asleep he takes her for a walk. With his special black framed glasses and his big imagination Zachary set out in his superhero mode to protective his baby sister from a number of calamities that would scare or awaken her. At the end of the book is a teaching supplement. With great and big bold colorful illustration, Jack Foster was able to bring the book to life. I highly recommend the book to parents and for classroom reading.

Suggested age for readers: 3-7

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author  in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving 1 lucky winner a copy of this book

Giveaway Ends 1st August @ 12 noon

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified. There will be no email reminder. So please read before you comment. Thanks 

1. Mandatory: PLEASE, PLEASE leave your comment about the book on Author’s Facebook!/pages/Sh-Sh-Sh-Let-the-Baby-Sleep/102420823186683 and also leave the same comment below.

2. Mandatory: Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! etc.  So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway below. Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.


This giveaway has ended!

July 20, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , , , ,


  1. Thank you for this wonderful review, Ella.

    Comment by dancekamkathy stemke | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  2. As a boy, I believe boys will enjoy this book featuring the exploits of a bold and imaginative superhero protecting his new baby sister from a plethora of calamities.

    Comment by anthony stemke | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. What a great idea! This book sounds terrific, I love the idea of putting on glasses and turning into a super hero. Thank you for the giveaway! edysicecreamlover18ATgmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  4. Commented under meet the author picture for sh sh sh let the baby sleep.
    Had to look it up on fb cause o couldn’t get the link to work. So I hope its in the correct spot.
    My comment was;
    This book sounds so cute and wonderful. I would love for my kids to read it together and maybe I would get lucky and they could come up with friendly ways to take care of each other!

    Comment by larissa brunken | July 21, 2011 | Reply

    • Great! I hope this book inspires your kids to take care of each other too.

      Comment by dancekamkathy stemke | July 22, 2011 | Reply

  5. I absolutely love the positive message from this book. I have worn glasses for much of my life, and I know it is difficult for kids to accept. Cute idea, great book. Thanks for the chance to win.

    Comment by zoe lee | July 22, 2011 | Reply

  6. Great review, this is making my reading list with my kids. We read daily…reading to my children is one of the greatest gifts I can give them….the stories provoke their wonderful little imaginations. I will be back to your blog often for more books for our must read list!


    Comment by Brooke | July 22, 2011 | Reply

  7. So glad you liked this review, Brooke. You’re giving your kids a great head start in life by reading to them daily, Bravo!

    Comment by kathy stemke | July 22, 2011 | Reply

  8. I like the new look of your site, I Left this comment, “This would be the perfect book for someone I know. Very adorable indeed. I love the idea of an older brother gaining powers to protect his sister.”

    Comment by Elle | July 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, we need to give our children tools to get along with each other.

      Comment by dancekammke | July 24, 2011 | Reply

  9. Thank you for taking part in this giveaway. The winner of Sh Sh Sh Let the Baby Sleep is

    #5 – Zoe Lee

    Comment by mymcbooks | August 1, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

