Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Lynette N. Roberts

Biography: Lynette Roberts was born and raised in Savannah, GA. Currently reside in Atlanta, GA. Growing up, writing was always one of her favorite pastimes. She self published her first book, Princess Atelia and the Wishing Star in early September 2010. However, the story was written in 2006. Lynette wants to represent a princess of color who was also a little girl, facing problems that many children deal with. This isn’t an ordinary princess tale, it touches on gender issues, self esteem, and confidence in a fun and entertaining way. Princess Atelia and the Wishing Star

Interview with Lynette N Roberts author of Princess Atelia and the Wishing Star.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog.

What is the last book you read? The last book I read was Shutter Island.

What were your earliest memories of writing? When I was eight years old, I wrote my first piece of work; a rap and a cartoon jingle. I still remember both!

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? Writing comes natural to me. When an idea comes to mind, I write it down.

Are you working on a new book? Yes, I plan to turn Princess Atelia and The Wishing Star into a series book.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books? Traveling and relaxing. Sometimes going to a different place, brings different perspectives.

How did you come up with each characters? I wanted Atelia to be a reflection of me and every young girl who looks similar to me. Princesses come in many forms, traditional and non traditional.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? Yes!

What is the most difficult part of writing? Trying to be original but still believable.

How do you react to a bad review? So far I haven’t had any bad reviews. Putting my name and book out to the masses, I’m aware with the good there are chances of bad. Constructive criticism can be helpful. I love my story and it’s original concept, a bad review will not break me.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? On the children side of things, Jan and Stan Berenstain. I loved the Berenstain Bears, the characters, and the positive messages in each story. Terry McMillanis an author I would love to dine with.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? When I’m determined to reach a goal, I do whatever it takes to stay on that goal. I often remind myself how great the outcome will be once a goal is completed. That’s my self motivation.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? Select books that have a meaning to it and books that are similar to their child’s interest. Also make it a family activity choosing books to read.

What advice you would give to new writers? Write from the heart, everything else will follow.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? Please check out my blog, for updates and to purchase a copy.


July 17, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

