Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review & Giveaway: Princess Atelia and the Wishing Star. Ends July 29th

“Princess Atelia and The Wishing Star” is a not so ordinary, but ultra extraordinary princess tale. Atelia is a young girl with tomboyish ways, facing a real elementary school dilemma, “what do I want to be when I grow up”. Confused and dismayed, she lands on an unexpected choice, which prompts her classmates’ taunts and teases. A lesson on the pitfalls of aspiring to be someone you are not, Atelia goes through a whirlwind of ups and downs before realizing her virtue.

My Review: I love this book because children can relate to this story. Atelia is a ten years old girl who is happy being a tomboy. She loves to play basketball, dump trucks, making dirt castles and out running the boys in basketball. But she also wanted to be a princess.

Kids get teased and taunted at school for being something different. They think because you are a girl you should play with girly things. The author shows in her book that you can be a princess and still play any kind of sport. A child should learn to have self confident and self esteem even in a fun way. I highly recommend this book.

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving away a copy to 1 lucky winner.

Giveaway Ends 29th July @ 12 noon

Mandatory: Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Please take time to read the author’s interview: 

 Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified.

Winner will be chosen at random and inform via email (US ONLY)

 This giveaway has ended!

July 17, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , ,


  1. I bet this book is wonderful! I love that there is a different character and she is African american! I also love the moral about being yourself!

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  2. I love books about tomboys, one of my niece’s is one while her sister is a complete princess. This sounds like a great book for BOTH of them, neither believes they can be both a princess and a tomboy🙂 Thank you! edysicecreamlover18ATgmailDOTcom

    Comment by Krystal Larson | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  3. My granddaughter wants to do everything boys do – and right now since she is only 4 she isn’t exposed to people who make fun of her. But she will soon start preschool so I think this book will give her some ideas of what to expect from others and how to respond.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  4. I love that the book is teaching to be true to your dreams – too often kids can be cruel, which leads to not following your dreams. Looks like a wonderful book I’d love to share with my daughter!

    Comment by lisa | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  5. I too would love to share this book with my youngest granddaughter. Children can be very cruel to one another but teaching children to believe in themselves and have self confidence help keep them strong and keep that confidence.GFC follower under Lucky47
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  6. I would enjoy winning and giving this adorable book to my
    older sister! She is a tomboy and would really enjoy Princess
    Atelia and the Wishing Star…
    Many thanks, Cindi

    Comment by Cindi | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  7. I think this is a nice book to show how to be yourself..whatever that may be
    hollow_sins(at)yahoo dot com

    Comment by hollowsins | July 19, 2011 | Reply

  8. It amazed me that she began writing at eight. I can barely remember anything I wrote at that age. I would love to know how she works through her writers block when she suffers from it. As for the book and a comment on the “What you want to be when you grow up…” I think my kids would really love reading this. I recall one of my kids saying something similiar when asked that question, but then again I have a young one now that is obsessed with squirrels and wants to be one.

    danellejohns at gmail dot com

    Comment by Danelle | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  9. Oh my God, this book just reminded of my niece Casey, she is a crtitical case! and I mean it!. She is 10 yrs old and wants to be a wrestler when she grows up, not just a wrestler for school, but WCW wrestler, Like John Cena, THe Rock, etc.. she is truly a tomboy, she doesnt wear girly clothes, or earrings but deep down inside somewhere I know she has some girly aspects. we do crafts together and I dress her up in yellow and pink at times and she does wear dresses when she has to. and I did hear from my son who is 9 yrs old her hanging buddy, that she has a crush on a boy, so there is hope on changing that future career to maybe something less drastic, maybe not a Princess, but maybe this book will do her alot of good and I can wish upon a star that she will like the girly stuff someday, but I won’t push it, but I definitely let her be herself and enjoy all the things she likes , soccer, softball, and wrestling and playing with boys. Hey I was a tomboy and I grew out of it and I loved makeup and shoes! thanks for the entry this book seems like a good start for girl finding their own way, I love it!
    Ladyfiera at aol dot com Lisette Reyes

    Comment by Lisette Reyes | July 21, 2011 | Reply

  10. It sounds like this book has a bit of a gender-bending theme. I like that.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | July 22, 2011 | Reply

  11. It sounds like a wonderful book! I know there is so much pressure on children nowadays. They are expected (be each other) to fit into this mold and that’s just not how it works. Kids’ tolerance of each other is low at times. My niece played football and was the only girl on the team of course. She loved it and was supported by her classmates, which I think is rare.

    Comment by Kimberly K | July 24, 2011 | Reply

  12. I am trying to build up a library of books with little girls that resemble my daughters and this princess does, even her stance. My girls are always pretending to be princesses and to me they will always be. I would truly love to add this one to my collection. Additionally, the author is inspiring, to you both I say, “Keep up the good work!” (cleverlychanging at

    Comment by Elle | July 24, 2011 | Reply

  13. This book sounds wonderful! I like the concept that not every princess looks exaclty alike (like Sleeping Beauty). My daughter would truly enjoy this book! Thanks for the chance.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

    Comment by Nancye Davis | July 28, 2011 | Reply

  14. I love the positive message of this book and was interested to learn that the author plans to turn this book into a series.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | July 29, 2011 | Reply

  15. Thank you Subscribers for taking part in the Princess Atelia and the Wishing Star Giveaway. Congrats to the following winner.

    #10 – domestic diva

    Comment by mymcbooks | July 29, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

