Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review & Giveaway: Kylie Jean – Ends 29 July

Kylie Jean Rodeo Queen

When the rodeo comes to town, Kylie Jean decides she wants to be the Rodeo Queen! But to do that, she must learn rodeo tricks…

Kylie Jean Blueberry Queen

It’s time for the annual Blueberry Festival, and Kylie Jean just knows she’d be the perfect Blueberry Queen.

Kylie Jean Hoop Queen

 Kylie Jean is usually good at everything she tries. So how come learning to play basketball is so hard?

 Kylie Jean Drama Queen

Kylie Jean’s class is performing Alice in Wonderland! Kylie Jean knows she’d be just perfect as the Queen of Hearts. But mean girl Paula wants the part too . . . .

From blueberries to beauty pageants, third grader Kylie Jean wants to be the queen of everything! But in her quest to be the best, this young southern belle learns a few lessons of her own. Mischievious, delightful and fun, this series will be at the top of every young girl’s list.

My Review:

Kylie Jean is a series of chapter books for girls. If your child loves reading Judy Moody or Ramona Quimby then these books will keep your child’s attention. Kylie Jean loves taking part in any competition going on in her school or in the community. The books also shows how close Kylie Jean is with her family especially her Ugly Brother the dog…and don’t go telling him he’s a dog…lol!

I love that Marci Peschke tackled bullying in the Drama Queen book and showing Kylie Jean’s kind and thoughtful side. Kylie Jean makes kids believe that no matter the task if you keep practicing you will be better at it.  If you are looking for a good chapter book to start your child reading then I recommend Kylie Jean series. Check out the study guide and cooking recipes at the end of the book.

Ages: 4-8

Softcover: 112

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author  in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Free Giveaway (US Only)

There will only be 4 winners

Each winner will receive a copy of Kylie Jean

Giveaway Ends 29th July @ 12 noon

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified. There will be no email reminder. So please read before you comment. Thanks


1. Mandatory: Comment on the Author’s Interview by clicking on the link  –

2. Mandatory: Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! etc.  So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway below.

Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

This giveaway has ended!

July 15, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , , , ,


  1. I love the whole idea behind the book. I’m very Happy to bring these books to my granddaughters attention. Thank you for the interview and book post. I commented on your interview.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | July 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. I commented – I love the look and idea of these books! How fun are these stories for little girls – plus so colorful – add to the imagination!!

    Comment by lisa | July 15, 2011 | Reply

  3. Commented on author page….

    These books look and sound adorable. I haven’t seen good chapter books for girls in forever! I want to read one myself!

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | July 15, 2011 | Reply

  4. Kylie Jean sounds like a girl that my niece would love to read about. My niece wants to do and be everything too, very exuberant. Thank you! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | July 15, 2011 | Reply

  5. What a great idea. I really like how each book has a different “queen” name, but it all still flows together! I can’t wait to get these for my step-daughter! We’d love to read these together.🙂

    lisagoneaussie (at)

    Comment by a little tête-à-tête | July 15, 2011 | Reply

  6. Love series books and Kylie Jean sounds perfect for my daughter. She loves reading series books like these. I love the author liked to read the dictionary like I used to!

    I commented on the interview post, it’s awesome to hear from author’s and how they got their start and what inspires them.

    trendsettingmom at gmail dot com

    Comment by Trend Setting Mom | July 15, 2011 | Reply

  7. I left a comment on the author’s interview.

    These books look adorable and I can imagine them being perfect for my daughter and will really catch her attention. They also sounds like they have some wonderful lessons.🙂

    Comment by Kristie | July 16, 2011 | Reply

  8. I left a comment on the interview with the author.

    I loved the Help! I’m so excited to see the movie!! Of course, the movie is never as good, but it’s fun to see the characters come to life. It must be a dream come true to be a published author and to work in a library. I love books too and I love to write, although I’ve been very scared to write lately, maybe I’ll pick it back up…

    My daughter would love these:)

    Comment by Melissa | July 18, 2011 | Reply

  9. I commented.I am always happy to see new childrens authors that go beyond the norm.

    Comment by hollowsins | July 19, 2011 | Reply

  10. This book offers a variety of settings that will help children expand their horizons. I also really like that the author has based these books on her niece. We would love to win. Comment also left on the author’s interview post. (cleverlychanging at

    Comment by Elle | July 24, 2011 | Reply

  11. I learned that the author thinks that “Parents need to find books that hook into their child’s interests. Choose books on their reading level and then choose some above level to read aloud to them.” I agree completely! Kids need to choose books that they are interested in but also that challenge them somewhat. Books are vitally important for children!

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

    Comment by Nancye Davis | July 25, 2011 | Reply

  12. Thank you Subscribers for taking part in the Kylie Jean Giveaway. Congrats to the following winners.

    #8 – Melissa

    #10 – Elle

    #7 Kristie

    #4 – Krystallarson

    Comment by mymcbooks | July 29, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

