Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Award Winning Independent Publisher/Author Becky Due

 Award Winning Independent Publisher/Author Becky Due.

Author of Blue the Bird on Flying.

Becky Due is becoming the new voice of women’s fiction. She has the courage, honesty and writing style for today’s busy women, and she does not cringe away from hard issues. She will leave you feeling strong, self-confident, independent, and in control of your life.

Becky Due has been called “the must-read author for women” and “today’s inspiring and deeply moving author” by reviewers. She has a way of pulling you into the story and changing your life with her fast-paced novels you won’t want to put down. This talented, intelligent writer is quickly becoming women’s favorite new author.

Her books have been finalists in several independent competitions including the 2010 National Indie Excellence Awards and the 2009 IPPY Awards.

Her novels, The Gentlemen’s Club: A Story for All Women, Touchable Love: An Untraditional Love Story, Returning Injury: A Suspense Celebrating Women’s Strength and her latest The Dumpster: One Woman’s Search for Love are not the same story with different characters; she has a unique ability to cross every genre from light-hearted romance to heart-racing suspense to keep her readers entertained and inspired.

And although Becky Due’s genre isn’t specific, her message is: The challenges women face can sometimes seem overwhelming but she believes women can always find the strength and determination to pursue their dreams and create the life they want. To read more visit


I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog.

What is the last book you read?

The last book I read was Blood of Eden by Ken Policard.

What were your earliest memories of writing?

I’ve always enjoyed writing. I remember writing poetry and short stories when I was younger. In junior High School and High school, I did well on certain writing assignments and in those moments, I wondered to myself if I should be a writer.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

Writing came natural to me. I don’t remember a time in my life that I wasn’t writing.

Are you working on a new book?

Yes, I am working on my next novel that should be out by the end of the year, and I plan to do another children’s book, a second part to Blue the Bird.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

I think I could easily become a workaholic, but luckily, my husband and two fury kids keep me balanced. I love traveling and spending time with family and friends.

How did you come up with each character?

The idea for Blue the Bird On Flying came to me in a dream. First, there were cats and a bird that didn’t fly, but before I rolled out of bed, I had scratched the cats and the entire story written.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

Not yet… knock on wood.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

The most difficult part of writing is when something bad happens to one of my characters. I think that is the only time I cry these days.  The business side of writing can be challenging, I think most writers just want to write and don’t want to have to promote and market their books.

How do you react to a bad review?

I love this question! You have to have thick skin to be a writer because you can’t please everybody. It’s the bad reviews that we seem to pay the most attention to. I could have fifty five-star reviews, but when I get that one star review, it’s like getting stabbed in the heart. It stings. I usually check out my favorite writers and read some of their one star reviews and then suddenly I don’t feel so bad, I actually feel like I’m in good company.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

My favorite book is Breakfast at Tiffany’s, so I would have loved to dine with Truman Capote.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

That’s a great question, too. I don’t feel like I need discipline because writing is my favorite thing to do, and I just keep moving forward. Where I need discipline is in my personal life, I have to remember to take breaks and enjoy the other wonderful parts of my life.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

I love children’s books when they are cute, colorful and help teach children. Blue the Bird On Flying has shapes and colors all in a cute story about self-esteem that adults will enjoy, too.

What advice you would give to new writers?

Writing is a tough career path—lot’s of competition. But like with anything, if you want it badly enough, do it. Believe in yourself, stick with positive people and carry on. Oh, and always keep your sense of humor.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

Sure, you can learn more about me and my books at

Thank you for this interview.

July 11, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , ,


  1. I agree writing is difficult at times, this is why I am a reader instead! Cute book look forward to winning or finding it!

    Comment by Larissa | July 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’ve seen the Dumpster quite a bit around the Blogs. I enjoyed reading Becky ‘s interview answers. Being positive and surrounding ourselves with positive people is my own Mantra.And keeping that sense of humor will get you through every slump you endure.
    I love the thought of bright and colorful books for children and teaching them lessons in life are so very important. I’ll be looking forward to more of Becky ‘s books as well. Thanks for sharing.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | July 11, 2011 | Reply

  3. Thank you so much for the wonderful interview. I am on my way to Becky’s website.

    Comment by It's About Time Mamaw | July 11, 2011 | Reply

  4. I love getting to know the authors of the books that I and my children enjoy. It is wonderful that Becky’s book, no matter what genre, all seem to have the same theme. Even her chilrden’s book has that “you can do it” attitude! I can’t wait to check out some of her books!

    Comment by Alicia C. | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  5. The interview was wonderful; thankyou. It is so nice to hear from the author. Bright, colorful books with meaning are our favorites for our little ones.

    Comment by lisa | July 13, 2011 | Reply

  6. I love your advice for writers…I think it is so important to be positive and surround yourself with other people who can inspire you! Thanks for this interview!

    Comment by Carla | July 14, 2011 | Reply

  7. Sounds so interesting – I am going to see if our library has any of her books

    Comment by phxbne | July 15, 2011 | Reply

  8. This book sounds very interesting! I’ll definitely check it out.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | July 17, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

