Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Jethro Francois


Jethro Francois, a.k.a Princynova, was born on July 4th, 1977, in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. Literature was always his passion when he was in high school; however, following an extended illness he then changed his focus to science. He came to the United Statesin 1995 and continued to study, completing his high school education in 1997. He then attended GeorgetownCollegeto obtain a Bachelor of Science degree in biology with a minor in chemistry. He also pursued post baccalaureate study at ArmstrongAtlanticStateUniversity. However, while attending the University, a decade later, he was inspired to write his first poem in English, entitled “My Beloved.” Following the publication of this poem in 2005, the International Library of Poetry nominated him as Ambassador of Poetry. Within a few years, he became a member of The Academy of American Poets, the PenAmericanCenter(associate member), and the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. This is his first book, and he thanks God for endowing him with the gift of writing. Visit author’s website

Interview with Jethro Francois, author of The Butterfly

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog.

What were your earliest memories of writing?

My earliest memories of writing were when I was in High School, in 10th grade.  I had a literature teacher who really inspired me at this point in my life, and I attempted to write poetry but then with no success.  It was about 10 ten years later that I succeeded in writing, particularly in poetry.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

I was not encouraged to write; writing was and is something I like.  In fact, the first poem I wrote came to me as a complete surprise.  It was in the spring of 2004, while I was staying with my parents in southFloridathat I was inspired to write my first poem. I was sitting in my room, while I was on the computer, when suddenly thoughts started flying through my mind.  It took me about five minutes to basically type up the poem.  So I really believe that writing came to me naturally because it was after I obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in biology that I successfully began to write.

Are you working on a new book?

Currently I am working on the second edition of The Butterfly. My philosophy is to make The Butterfly a complete success before I move to the next project.  There are two other books for children that I already wrote.   They just have not yet been published.  I also wrote many poems, which many people have testified are great pieces of writings.  So, in the near future I plan to do a CD of poetry-with music in the background. 

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

I like calling my friends on the phone to make sure they are doing fine. 

I also like going to church and watching inspiring speeches on Youtube.

How did you come up with each characters?

I was able to come up with each character from experiences.  Part of my childhood was spent in the countryside of “Preval” and “Dutrejette”, inHaiti, where I was acquainted with many creatures such as caterpillars, butterflies, birds ect.  The memories of the beautiful butterflies hovering over the flowers in the yard of my parents are still vivid in my mind to this day; they were so colorful.  The songs of the birds are also memorable, and as a boy, I used to raise chicken on a farm.  So, growing up, nature has really been instilled in me and diversity has become part of my life.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

No, I have never suffered from writer’s block.  However,  I do not write every day, but every now and then the inspiration comes and I may put down on paper anything like a stories for children,  pieces of poetry and lately a reflection on poetry, which is to be published in a magazine called Caribbean Corner here in Jacksonville where I currently reside.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

The most difficult part about writing to me is finding competent people in my circle to review my work. 

How do you react to a bad review?

So far I have not had bad reviews.  However, I have an open mind to yield to constructive criticism, so I may improve my writing. I believe there is always room for improvement, meaning that nothing is perfect.  If I realize that someone sees flaws in my work, I will make sure not to repeat that same mistake on my next project.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

Some of my favorite authors whom I would love to dine with are Gary Chapman and Nancy Van Pelt, and this is because they talk about family values that are dear to me.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

In terms of writing, I do not impose a strict guideline on myself since I understand that the inspiration may come at any time or anywhere.  However, once a script is done then I am very strict on getting the project done (published) within a time frame, which I deem necessary.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

The best advice I could give to parents on selecting the right books for their children is to take a good look at the content and determine how the message relates to you, especially your family values.  In order to simplify the process of selecting books that are in line with your values, you may need to consult with a librarian and try reading peer book reviews online.  Moreover, I would suggest making your selection of literature from authors who have proven themselves as role models as they will influence your child based on the moral standard they reflect.

What advice you would give to new writers?

My advice to new writers would be to be patient because it may take a while to build a large readership. My second advice is making sure that their first book is their best effort because one only gets one chance to make a first impression.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

I would like all the readers to know that I thank them for taking the time to read this interview.  I hope they had a great experience getting to know me and that they will continue to be my audience.

Thank you so much Ella for giving me the opportunity to share my heart with your community of readers.

July 4, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. Congratulations Jethro on your fist book. Your book is one of hope and inspiration for our children. I hope you continue to write and I will be part of your audience.🙂 GFC follower under Lucky47.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | July 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thank you for this review Mymcbooks and to Mr Francois for taking the time to be interviewed.🙂 I especially appreciated the advise for choosing books for children, as I am an aunt that would like to help instill good values into my nieces and nephews as much as I have the opportunity to do so.🙂
    Have a great day!😀

    Comment by Mippy | July 5, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

