Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review & Giveaway: The Adventures of Macy the Cat by Alice Seagren


The Adventures of Macy the Cat by Alice Seagren, illustrated by Ted Cobb

 

This is an exciting children’s book of Macy the Cat andAlicethat take a heart warming trip to the beach.  You will read about how much fun the two have at the beach and the exciting things they do. 

My Review: This book tells of a little girl name Alice who loves to take her cat Macy on adventures, from the beach to roasting hot dogs. A simple read for children ages 3-6 that hold their attention with great illustration by Ted Cobb that has vivid colors.  

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving 1 lucky winner a signed copy of this book

Giveaway Ends 13th July @ 12 noon

1. Mandatory: Like ‘Meet the Author’ on Facebook by clicking on the link http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Meet-The-Author/211777542192164 

2. Mandatory: Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! etc So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway. part of your comment below should say ‘Like facebook’

Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified.

This giveaway has ended!

July 2, 2011 Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , | 13 Comments

Interview with Alice Seagren


Biography

I’ve had a lifelong love of cats. I was raised as a farm girl in the Pacific Northwestand at one time owned 14 cats and every one of them had an individual personality. Just try keeping 14 cat names straight in your head!

I now have just 2 cats but my love for them continues. Jasmine is our purebred Persian and rules the house and of course Macy, who was my inspiration for the book! Macy is a Heinz 57 that we adopted at the pet store and is inquisitive and packed brim full of energy.

Growing up, my vision was to become a veterinarian someday. That never materialized but animals remain very special to me in my heart. Later in life and 4 children later, I was able to share my love of animals with my children.

It was this sharing experience that motivated me to write children’s books about the adventures of Macy the Cat. What better way to share my love with animals to children throughout the world.

Thank you very much for reading and I’m sure you will enjoy and be inspired by the adventures and upcoming sequels of Macy the Cat.

I would also like to note that I will personally sign the first 500 copies sold of this very first edition of Macy the Cat.

Lastly, my grateful appreciation to my illustrator, Ted Cobb and by web designer, Rick Debnam at opt-e-web.com for their support and endless efforts.

You may also contact me and provide any comments you may have at: alice@booksbyaliceseagren.com.

 Visit author’s website at http://www.booksbyaliceseagren.com/index.html

Interview with Alice Seagren Author of The Adventures of Macy the Cat

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog.

What is the last book you read?

This is the first book.

What were your earliest memories of writing?

I enjoyed writing books since I was in grade school. I always had something to write about.

I was always writing about various adventures and giving my books to my mother.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

I was not encouraged to write. I always had ideas and creations for books.

Are you working on a new book?

Yes. The next book is called: Macy the Cat Goes to School. It is written but not yet illustrated. Very funny story.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

I am actually a real estate agent.

How did you come up with each characters?

I had a vision of what I wanted to see and worked with my illustrator.

If you had the opporunity today to become a veterinarian would you have gone down the writer’s road?

Yes. This is a good question. When I graduated from school, I wanted to be a veterinarian but my parents could not afford to put me through college. I love cats and the real Macy, (my cat) is so funny, that I decided to actually publish a book. I love animals. Not matter my occupation, I would still be writing.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

No. I always thought of adventures to write about.

How do you react to a bad review?

I can take criticism. In fact, that actually helps me.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

Darryl Davis who writes about real estate.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

The story and the wording.

What advice you would give to new writers?

If someone is writing for children, use vivid colors in the illustration and make sure you run the book by an editor.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

If you have always wanted to write a book…..start now!

 

July 2, 2011 Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , | 1 Comment

In My Mailbox #12


In my mailbox this week for review

I Remember When…. by Dawn Wynne

Zapato Power Freddie Ramos Takes Off by Jacqueline Jules

The Imagination Station 4 Revenge of the Red Knight by Marianne Hering

 

In My Mailbox was started in November of 2008 by The Story Siren. This is a great way to feature Author’s books even though it might not be in the form of a review. In My Mailbox is a great way for bloggers to socialize and network their blogs, it’s also a great way for bloggers to share upcoming releases!

Anyone can participate in IMM and you are not limited to only sharing books that arrive via your mailbox. You can also share books that you’ve bought or books that you’ve gotten at the library.

July 2, 2011 Posted by | In My Mailbox | , , , , , | 1 Comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,416 other followers

