Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review & Giveaway: If Babies went to School by Barbara Lock

If Babies went to School by Barbara Lock, illustrated by Gus Tarantino


In this engaging and beautifully illustrated children’s book, two school-age children imagine what might happen if they brought their baby brother to school. While the characters’ predictions may seem zany, they are logically based on what they know about babies. This book can assist parents and teachers with exploring inductive reasoning, and is fun to read aloud.

My Review: Brian wonders why his baby brother Luke can’t go to school with him. Then Amanda thought “what if” they took their baby brother Luke to school. The book takes you on a journey of “what if” babies went to school. They discover with each scenario that babies wouldn’t know what to do with worksheet, lunchbox, music instruments or what they would do when they go to the library. They concluded that it would be impossible for babies to attend school, because they will need a lot of help. Try waking a sleeping baby and sending him to the principal’s office. Brilliant illustrations by Gus Tarantino bring the characters to life. I recommend this book for every parent as it is a fun book.

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving 1 lucky winner a signed copy of this book

Giveaway Ends 10th July @ 12 noon

1. Mandatory: Like ‘Meet the Author’ on Facebook by clicking on the link!/pages/Meet-The-Author/211777542192164 part of your comment below should say ‘Like fb’

2. Mandatory: Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! etc So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified.


This giveaway has ended!

June 30, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , ,


  1. My cousin loves to read books to her children that contain small bits of “school” (inductive reasoning). There have been times when my nephew wonders why my niece doesn’t go to school when he has too…this would be a great book, thank you! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom Krystal L.

    Comment by krystallarson | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  2. I would love to share this with my daughter. It would be really interesting if the baby turned out to be a child prodigy and took over the classroom but still needed someone to help with basic needs🙂

    Comment by Mona Garg | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  3. I love reading to my kids and i think this book would be a get read for them.

    Comment by stacie williams | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  4. This book would be for my granddaughter. She loves being read to & the theme of “baby going to school”
    would be a great one for my daughter & I to read to her.

    Comment by Rita M | June 30, 2011 | Reply

    • This book would be for my granddaughter. She loves being read to & the theme of “baby going to school”
      would be a great one for my daughter & I to read to her.
      Liked “Meet the Author” on FB – Rita Melton

      Comment by Rita M | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  5. What a cute idea for a book. Both my little ones will be in school this fall and I can see them really enjoy imagining a little baby going to school with them by reading this🙂

    I like Meet the Author on facebook.

    Comment by Kristie | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  6. My Godson is 6 and has a brand new baby sister, this book would be a great summer book for him! He already asks why she can’t do certain things. I am sure similar questions will arise when the school year starts back up. This could be a great story book for his mommy to read to him and for him to read aloud to his sister ;o)

    Comment by Patricia | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  7. This book would be great for my daighter to read, she is always asking why her baby sister can’t go to school with her n maybe it would be able to explain to her the answers.

    I follow on fb

    Lmbrunken {AT} gmail {DOT} com

    Comment by larissa | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  8. I like Meet the Author on fb. My daughter is obsessed with babies, so I think she would think this is a fun book. Cute idea, too!
    mearley1979 at gmail dot com

    Comment by Megan | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  9. This sounds like a great book for “big” kids who might be feeling “little” again. Going over all of the things that big kids can do and babies can’t is a favorite of my little guy!
    I already like your new Meet the Author page!
    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Alicia C. | July 1, 2011 | Reply

  10. Last year when my 5 year old daughter was attending preschool, she would dress her favorite baby doll up as if the doll were going to school, too. She called her doll her baby sister. It was too cute. My daughter would love this book.
    Like Meet the Author on FB (Annette E).

    Comment by AEKZ2 | July 6, 2011 | Reply

  11. I just love seeing situations from a child’s POV. When my kids were very young and wrote journals at school, they never failed to get a giggle out of us. Sometimes when they articulated the weekend activities, I would laugh till I cried at some of the connections and observations they made.
    My 6 year old granddaughter would so enjoy this book. One of the things we do while she is at my house this summer is “school work” and her favorite activity is where we tell stories that we have made up from a variety of pics I have cut out of magazines. We draw one pic out of a hat and tell the other a story. Her imagination blows me away sometimes.

    Comment by Lisa Richards/NL | July 8, 2011 | Reply

  12. I like how the book logically discusses hypothetical situations.
    Like fb (username likwan)

    Comment by Lily Kwan | July 10, 2011 | Reply

  13. Thanks to everyone for taking part in this giveaway.

    And congrats to #2 – Mona Garg

    Comment by mymcbooks | July 10, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

