Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review & Giveaway: The Guardians of the Hidden Scepter by Frank Cole

Amber never dreamed her archaeology class would turn into a top secret mission that would take her across the globe, but when her teacher goes missing, Amber realizes it’s up to her to protect the Hidden Scepter or risk unleashing an ancient power too terrifying to imagine. This guaranteed page-turner from the bestselling author of the Hashbrown Winters series is perfect for the adventurer in your family.

My Review: When Amber’s archeology teacher, Dorothy invited her for some late night research, she couldn’t wait to go with her. But she never knew that she will be breaking into the museum with her to see the displays and artifacts. Later, when Dorothy is kidnapped, Amber and her friends go on an adventure to rescue her and recover the ancient artifact her teacher was trying to protect.

I don’t review a lot of teen books so I requested a copy from the author and it turned out to be a good read. This book is geared toward younger and older teens but adults can read it too. With much adventure you can’t help but keep turning the pages wanting to know what happens next. If you like action and adventure, you will enjoy this book. I recommend this book for your summer reading.

Age: 9 -12

Hardcover: pages 282

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Free Giveaway (US Only)

Author is giving 1 lucky winner a sign copy of this book

Giveaway Ends 8th July @ 12 noon

 Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! etc

Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Mandatory: Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified.


This giveaway has ended!

June 26, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,


  1. Sounds super exciting! I think my son and I could enjoy this mystery together, pehaps solve it before the end.

    Lmbrunken {AT} gmail {DOT} com

    Comment by larissa | June 26, 2011 | Reply

  2. This sounds so exciting and full of suspense. My 9 year old Granddaughter would love it as she’s into Museums and digs right now.🙂
    Thanks for the chance.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 at aol dot com

    Comment by Carol L. | June 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. Sounds like a good book to read.

    Comment by JMcManus | June 26, 2011 | Reply

  4. My mother loves mysteries! She would love to read some to our little cousins. Museums are right up our alley🙂 Thank you!

    Comment by krystallarson | June 26, 2011 | Reply

  5. A mystery is always good, and it’s nice to see one with with museum / archeology ties to add to the excitement. Looks like a good one that my son could enjoy getting into to solve the mystery!

    Comment by lisa | June 26, 2011 | Reply

  6. Hi, I have a great-niece who enjoys reading
    so many kinds of books! A great mystery around the globe would interest me very
    much, let alone her…
    Thanks, Cindi

    Comment by Cindi | June 26, 2011 | Reply

  7. The students at my library are always looking for good mysteries. I would love to read this to be able to recommend it to them!
    mearley1979 at gmail dot com

    Comment by Megan | June 26, 2011 | Reply

  8. Sounds interesting, I love archaeology. Mix it with adventure, and it sounds like a pretty exciting book!


    Comment by ElfRenee | June 26, 2011 | Reply

  9. An archaeology adventure is just the ticket for my children’s reading group. This would make several of my girls very happy!! Heck, I think I would enjoy it too!! llm 96 (AT) aol (DOT) com

    Comment by lmclendon | June 27, 2011 | Reply

  10. My middle son would adore this! He loves archeology and spends hours reading both fiction and non-fiction books related the matter. We have a season pass to the museum and go once a week so he can learn as much as possible. Thanks!

    kpuleski at gmail dot com

    Comment by Karen | June 27, 2011 | Reply

  11. It sounds like a really interesting book that if it doesn’t appeal to me when reading it would appeal to my sons or my daughter. I really can’t imagine a teacher breaking into a museum so that alone kind of has me intrigued.

    jennlovesed14 at gmail

    Comment by Jenn | June 28, 2011 | Reply

  12. I studied anthropology in college and I loved it! My son has shown an interest in archaeology so he’d love this book. A combination of archaeology and mystery makes a fun read!

    Comment by AEKZ2 | July 6, 2011 | Reply

  13. This book sounds very exciting! I would like to learn more about the Hidden Scepter.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | July 8, 2011 | Reply

  14. Thanks to everyone for taking part in this giveaway.

    And congrats to #4 – krystallarson.

    Comment by mymcbooks | July 8, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

