Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Blog Tour: World of Ink Tour for Margot Finke – Interview & Book Review


Biography

Margot Finke is an Aussie transplant who writes midgrade adventure fiction and rhyming picture books. For many years she has lived in Oregon with her husband and family. Gardening, travel, and reading fill in the cracks between writing. Her husband is very supportive, and their three children are now grown and doing very well. Her first books, a 7x book rhyming series, “Wild and Wonderful,” offers fun facts about animals from the US and Australia. Educational and fun, eBooks can be read on a computer, laptop, or various color e-Readers. They are great for classroom or home schooling moms.

Interview

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What inspired you to write?

Nothing inspired me to write.  The thing is that not writing is unthinkable.  Writing is a part of me as a woman, mother, wife and friend. If writing is in our genes, then I was there with my hand out right at the beginning.  My mother told me that she wished three things for me when I was still in her belly:  a sense of humor, a talent to write, and an ability to draw.  Two out three isn’t bad, mate.

Do you consider yourself a born writer?

Yes I do.  That doesn’t mean I didn’t need guidance when I began.  The finer parts of writing need to be learned like any other craft.  But remember, I was lucky.  I already had those writing genes tucked away in my inner pocket, eager to jump out.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? If yes, how did you ‘cure’ it?

Sorry mate.  No writer’s block ever darkened my computer screen.  If I had a problem with a manuscript, and my wonderful critique group could not help me sort it out, I simply shut the file and let it simmer in isolation for a few weeks – or months.  Rereading it with a clear focus always solved the problem for me.

Have you had any training to become a writer?

Other than school, no.  However, when I first became serious about writing, I was lucky enough to join a writing list where several children’s writers noticed my stumbling attempts, and took me under their wing.  They mentored me gently, firmly, and with an iron determination to knock certain bad writing habits out of my head. I am eternally grateful for their talent, friendship and writing wisdom.

What type of books do you mostly write?

I write rhyming picture books that are fun, as well as educational, plus mid-grade stories for boys – and tomboys like I was once.  So many kids today don’t read. The internet, TV, computer games – they all compete for a child’s attention and time. My son was a reluctant reader, so I try to write books with a definite WOW factor that encourages them keep reading.  Hook them young, and you have a reader for life, is my motto.

Do your children inspire any of books, characters, or plots?

Not really. I do remember the books they loved me to read to them.  And without fail they were all full of action, fun situations and wild adventures. I keep this in mind and ask myself, “Would my daughter like this character?  Could she learn something from the character’s blunders? Would my kids have found this situation too involved, not specific enough, or just a big yawn?”

Can you share with us a little about your current book?

Taconi and Claude-Double Trouble – midgrade adventure for boys & tomboys. A coming of age story about a young aboriginal boy in the Aussie outback. The time is 1950, and Taconi is pulled in different directions by his dad’s problems, a scary man ceremony, the Dreamtime Spirits, and an elusive magic feather. His only mate is a chatty cockatoo with a parade of funny one-liners.  A tribal gathering finally offers answers Taconi can accept. I spent the first half on my life in Australia, so the setting for this book is very familiar to me. There is a glossary of the fun Aussie words, as well as the aboriginal ones. This book was a labor of love.  The setting is authentic, but the tribe, the characters and all their doings, are absolutely fictional. Like American Indian tribes, the aboriginals of Australia guard their secret rites with great care.  I kept it pretty generic and used my imagination.

Do you have any other works in progress? Can you share a little about them?

I am polishing a sequel of sorts to Taconi and Claude.  This one is set in the 21st century, and has Bindi and Josh Howard, grandsons of the original characters, finding heart stopping dangers while on walkabout in the vast outback country. And YES, there are Dreamtime spirits, a Medicine Man determined to see Josh dead, and a near death experience or two before the grand finale.  The story begins with a nasty lie, and ends when the sibling rivalry between Josh and his older brother is faced head on.  The title is “Survival by Walkabout.”

What well known writers do you admire most?

I am reading the Kite Runner by Kahled Hosseini at the moment, and I have just finished his, A Thousand Splendid Suns. This is an author who makes the blood and anguish of the ordinary Afghani citizen seep onto the pages. No newspaper or TV coverage could get into the hearts and minds of these people like his powerful and evocative sentences.  I am in awe of his talent and command of English.  My heart aches for the women – down-trodden, undervalued, and often classed as worthless by their men-folk. To think too deeply about their plight is to remain forever sleepless.

What do you surround yourself with in your work area in order to help your concentrate?

Soft classical music, good lighting, lots of notes, so as not to forget what is important, and a really good printer-copier.  Photos of trips toChina,Australia,Europe and all over theUS.   Photos of grandkids galore.

What do you recommend I do with all those things I wrote years ago but have never been able to bring myself to show anyone?

Once a year have a “Save or Scrap” day. This is also a good time to throw out all the stuff that is defunct, useless or plain crappy.  A clean desk and drawers makes you feel. . . well, totally ”Virtuous!”  Read those old clunkers – you never know, maybe one of them has possibilities.  The rest?  Toss ‘em out!

Is there anything else you would like to share with us?

Listen, I’ve already “shared” so much, I feel as if I’m on, that, “Margot Finke. . . This Is Your Life!  World of Ink, it’s all YOUR fault!  Not sure whether to thank you or apologize.  You made me dig deep, mate.

I thank you for taking the time to share with me and my readers about being an author.

Books

Taconi and Claude-Double Trouble – A coming of age story for a young aboriginal boy in the Aussie outback. The time is 1950, and Taconi is pulled in different directions by his dad’s problems, a scary man ceremony, The Dreamtime Spirits, and an elusive magic feather. His only mate is a chatty cockatoo with a parade of funny one-liners. A tribal gathering finally offers answers Taconi can accept.

Ruthie and the Hippo’s Fat Behind – rhyming PB Ruthie becomes a brat when her parents move far from home. Her parents tear their hair. Ruthie
just scowls and throws tantrums. What is the problem? Then a wonderful surprise changes everything for the better.

Horatio Humble Beats the Big D – rhyming PB – Horatio is a smart boy who can’t read. When he hears the word Dyslexia he refuses to try Special Ed Class. But go he does: and the results are amazing.

Margot Finke is offering a FREE short story to anyone who buys a hard copy of her
book Taconi and Claude from her website http://mysite.ncnetwork.net/restbcm8/Margot%27s%20Books.htm#other

*Margot Finke will give 3 extra books as freebies people can win (one of each book) These winners will be picked at random by SFC during the tour from comments left by followers of each hosts blog.

*PLUS - anyone who leaves a comment on one of the host’s blogs + their e-mail, Margot will send them theFREE Bonus time-travel story as promised.

Month of World of Ink Tour: June 2011

Title of Book(s) up to six books per tour:

Taconi and Claude – Double Trouble – mid-grade adventure

Horatio Humble Beats the Big D – dyslexia  PB

Ruthie and the Hippo’s Fat Behind – about change  PB

Publisher:  Guardian Angel Publishing – all 3

ISBN Number(s):

Taconi and Claude:

Paperback ISBN: 978-1-61633-130-6; 1616331305

eBook ISBN: 978-1-61633-131-3; 1616331313

Ruthie and the Hippo’s Fat Behind:

Print ISBN 13: 978-1-61633-059-0

eBook ISBN 13: 978-1-61633-060-6  

Horatio Humble Beats the Big D

Print ISBN: 978-1-61633-101-6;  1616331011

eBook ISBN: 978-1-61633-102-3;  161633102X

Publication Date(s):

Taconi and Claude: March 2011

Ruthie and the Hippo’s Fat Behind: Jan 2011

Horatio Humble Beats the Big D – March 2011

Author’s Name or Pen Name:

Taconi and Claude: M. E. Finke

Ruthie and the Hippo’s Fat Behind:  Margot Finke

Horatio Humble Beats the Big D – Margot Finke

Author Website: http://www.margotfinke.com

Help for writers + Manuscript Critique Service, my BOOK Info + how and where to
purchase.

** BUY any Autographed hard cover book, and get a FREE (pdf) time-travel BONUS Book, featuring characters from my 3 latest books – Taconi, Ruthie and Horatio.

Blog Address:  Margot’s Magic Carpet –  All 11 of Margot’s books on the one page + links to Reviews, Book Trailers,  Samples, Illustrations, Teacher’s Guide and aFREE Bonus Book etc. http://perfectmagiccarpet.blogspot.com/

Hook Kids on Reading: http://hookkidsonreading.blogspot.com/

Margot’s Books for Kids + Writing News:  http://margotfinke.blogspot.com/

Twitter URL: http://twitter.com/#!/Margot10

Facebook URL:  https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=507512148

Facebook Fan Page URL:

Publisher Website:

MY Books – on theGAP Author page. http://www.guardianangelpublishing.com/authors&books.htm

Places where book(s) are available for sale: Amazon, B&N, Powell’s Books, Fictionwise, Publisher and more. BUY Autographed books and get a  FREE Bonus Book:  http://www.margotfinke.com

 

 

 

June 2, 2011 - Posted by | Blog Tour | , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Thanks so much Ella for hosting me on my World of Ink tour. It looks terrific, mate.

    And just a reminder:
    EVERYONE who comments + leaves an e-mail, receives a FREE copy of my specially written kid’s time-travel eBook.
    Safe Sample: mfinkefrontier.com

    This BONUS Book takes characters from my 3 latest books( Taconi, Ruthie and Horatio), and puts them together for a fun, short adventure.

    Kids Books With a WOW Factor!
    http://hookkidsonreading.blogspot.com/

    Comment by Margot Finke | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  2. The SAFE Sample should read:
    mfinkefrontier.com

    Or people can use the sample to e-mail me personally. Either way is fine with me.

    Comment by Margot Finke | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  3. I’m a fan of Margot Finke. She has a relationship with words that many authors envy. She has been a mentor to me and a key factor in my success as a writer. Even her comment about Kahled Hosseini’s writing touched me. “To think too deeply about their plight is to remain forever sleepless.”

    Thank you, Margot, for all you do. I wish you much success on all your books.
    dancekam1yahoo.com

    Comment by Kathy Stemke | June 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Kathy, my blushes will illuminate this page for hours to come. You are such a dear.

      Hosseini’s books will live with you forever – I promise

      I will send you my new e-book ASAP. A fun, new time-travel adventure that includes all 3 of the characters in my books listed on Ella’s review page.

      Enjoy, mate!!

      Margot Finke
      Kids Books With a WOW Factor!
      http://hookkidsonreading.blogspot.com/

      Comment by Margot Finke | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  4. Thank you for hosting Margot and for reviewing her books. She is one very talented lady.

    Comment by VS Grenier | June 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Aweee gee Victoria. Thanks mate.

      And I thank you too, Ella. I really appreciate your time and blogging talents.

      Comment by Margot Finke | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  5. Great interview with well thought out questions. I am already a fan of Margot and I own Ruthie, Horatio Humble and Rattlesnake Jam. I Have Taconi and Claude on my “to Buy” list. Sounds like a great read.

    Comment by Susan Berger | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  6. Terrific questions. And well though out interesting answers. I like Margot’s writing and her writing advice. Ella, can we use some of your questions?

    Comment by Pen and Ink | June 2, 2011 | Reply

    • All this wonderful praise has made my day – and my head much larger!!

      Pen and Ink is a terrific site. I am always Tweeting and Facebooking their informative blog posts.

      Margot Finke
      Kids Books With a WOW Factor!
      http://hookkidsonreading.blogspot.com/

      Comment by Margot Finke | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  7. Great interview! I always enjoy learning more about Margot. She’s a wonderful writer, very helpful to other writers, and my grandsons enjoy her books!

    Comment by Connie Arnold | June 3, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks so much Connie, and hugs to your grandson. Did yo get a FREE copy of my new time-travel e-Book for kids?

      If not, let me know. I will send you a copy. All those who comment are eligible to receive a copy. E-mail for your copy to: mfinke@frontier.com

      Margot’s Magic Carpet
      Kids Books With a WOW Factor!
      http://perfectmagiccarpet.blogspot.com/

      Comment by Margot Finke | June 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,416 other followers

