Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review & Giveaway:Frederico the Mouse Violinist by Mayra Calvani

Frederico the Mouse Violinist by Mayra Calvani, illustrated by K.C. Snider

Frederico is a tiny mouse with a big dream: he wants to become a violinist. Each day he watches as Stradivari makes his famous violins. Each night, he sneaks into the workshop to play. But the violins are too big! Then, unbeknown to Frederico, Stradivari sees him playing and begins carving a tiny device. Could it be a famous Strad especially for Frederico?

If you love playing the violin you will love reading about Frederico the Mouse who watches as Antonio Stradivari the famous Italian violin maker skillfully work on a violin. Author Mayra Calvani gave us a historical and educational background about Antonio Stradivari, the world’s most famous violin maker and the name parts of a violin. Also loved the seek and find words at the end of the story. Great illustration by K C Snider. I highly recommend this book.

Ages: 4 – 8

Pages: 24

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the Author to review and giveaway on my blog. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

Free Giveaway

Author Mayra Calvani is giving a copy to 1 lucky winner.

Giveaway Ends 8th May @ 12pm

Comments like these below would be deleted

Great contest, Please enter me, love to win this!, This is so cute

So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Mandatory: You must be a  Subscriber to Mymcbooks Blog by clicking on Email Subscription. Leave your comments and email address in the comment field below.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified

Winner will be chosen at random
Open to U.S Residents.
No PO boxes, please.


This Giveaway has Ended.


Winner is Mona Garg



Mymcbooks,a customer just told us your review on Frederico, the Mouse Violinist by Mayra Calvani was helpful to them while shopping on Amazon.

April 25, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways


  1. I would love to win this for my daughter. It would be cute and educational. She also enjoys word puzzles.

    As for myself, a couple weeks ago, on the reality show, Dancing with the Stars, they had the theme, CLASSICS, where dances were choreographed to classical music. There was a guest violinist who was AMAZING.

    Comment by Mona Garg | April 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. The first thing I thought of when I saw this book was the Beverly Cleary books. My kids won’t really get to read those types of books, it seems like the world is going so fast. I would love to win this book for them.

    I subscribe to your blog


    Comment by Val Pearson | April 25, 2011 | Reply

  3. This would be a wonderful addition to my granddaughter’s library (we are working on making her one)! I love to get her books that teach her about history as well as books that show a little whimsy (the little mouse playing the violin. It also teaches children (from what I gather) that they can do anything they set their minds to.

    What a great book!

    blazesandbubbles AT gmail DOT com

    Comment by Kimberly F | April 25, 2011 | Reply

  4. Mayra’s book is simply delightful. This is a picture book you MUST have. And the mouse is really endearing!!

    Margot’s Magic Carpet
    Kids Books With a WOW Factor!

    Comment by Margot Finke | April 25, 2011 | Reply

  5. I am always looking for different books for our children’s library. I love that this is not only about music but about violinists…we have talked with my daughter about taking violin lessons.
    I love that this is an educational book that may also inspire a new love of music and musical instruments in my children.
    Thanks for the review!

    Comment by Donna Mac | April 25, 2011 | Reply

  6. Thanks so much for the wonderful recommendation, Ella!

    Comment by thedarkphantom | April 26, 2011 | Reply

  7. What an imaginative & unique perspective to teach history! Frederico would be appealing to my granddaughters.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | April 26, 2011 | Reply

  8. I have to just say that Frederico looks adorable and to think this tiny mouse is going to be playing a tiny violin will be an enjoyable book for all the grandkids. And the history of the most famous name associated with Violins is a plus.
    GFC follower under Lucky47.
    Carol L

    Comment by Carol L. | April 26, 2011 | Reply

  9. […] Author Mayra Calvani is giving a copy of her book FREDERICO THE MOUSE VIOLINIST (C) to 1 lucky winner over at Mymcbooks. Enter by May 2nd. Click here for more details. […]

    Pingback by Early May Book Giveaways : Inky Fresh Press | April 29, 2011 | Reply

  10. This book would be perfect for our oldest son.
    He and his friend heard a classmate play the violin in during class! Mind you, this boy has been playing the violin since he was a toddler.
    My son and his friend immediately wanted to play the violin(thinking they could play like him)! Well, we have the violin, music,etc. and now we are trying to convince our son to persevere…Many thanks, Cindi

    Comment by Cindi | May 1, 2011 | Reply

  11. My minor in college is in Organ Performance. Through my studies, I developed a great love of the classics. We attended performances given by juniors and seniors who majored in performances involving all types of instruments. I would like to share this love of classics and the violin with my grandson.

    Thank you,

    Christine W

    Comment by Christine W | May 2, 2011 | Reply

  12. This really looks like a book my daughter would enjoy. The cover illustration is beautiful. I am an email subscriber.

    Comment by Desiree Glaze | May 4, 2011 | Reply

  13. I would love to win this book for my daughter. She hopes to learn to play the violin when she is a bit older. I am an email subscriber.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

    Comment by Nancye Davis | May 8, 2011 | Reply

  14. Mymcbooks Blog will like to say a big thank you to all those who took part in the Frederico the Mouse Violinist Giveaway. We’ll like to say thank you to Author Mayra Calvani for providing a copy of this book to giveaway. Visit her website at

    Congratulation to the winner of this giveaway selected by

    Winner is #4 – Margot Finke

    Comment by mymcbooks | May 8, 2011 | Reply

  15. I’m not entering your giveaway I just want to tell you that I’ve read through all the reviews on this page and they’re very nice! Glad to have found you on book blogs.

    Comment by Sharon Henning | May 21, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

