Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Ann D. Koffshy

We are glad to welcome Author Ann D. Koffshy to Mymcbooks Blog

Noah’s Swim-A-thon – Written and illustrated by Ann D. Koffsky 

Sometime back in Kindergarten, I realized that I wanted to be an artist. I knew this for a fact all through high school. But in college, I realized how very impractical that was. I began a minor in art (just for fun, of course), and considered law, teaching, advertising, communications…you name it. By junior year, however, I realized I just couldn’t escape art. I changed my minor to a major, and got an internship at DC Comics (those are the guys who make Superman). When I graduated, I worked for Scholastic Books (those are the guys who make Clifford). That combo of Superman and Clifford gave me a great start in learning how to make things look fun and interesting for kids.

Since then I’ve illustrated and authored over 20 books for children, including “Eight Lights for Eight Nights” (Barron’s Educational Series),  and My Cousin Tamar Lives in Israel (URJ Press) which was given a Notable Book designation by the Association of Jewish Libraries.

I also enjoy creating products of all kinds, and have designed everything from toys (Alma’s Designs) to calendars (Tide-Mark Press) to formal Ketubot. Many greeting card companies such as Hallmark, Papyrus and Great Arrow Graphics have featured my work. I work in two styles: Bold, graphic paper cuts, and whimsical inviting paintings.




April 11, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

