Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Sharon Lester

We welcome Author of The Boy Who Wouldn’t Sit Still! Sharon Lester



Sharon Lester lives in Santa Monica, CA with her husband and two young sons. When she’s not running after her boys she works as Director of Distribution at Rainbow Releasing, an independent film company.


What is the last book you read?

I just finished reading The Descendants, by Kaui Hart Hemmings.  It’s a really beautiful book about love and loss but it’s also very funny. I highly recommend it. 

What were your earliest memories of writing?

I have always loved to write and I always carry around a notepad for thoughts and ideas. 

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

I’ve always loved the written word and children’s books in particular. For The Boy Who Wouldn’t Sit Still! my son, Samuel, and I created each of the scenes in the book (with himself as the model) which I photographed and then sent to the artist, Jeff Smith, who created brilliant art to match each of the story points. 

Are you working on a new book?

Yes, I am working on the next adventures of The Boy Who Wouldn’t Sit Still! and also have another idea for a children’s picture book.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

I work as director of distribution for Rainbow Releasing and we handle a wide array of films for theatrical distribution—from documentaries and independent films to Monty Python and the Holy Grail and Monty Python’s Life of Brian.

How did you come up with your characters?

The Boy Who Wouldn’t Sit Still! was definitely modeled after my youngest son, Samuel, who at the time was four years old. But I see that character everywhere!

My hope was to take behavior that is pervasive but endearing and put it into a character that both children and adults could relate to, and be amused by. 

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

Go to the library and get everything in a wide array of styles and formats. You never know what will grab the attention of your child and become their favorite book.  And it is so fun when they find a favorite book and want to read it over and over and recite the words. I know my younger son needs a lot of movement and color and bouncy words but every child is different. When I was little my Mom bought me all the Joan Walsh Anglund books which I still have and love. “A Friend is Someone Who Likes You” and “What Color is Love?” are my favorites. They should not be out of print! I found a website once where I was able to stock up on these books and I bought out the whole lot to give to my friends’ children.

What advice you would give to new writers?

Absolutely go for it! It’s a different world out there now and now writers have the ability to do a short run of a book in hardcover format and then they can take it from there to either find a publisher or agent or do it themselves!

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

If you or anyone you know has a boy who is a wiggle worm or won’t sit still I hope you will think about looking at our book – If you like the book we would love to hear from you on the website!

April 5, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. ★★★★★

    Comment by Kristin Brænne | April 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. Sharon’s book sounds fun, and I enjoyed the interview. Books that HOOK boy’s interest are much needed. Sounds like Sharon’s does!!

    Margot Finke
    Kid’s Books With a WOW Factor!

    Comment by Margot Finke | April 5, 2011 | Reply

  3. A lot of people have ideas for books…but most do not follow through and write them, get them published and then promote and market them. Hats off to you, Sharon!
    My passion is picture books began when I was 2 years old…and is still going strong! I also wrote a book which pinpoints 100 picture books every young child should hear. Perhaps THE BOY WHO WOULDN’T SIT STILL will be featured in my next book.🙂

    Comment by viviankirkfield | April 5, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

