Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview,Book Review & Giveaway: The Miracle of Rain by Sherry Rossman

We welcome Sherry Rossman Author of The Miracle of Rain to Mymcbooks Blog


Rabbits, javelina, snakes, skunks and the occasional raccoon were all a large part of my childhood where I grew up in the small town of Rimrock, Arizona. I used to roam the countryside with these critters, my two older brothers and a neighbor friend, which is where my imagination had plenty of space and inspiration to bloom. I currently live in Prescott Valley, Arizona with my husband, two children and three cats


What is the last book you read?

“90 minutes in Heaven” by Don Piper. Excellent!

What were your earliest memories of writing?

I remember writing a poem about ice cream in Elementary School. This was the first thing I wrote that won an award and an opportunity to read it to a group of locals at a luncheon. This experience was what sparked my passion for language arts and also gave some insight into who I was.

You wrote that Little Women influenced you as a child, why Little Women?

Little Women is truly a work of art. It addresses adversity, human strengths vs. challenges and how all of these things can shape a person into being who they were designed to be.  The insights I have gained from reading this book have resonated in my mind and heart ever since, and have proven to me the value of a well written story.

Are you working on a new book?

Yes! I am continuing the adventures of Nora and Molly in my next book! I can’t wait to complete their next mission!

Who’s your favorite Author?

I don’t think I have any one favorite. I love the works of Louisa May Alcott, Charles Dickens, Dr. Seuss, Laura Numeroff, and Lucy Maud Montgomery…….

Were you afraid of thunderstorms growing up?

Yes, I was afraid of the noisy thunder and claps of lightning! I also lived on a dirt road that would literally wash away in a big storm. That is why I chose this subject to write about because I relate to it.  But I still liked to go outside after a storm and squish my bare feet into the mud!

You have a love for painting what was the last thing you painted?

The last thing I painted was a seascape for my son’s room. It is a large boat splashing through the water, where it is being guided by some icthus.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

I think a combination of books is always a great idea. Some to challenge, some to teach, and some just for fun to encourage a love for reading.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

Keep on encouraging your children to read! A person who only listens to the world around them will only know what people want them to hear, but a person who reads, will learn how to find answers (truths) for themselves!



This well written story about The Miracle of Rain by Sherry Rossman is a story about thunder and lightning storm. Nora and her cat Molly were afraid of thunder until they met a raccoon named Smickett who showed them that there is something wonderful about storms. Smickett told Nora the importants of rain and lightning to life and this provision it provided by God.

This is a story of adventure and enlightenment. If you or your child is afraid of the storm then you need to  have a copy of this book. It explains about the importance of storms, all while helping to calm fears.

I highly recommend this book. I was given this book free by the Author to review. For more information about the author visit her website Get your copy from

Free Giveaway 

Starts 20th March and Ends 27th March @ 12 noon

The Author is  giving a signed copy to 1 lucky winner.

Comments like these below would be deleted

Great contest, Please enter me, love to win this!, This is so cute

So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Mandatory: You must be a  Subscriber to Mymcbooks Blog by clicking on Email Subscription

Mandatory: Please leave your comment below with your email address for contact

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified

Winner will be chosen at random
Open to U.S Residents.
No PO boxes, please.


This Giveaway has ended! 

 Winner is #6 Yvonne J

March 20, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , ,


  1. This looks like a perfect book for Spring in Indiana!!

    nowakoski at sbcglobal dot net

    Comment by Ms. Dawn | March 20, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’m an email subscriber

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    The Miracle of Rain would be a great book for my grandkids who are fearful of storms from time to time. I think the animal characters showing the benefits of rain would help them be less afraid.

    Comment by Teresa Young | March 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. I’m an e-mail subscriber!!

    This would be a great book for my son.. he loves the rain & playing in it, but hates the sound the loud thunder makes.. This would be great to help with that problem!!

    Comment by Madison | March 20, 2011 | Reply

  4. I am very excited about the review as I have been actively seeking a book like this to read with my daughter. She is almost 4 and although we have been discussing the weather, thunderstorms still prove to be so scary for her.

    As I am always seeking to teach our daughter about the Earth God has created, I was THRILLED reading this from the review:

    “Smickett told Nora the importants of rain and lightning to life and this provision it provided by God.”

    I am a subscriber and thank you for the opportunity to enter this giveaway.

    Rachael Alford
    thriftyurbanmom at gmail dot com

    Comment by Rachael Alford | March 20, 2011 | Reply

  5. I am an email subscriber.

    I have to say that I read 90 Minutes in Heaven by Don Piper a while ago, and it touched me in profound ways. Since that time, I have had some close friends go through some very difficult times, and after I gave away my copy of the book, I have probably bought and given 6 or 7 copies as gifts. Books and their messages are so powerful. Thanks!

    Comment by Karen | March 20, 2011 | Reply

  6. I am an email subscriber.

    This sounds like a wonderful story to share with my pre-reader storytime groups.

    Comment by Yvonne J | March 20, 2011 | Reply

  7. This is a book about thunder and lightening storms. This book will be very appropriate for the weather here in Oklahoma. I would like to share it with my grandson in order to help him not to be afraid of them. But then, I have had high school students in my classroom who have freaked out more about thunder and lightening than the younger kids. Maybe I should read it to them.

    Comment by ossmcalc | March 21, 2011 | Reply

  8. I’m an emaail subscriber! Haha this book reminds me of my little cousin; Jessica would run under the bed everytime someone claps, not to mention thunderstorms! ^_^ I’ve been trying to teach her otherwise, and I think I’ll go out and buy this book even if I don’t win. Thanks for teh giveaway!

    Comment by Samantha Cheng | March 21, 2011 | Reply

  9. This is a book my daughter hasn’t tried. My grandson is petrified of Thunder and lightening. She’s gotten several books from the library to help him overcome his fear. Now he wants to be a weatherman when he grows up. lol lol But this book will be on my “to buy list”. Thanks for sharing.
    Email subscriber and GFC follower under Lucky47.
    Carol L

    Comment by Carol L. | March 21, 2011 | Reply

  10. I’m always seeking wonderful stories to read to my children (church ministry)that provides an understanding to matters that they are aware of but don’t quite understand and storms and lightening is one.

    Comment by Sidne | March 21, 2011 | Reply

  11. Memorable Children Books & Gifts (MCBG) will like to say a big thank you to all those who took part in the ‘The Miracle of Rain by Sherry Rossman’ Free Giveaway. And also like to say congratulation to the winner of this giveaway:

    Winner is #6 Yvonne J selected by

    Please check out the following Free Giveaways coming soon on Mymcbooks Blog – Hoppy Easter Eggstravaganza Blog Hop. April 20th to 25th, Children’s Book Week. May 2 – 8, A Mother’s Day Blog Hop. May 5-8th and A Splash Into Summer Giveaway Hop. May 25th – 31st, 2011

    Comment by mymcbooks | March 27, 2011 | Reply

  12. Comment by Yvonne Jefferson

    I am person who never wins anything, so this is awesome. I intend to use the book for my storytimes and then donate it to our library. Thank you so much. I love reading your blog especially when you review an author that I am not familar with. It’s easy to get into a rut of falling back on books that we are comfortable and familiar with. You inspire me to reach of of my comfort zone and try something new. Thank You!

    Yvonne Jefferson

    Comment by mymcbooks | March 28, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

