Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: My Warp Speed Mind. Ends March 7th


My Wrap Speed Mind

My Warp Speed Mind written by Donalisa Helsley, illustrated by Kalpart

About the Book: Do you have trouble paying attention and being still? Do you feel like everyone is always mad at you? Drake knows how you feel. With some help he will learn how to control his impulses. A spaceship that can go warp speed is great, but only if you know how to make it slow down too!

My Review: The author has written a great book for children dealing with ADHD, not only for the child but their parents and teachers to understand how to control of their warp speed mind. Drake didn’t understand why he was always in trouble. He didn’t like school because the teachers were always telling him to keep still or to be quiet or put him on time out. He was finding it hard to pay attention in class making clown faces and ends up in the Principal’s office. Drake also got in trouble at home. It was time for his parents to find out what was really wrong with him. Drake was diagnosed with ADHD.

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) has been defined as “A problem of not being able to focus, being overactive, not being able control behavior, or a combination of these. For these problems to be diagnosed as ADHD, they must be out of the normal range for a person’s age and development.”

The author gives some great suggestions for children, parents, and teachers. Fun exercises for calm children down and release those extra energy.

  • Breathing exercises
  • Do the shake and take a deep breath
  • Create a discipline system
  • Make praise specific
  • Create a schedule
  • Remember to be patient and consistent

The Warp Speed Mind story is fun and educational. The illustrations by Kalpart are colorful and bright which helps tell the story.  The best part of this story is Drake realizing that ADHD is not the boss of him. He is the boss of his ADHD. A well written book and I recommend this to parents with children with ADHD.

Pages: 32

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway Rules

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There will be 1 winner.

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by Random.org

Giveaway Ends March, 7th

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Please HELP promote this book on your blog, twitter, pinterest or facebook. Thanks.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway Has Ended

The author has decided to give a copy each to all 10 readers who left a comment.

February 18, 2014 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. This book sounds as if it could be instrumental in explaining ADHD to those who suffer from it. I have tried to explain the functioning of the brain to my ADHD suffering son, and to assist him with his breathing when he gets out of control, but I’m not always there. He’s having so much trouble now. If he could read this, and realize that ADHD isn’t his boss, what a difference it could make in his life. This book sounds outstanding. michelle_willms@yahoo.com

    Comment by michellewillms2013 | February 18, 2014 | Reply

  2. I love that the book gives children, parents and teachers tools, practical tools, for everyone to understand and use. It seems as if a child that is struggling with ADHD, but is unclear what they themselves are experiencing, would be able to relate to situations in this book and gain clarity of what they are feeling and/or experiencing. I love that. I believe, as a parent myself, it would help me to articulate my thoughts and feelings, as well. From this review, it seems as if this is a great book and very needed. I agree that the best part is when the character, Drake, realizes that he is the boss of ADHD and not the other way around. michelecruz3@outlook.com

    Comment by Michele Cruz | February 19, 2014 | Reply

  3. Great giveaway for parents and teachers!!!

    Comment by Lisa Weidknecht | February 19, 2014 | Reply

  4. I teach several children with ADHD, and it is difficult to help them concentrate. I have learned some ways to help them, but this book seems like a great way to help me learn more as a teacher and will give me some ideas to tell the parents and students themselves. Drake sounds like a relatable character that some of my students would be able to empathize with. It sort of reminds me of Percy Jackson because he has ADHD and dyslexia, making him a relatable character.

    Comment by Amy H | February 22, 2014 | Reply

  5. I have 4 out of 5 kids with ADHD so this book would help tremendously!!! Lilhottemomma@yahoo.com

    Comment by Amy | February 24, 2014 | Reply

  6. this book sounds like it would be a great help for us. we just had a diagnosis of adhd and are struggling right now.

    Comment by Judy Mitchell | March 2, 2014 | Reply

  7. I would love to win this book. My friend’s son has adhd. I think this would be really helpful for not only him..but for his youger sister to understand him better too.

    Comment by Jessica Medina | March 2, 2014 | Reply

  8. It sounds like a book I could really use right now. As I am getting older it seems that I have signs and symptoms of add and ADHD. Work has become a challenge lately. I would really love to win this book and see what might be going on in my mind. Great book and excellent giveaway.

    Comment by Tammy Riedl | March 3, 2014 | Reply

  9. This would really be helpful for my son to read. I love that this book explains ADHD in a way kids can understand.

    Comment by lisa | March 4, 2014 | Reply

  10. This book sounds like it has very useful tips for dealing with ADHD. I tweeted about this giveaway on Twitter at https://twitter.com/likwan/status/441900369782640641.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | March 7, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,562 other followers

