Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Black History Month 2014 Giveaway. Ends Feb 28th


Aunt Harriet

Aunt Harriet’s Underground Railroad in the Sky by Faith Ringgold

Brother of the Knight

Brother of the Knight by Debbie Allen

Follow the Drinking Gourd

Follow the Drinking Gourd by Jeanette Winter

Henry Box Freedom

Henry’s Freedom Box by Ellen Levine

I Am Harriet Tubman

I am Harriet Tubman by Grace Norwich

I Survived

I Survived The Battle of Gettysburg, 1863 by Lauren Tarshis

Ron Big Mission

Ron’s Big Mission y Rose Blue and Corinne J Naden

Ruth and the Green Book

Ruth and the Green Book by Calvin Alexander Ramsey

The Prince of Fenway Park

The Prince of Fenway Park by Julianna Baggott

The Wedding Drama

Wedding Drama by Karen English

Talee Book

Talee and the Fallen Object by Jacquitta A McManus

Thank You Dr MLK

Thank You, Dr MLK, JR! By Eleanora E. Tate

Trouble Don't Last

Trouble don’t last by Shelly Pearsall

In keeping with the celebration of Black History Month, Mymcbooks is giveaway 4 books each to 2 lucky winner. Please list your 4 choices with your comment.

Giveaway Rules

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There will be 2 winners.

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by Random.org

Giveaway Ends February, 28th

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Please HELP promote this book on your blog, twitter, pinterest or facebook. Thanks.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winners are #4 – Saba and #1 – MJ

February 1, 2014 - Posted by | Black History Month, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Wow! Waht a tough choice. Fpr my classroom, I would choose Thank You, Dr MLK, JR! By Eleanora E. Tate, uth and the Green Book by Calvin Alexander Ramsey, Ron’s Big Mission y Rose Blue and Corinne J Naden and Henry’s Freedom Box by Ellen Levine. These would be great additions to my classroom library of Black History books.

    Comment by MJ | February 1, 2014 | Reply

  2. Shared at each of the links above. Following your reviews on GoodReads. Did you know they have a Giveaway group at GR? that might be a good outlet for you.

    Comment by LuAnn Braley | February 1, 2014 | Reply

  3. I’d love to have my grandkids read ALL these books, but the 4 I choose are: Aunt Harriet’s Underground Railroad in the Sky, Follow the Drinking Gourd, I Survived The Battle of Gettysburg, 1863, and Wedding Drama.

    Our area (Rochester NY) has several homes that were stops on the Underground Railroad.

    Comment by tmy56 | February 1, 2014 | Reply

  4. Those are some really hard choices to choose from! But I would choose Aunt Harriet’s Underground Railroad in the Sky, Brothers of the Knight, Ron’s Big Mission and The Prince of Fenway. I shared this on linkedin and facebook. though I could not find any book reviews, when I clicked on the pics they only showed the cover enlarged.

    Comment by Saba | February 1, 2014 | Reply

  5. When Aunt Harriet’s Underground Railroad wasn’t in my backpack as a child, it was in my hands. I loved the way Faith Ringgold situated the protagonists in history, by allowing them to experience the Underground Railroad as 20th century children. This perspective allows people like me to relate to the sentiments of awe of our ancestor Harriet Tubman, and the ultimate realization of the sacrifices our people made to escape slavery. This is a great introduction to history for young readers, and other readers who might be unfamiliar with the significance of Harriet Tubman. Also the illustrations are beautiful, as they highlight the beauty of the night during which Aunt Harriet led her people.

    Comment by gardensofreading | February 2, 2014 | Reply

  6. Reblogged this on readsandseeds and commented:
    I usually give individual book recommendations, but I’d rather celebrate by honoring those who providing information about and access to Black History books to children.

    Comment by gardensofreading | February 2, 2014 | Reply

  7. Wow! Such a great selection of books! I think I’d choose “I am Harriet Tubman”, “Henry’s Freedom Box”, “Thank You, Dr MLK, JR!” and “Follow the Drinking Gourd”

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | February 3, 2014 | Reply

  8. This is a great way to connect children to black history. Books like these will help children understand the importance of historical events. This is a perfect way to explore black history for the younger generation. I choose: I am Harriet Tubman, Thank you Dr. Martin Luthor King Jr., Ruth and the green book and Henry’s Freedom Box. Thank you.

    Comment by Taylor Closet | February 5, 2014 | Reply

  9. I have to agree with gardensofreading in that this is a great introduction to History for our children. They are all amazing reads and the choice is hard but I’d go with I Survived Gettysburg 1863, I Am Harriet Tubman,The Prince Of Fenway Park and Aunt Harriet’s Undergrond Railroad. Thanks for the chance to win these books.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L | February 17, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,616 other followers

