Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: The Great Unexpected. Ends Dec 31st


The Great Unexpected

The Great Unexpected by Sharon Creech

About the Book: In the little town of Blackbird Tree live two orphan girls: one Naomi Deane, brimming with curiosity, and her best friend, Lizzie Scatterding, who could talk the ears off a cornfield. Naomi has a knack for being around when trouble happens. For she knows all the peculiar people in town—like Crazy Cora and Witch Wiggins and Mr. Farley. But then, one day, a boy drops out of a tree. The strangely charming Finn boy. Then the Dingle Dangle man appears, asking all kinds of questions. Curious surprises are revealed—three locked trunks, a pair of rooks, a crooked bridge, and that boy. Soon Naomi and Lizzie find themselves zooming toward a future neither could ever have imagined. Meanwhile, on a grand estate across the ocean, an old lady whose heart has been deceived concocts a plan. . . .

As two very different worlds are woven together, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech celebrates the gossamer thread that connects us all, and the great and unexpected gifts of love, friendship, and forgiveness.

http://www.harpercollinschildrens.com/books/Great-Unexpected-Sharon-Creech/?isbn13=9780061892325&tctid=100

My Review: Expect the unexpected! Where the unexpected is exciting and full of imagination. If you children loves to image then make author Sharon Creech your child’s favorite author.

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book HarperCollins Publishing in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Sharon Creech

About the Author: Sharon Creech is the author of the Newbery Medal winner Walk Two Moons and the Newbery Honor Book The Wanderer. Her other work includes the novels The Great Unexpected, The Unfinished Angel, Hate That Cat, The Castle Corona, Replay, Heartbeat, Granny Torrelli Makes Soup, Ruby Holler, Love That Dog, Bloomability, Absolutely Normal Chaos, Chasing Redbird, and Pleasing the Ghost, as well as three picture books: A Fine, Fine School; Fishing in the Air; and Who’s That Baby? Ms. Creech and her husband live in Maine. http://www.sharoncreech.com/meet-sharon-creech

Giveaway Rules

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There will be 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by Random.org

Giveaway Ends Dec 31st, 2013

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Please HELP promote this book on your blog, twitter, pinterest or facebook. Thanks.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner is #3- Connie Cain

December 21, 2013 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways, HarperCollins Book Review | , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. This is definitely a book my granddaughter would love to read. She has such a creative imagination, bless her heart. I wish I saw it sooner to have added to her wish list of books. for the Holidays. It’s not too late but it’ll be after the Holidays for sure. Thanks for the review and the post.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | December 21, 2013 | Reply

  2. My niece loves to read and this sounds right up her alley, fun, mystery, intrigue!!! I’d actually like to read it myself :)

    Comment by Meghan (@mkw70) | December 21, 2013 | Reply

  3. Sounds like a great book that “I” would like to read, lol. If I win this book I think I will read it first, then pass it on to my grandkids. :)
    freeccain@gmail.com

    Comment by Connie Cain | December 21, 2013 | Reply

  4. I believe it will be interesting to follow orphans. Naomi and Lizzie and what happens to them in Blackbird Tree and their encounters with Crazy Cora and Witch Wiggins should be interesting to read and what about the boy who falls out of the tree Finn. Who is the Dingle Dangle man and what is in the trunks I believe that myself and my granddaughter would love to read The Great Unexpected by Sharon Creech

    Comment by Dorothy Teel | December 21, 2013 | Reply

  5. What a cast of characters! I think this would be a great book to read to my grandkids at bedtime – we love chapter books with an intriguing plot.

    Comment by tmy56 | December 21, 2013 | Reply

  6. Your review makes this review sound very intriguing. I would love to read it and encourage my younger sister to do so as well.

    Comment by Mindy D | December 23, 2013 | Reply

  7. Reading your review captured my interest. I love anything by Sharon Creech, and this sounds like a must read- both for myself and for my granddaughter!

    Comment by Barbara Beverage | December 26, 2013 | Reply

  8. What great characters! I think I would enjoy reading this not only to myself but out loud to my daughter around bedtime.

    Comment by Suzanne Marble | December 27, 2013 | Reply

  9. My daughter would love to read this after I showed her the review and she read it. I’d like to read it too!

    Comment by Amy | December 27, 2013 | Reply

  10. Hi! Thanks for offering this giveaway. I am a fourth grade teacher in CT and my students love Sharon Creech! The characters sound fun and mysterious! We’d love to read it!~

    Comment by Briana | December 29, 2013 | Reply

  11. Great review! I am looking right now to see if my local library as it

    Comment by stephanie McFarland | December 29, 2013 | Reply

  12. Comprehensive review. Just enough information that I know I want to read it. Not too much information to spoil the story.

    Comment by Linda Carlson | December 29, 2013 | Reply

  13. I look forward to checking this book out. I tweeted about this giveaway on Twitter at https://twitter.com/likwan/status/418074200172015616.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | December 31, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,554 other followers

