Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Spotlight/Giveaway: Red Nectar by Heather Leigh. Ends Oct 31st


Red Nectar

About the Book: Emily Capot must rescue her grandmother from the clutches of Now that is set to surgically alter grandmother’s brain. Now has taken her parents, and will seek to capture Emily if they discover her ability to Read minds. In this overly-polite society, telepathics are tortured, lobotomized, even executed. And Emily is a mind Reader. Her new friends from the resistance group, the Net, are already set to go on a rescue mission for grandmother. Can Emily convince them to let her go?  And if she does, what dangers will she encounter?  Emily finds herself fleeing from the Now in a botched rescue attempt but is comforted by her new friend, Andrew. Their mutual attraction grows as they work and train together. Emily is drawn to his ability to persevere through past pains and find laughter amongst his family of friends. She feels drawn to this blonde haired, slightly serious boy who she is amazed likes her also. Will Emily rescue her grandmother without getting caught herself?

Heather Leigh

About the Author: Heather Leigh Mother of two beautiful boys and a spoiled Australian Shepard. We live in beautiful, sunny San Diego and love the beaches, hiking, and parks. I’m especially excited to be the author of ‘Hey, Little Baby’, inspired by watching my now teenaged son ‘discover’ his feet.  ‘Red Nectar’ was a blast to write and knowing that others enjoy reading it is a constant joy in my life.  Right now I’m working on the sequel.  I’m lucky to live a blessed, joy-filled life. http://heatherleighauthor.blogspot.com/2013/01/red-nectar-has-come-to-fruition.html

Reviews – http://www.amazon.com/Red-Nectar-Heather-Leigh/dp/1300688602/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1381444243&sr=1-1&keywords=Red+Nectar%2C+by+Heather+Leigh

  • Paperback: 148 pages
  • Publisher: lulu.com (February 7, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1300688602
  • ISBN-13: 978-1300688600

Giveaway Rules

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There will be 1 winner  

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by Random.org

Giveaway Ends October 31st, 2013

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway Has Ended

rd1

Winner is #6 – Lily Kwan

October 10, 2013 - Posted by | Author and Book Spotlight, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Hmm… Red Nectar sounds interesting. I’m half expecting this book to be like Scarlet by Marissa Meyer, whose main character must also search for her grandmother. Since Scarlet was an amazing book, I have high expectations for this one. Having the ability to read minds is a bit overused, but the plot sounds like it could make the concept of reading minds in this novel amazing. Hopefully, the romance won’t be too fast paced (a problem I find common with many YA novels nowadays) and I look forward to getting to know the characters’ personalities.

    Comment by Adelynne | October 10, 2013 | Reply

  2. Wow! The synopsis is very intriguing! I especially love a heroine who is willing to be brave in the face of danger for her family. I think that “mind reading” being incorporated into the story definitely makes it a lot more interesting. I’m a sucker for romance, so I’m definitely excited to see how her relationship with Andrew unfolds! I think that the aspect of the story of her trying to rescue her grandmother is definitely inspiring. I look forward to seeing how Emily will be able to get through all of this. This will be an exciting read!

    Comment by Jieru | October 10, 2013 | Reply

  3. The premise is intriguing. I can understand why ‘normal’ people would fear mind readers and discriminate against them. If I lacked this ability, I would feel uncomfortable around those who could read my mind. Most people do have unpleasant or inappropriate thoughts that might embarrass them if others were aware of these thoughts. Apprehension toward those who are ‘different’ will probably always be with us. It is simply a fear reaction. Learning to embrace our differences is difficult, no matter what they might be. Allowing our discriminatory feelings to rule our actions is non-productive. I am curious to see how or if Emily rescues her grandmother and how her relationship with Andrew progresses.

    Comment by Irene Menge | October 12, 2013 | Reply

  4. As I was reading this I though “wow, it’s sounds really good- I just hope it’s not like Scarlett to much” even though I feel scarlet was great! I hope this book is even better since the two sound closely alike. I’m looking forward to being able to read this book and be proved wrong, and I just can’t wait!
    Out of all the missing-grandma-YA-books I read this one sounds rather promising. Uh! Can’t wait.

    Comment by Natalya | October 13, 2013 | Reply

  5. This looks like a good one! I would love to be able to read minds!!! I would love to see what happens! makeighleekyleigh at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Megan Parsons | October 26, 2013 | Reply

  6. I look forward to finding out if Emily Capot is able to rescue her grandmother. I’m curious how people with telepathic abilities are discovered?

    Comment by Lily Kwan | October 31, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,418 other followers

