Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Spotlight/Giveaway: Milton the Square Shell Turtle. Ends Oct 5th


Milton the Square Shell Turtle

About the Book:

Milton is a story of a turtle. Unlike other turtles with round or oval shells, Milton has a square shell. One afternoon, and being new to the area, he decides to take a walk to the pond to relax.

Just when he thinks he finds the perfect spot, he can’t stay. Not wanting to cause a problem, he goes further up the pond, only to discover, home is the best place to relax.

Title: Milton the Square Shell Turtle

Author: MaryAnn Tatro

Illustrator: Diane Lucas

Publisher: Halo Publishing, Int.

Genre: Children’s Picture Book

ISBN: 978-1-61244-103-1

Publication Date: June 2013

$11.95

Places available for sale:

http://www.halopublishing.com/bookstore

Amazon.com

Maryann Tatro

About the Author:

MaryAnn Tatro attended Southern Ohio Business College and received a degree in Office Administration and Communication. She also attended Cooper School of Art for one year and took with her a love to create, design and color. She worked several years for a publishing company in Cleveland while raising her son Ryan.

Tatro grew up in a suburb of Cleveland, Ohio, but her heart is in the country. She currently lives in Wadsworth, Ohio with her husband Dennis of 20 years and their cat. She and her husband enjoy nature walks, antiques, yard sales and being with family.

Mini Interview:

Like all authors, you have had your fair share of rejection letters. You obviously did not let the letters deter you. How did you keep your determination without getting discouraged?-

I self-published my book, however, when it came time for the review, I honestly felt sick.

I was always told if one door closes, another will open and that’s what I stuck with.  I have strong faith in God and I must say to me, prayer is the key.

It has been my experience, some things come quite easily (like creating the setting) and other things aren’t so easy (like deciding on a title). What comes easily to you and what do you find more difficult? -

What comes easily to me is giving my characters personality.

What’s difficult is naming them.  I have to choose the right name to fit the personality or otherwise, my stories will not work.

Please describe to us your relationship between you and your editor. What makes an author/editor relationship a success? -

Because I self-published my book, I never met my editor.

Giveaway Rules

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There will be 1 winner  

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by Random.org

Giveaway Ends October 5th, 2013

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

WOI Banner Tarto small

http://storiesforchildren.tripod.com/worldofinknetwork/maryann-tarto-sept-13.html

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner #5 – Paula

September 18, 2013 - Posted by | Blog Tour, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. I think a lesson is this book about we can be different and its ok.
    Blessings. Loved the interview. Book sounds great love to read it to my kids.
    Blessings
    joeym11@frontier.com

    Comment by Diana Montgomery | September 18, 2013 | Reply

  2. i love the cover. Adorable looking turtle. :) I imagine with a square shell the readers will see that being different doesn’t matter. Thanks for the interview and to meet the Author.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | September 18, 2013 | Reply

  3. It sounds like this book teaches the lesson that your family is always there for you and will always love you, even if you are different. My son who love this book!

    Comment by Monique Eckert | September 18, 2013 | Reply

  4. My oldest grandaughter just started 1st grade and has started reading to her sister and brother. I can see them enjoying this.Just as long as we don’t have to tell our middle grand child why she can’t really hunt deer to take home.

    Comment by ndluebke | September 18, 2013 | Reply

  5. Reading MaryAnn’s interview really made me smile. The fact she believed in her book so much that she self-published it is very inspiring. I really think my students would enjoy reading about Milton. Books that make being different more comfortable for them is a definite ‘must have ‘ for our library.

    Comment by Paula | September 18, 2013 | Reply

  6. MaryAnn and I must have similar writing styles. I also enjoy developing my characters’ personality and then agonize over what to name them. I glad to see I am not the only one.

    Comment by Dianne | September 19, 2013 | Reply

  7. Very nice story to teach my daughters about unconditional love and being different. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Comment by Emi Pearce | September 19, 2013 | Reply

  8. Great life lesson book, would love to read with my daughter!

    Comment by kim burnett | September 19, 2013 | Reply

  9. This book would be great to share with my class. This book is a great way to share differences…embracing and supporting these differences in a positive manner is key :)

    Comment by Alyssa P | September 23, 2013 | Reply

  10. I enjoy teaching children that being different is okay and fun. I’m confused about the message that being home is “The perfect place to relax”.

    Comment by Hazelbear | September 25, 2013 | Reply

  11. My little cousins would love this book- they’re obsessed with turtles! I think it’s important for kids to learn at a young age that everyone is different and special in their own way!

    Comment by Cate C | October 5, 2013 | Reply

  12. Milton sounds like a very considerate turtle. I look forward to finding out how he finds the best spot to relax.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | October 5, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,615 other followers

