Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Halloween Book Review/Giveaway: Lula’s Brew. Ends Oct 31st


About the Author: Elizabeth O. Dulemba, also known as “e-e-e,” is an award-winning author and/or illustrator of fifteen children’s books including Lula’s Brew, Soap, soap, soap and The 12 Days of Christmas in Georgia. She enjoys casting spells on her children’s book community in her roles as Illustrator Coordinator for the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators southern region, as a board member for the Georgia Center for the Book, as a writing and illustration instructor at various universities and venues, and by speaking regularly at schools and events where she mesmerizes her audiences At www.dulemba.com you can find her popular “Coloring Page Tuesday” feature, activities and more information related to her books.

Lula’s Brew by Elizabeth O. Dulemba.

About the Book: Lula’s Aunties want her to be a witch like them. But Lula would rather study cookbooks than spell books (and hates to fly on a broom). Lula wants to be a famous chef. In desperation, the Aunties insist she try to make one last potion. Lula secretly adds her cooking flair and creates a brew that bewitches the entire town, including her Aunties! This fun rhyming tale transcends the typical Halloween story to appeal to cooks and “foodies” throughout the year.

My Review: Lula lives with her three aunties who were known to be the wickedest witches in the land. Their goal was to teach Lula witchery ways and bewitching spells but all Lula wanted to do is become a chef with her own four stars bistro restaurant. Her aunties thought she was studying 30 minutes spells but Lula was busy reading cookbooks and watching food programs. So instead of cooking magical potions that oozed or glowing bright green ghastly drinks, Lula came up with a plan to cook a stew that smells good but with a little twist.

I enjoyed reading this book with soft, cold color illustrations. This is a perfect book to read for Halloween.

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from Xist Publishing in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway (US ONLY)

There will be ONLY 1 Winner

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute! So please leave a helpful comment relating to this book.

PLEASE FOLLOW ALL MANDATORY RULES – Rules not followed will be deleted immediately.

Mandatory: You must leave your comments in the comment field below Don’t forget to leave your email address for contact if you win.

Giveaway Ends October 31st

The winner will be selected via Random.org

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner is #9 – Jany PG

October 11, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , ,

19 Comments »

  1. It sounds like a very interesting book. It sounds like it takes an interesting twist in cooking. We are “chefs” sometimes in our 1st grade class, and this sounds like it would be a good book to add to our classroom library. :-)

    Comment by Barbara K. | October 11, 2012 | Reply

  2. This book sounds great. I love to cook and I am trying to get my kids to want to cook with me but they have no interest. They would rather beat each other up. This book might help them see cooking in a different light.

    Comment by your1chef | October 11, 2012 | Reply

  3. Cooking and rhyming! This would be great for my students!

    Comment by MJ | October 11, 2012 | Reply

  4. This looks like a fun book. I love that the family cooks together in their own special way. Our family cooks together daily.

    Comment by domestic diva | October 11, 2012 | Reply

  5. I love a witch who rebels! I think my adult son would love this book because he is a chef and Lula shares his enthusiasm for everything related to cooking.
    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by tmy56 | October 11, 2012 | Reply

  6. This sounds like a fantastic book. Witches and cooking…what a great idea. The cover is fantastic too. Love it. I definitely need to order this for my library. I think the kiddos would really enjoy it.jennifer@fictitiousmusings.com

    Comment by Jennifer @ Fictitious Musings | October 11, 2012 | Reply

  7. I think my kids would just love this. The srit of Halloween and all. Sounds cute and not to hard to read for my son. There both learning how to read and i would love to win this one for them :)
    elliott2668atyahooDOTcom

    Comment by LorettaLynn | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  8. My children would love this book! What a fantastic idea for a Halloween book!

    Comment by lisa | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  9. Thank you so much for the amazing giveaway as well,
    I love the cover, I guess my niece will enjoy it, She’s a marvelous girl, she’s learning english as a second language, she’s 8 years old, she moved about 3 months to US with her parents and her brother

    Comment by Jany PG | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  10. I love the idea of this that instead of caring about being a witch, Lulu wants to cook. What a fun premise! Thanks, Ella, for always keeping us updated on the vast children’s book world. You do such an important and wonderful job!

    Comment by carol gordon ekster | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  11. I think my cousin would love this book so much!
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Comment by Serena | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  12. Rhymes are so important because the motivate children to read and learn. I’m sure Sidney would love this book because one of her favorite things to do is to help in the kitchen.

    Comment by Kelly Ann T. | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  13. This book cover is brilliant. My grandkids would love this also. Cooking is something they all love to do with their moms and dads. Her website is full of so many interesting topics. Thanks so much for the chance to win this one.
    Carol L

    Comment by Carol L | October 14, 2012 | Reply

  14. I know my kids get a kick our of reading about witches and they already like to cook, so I can see this being a very enjoyable book for them :-)

    Comment by Kristie | October 15, 2012 | Reply

  15. My son is four and is now obsessing over books since he entered PreK at our local elementary school! He loves anything about Halloween. We have been reading the same two over and over and this would be an awesome addition to our collection :) He loves to cook also, so this would bring him a lot of happiness to have two favorite things in one book!

    wilsonre09@students.ecu.edu
    Becca Wilson

    Comment by Rebecca Wilson | October 16, 2012 | Reply

  16. I love the cover. I love that its a twist on your traditional witch stories. Although I’m surprised that cooking isn’t more popular from a witches brew.

    Comment by larissa brunken | October 22, 2012 | Reply

  17. I love books with girls that have a mind of their own!

    Comment by AEKZ2 | October 23, 2012 | Reply

  18. I think my niece would enjoy this..she is growing into her books now.. Thank you for the giveaway

    Comment by Diane S | October 30, 2012 | Reply

  19. Many thanks
    My niece received Lula’s brew book, She’s enjoying it as much as possible, She’s learning new English words from it, It’s an adorable story
    Thank you so much to Ella Johnson and Elizabeth O. Dulemba

    Comment by Jany | December 19, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,615 other followers

