Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: My Grandma & Me. Ends October 30th


My Grandma and Me: Rhyming devotions for you and your grandchild by Crystal Bowman

About the Book: My Grandma and Me is the book every grandmother wants to share with her toddler-age grandchildren. Each devotion includes a scripture, a rhyme explaining the theme of the verse, and an interactive song or prayer. In addition to the fun yet faith-filled words, children will enjoy the sweet full-color art throughout the book that has a nostalgic tone for Grandma. The book closes with additional scriptures grandma can use to pass along her faith: the Lord’s Prayer, Ten Commandments, 23rd Psalm, Beatitudes, and a special prayer for her grandchildren. This delightful book will not only become Grandmother’s favorite, but it will leave a lasting and important impression on the faith development of many toddlers.   The introduction of the book also gives grandmothers who are far-away from their grandkids tips on using the book via phone or Skype.

My Review: Every grandmother loves to spend time with their grand children especially when they are still young. This rhyming devotional book is about God, special verses, prayers and original lyrics to familiar tunes like Twinkle, twinkle, little star. This book will help answer so many questions like “Did God really make me special, Grandma?”

This book will also teach grandmothers how to have a positive influence on the spiritual development of their grandchildren. The interactive text allows you and your grandchildren to recite and memorize short bible verses, sing songs and prayers.

Let your grandchild know that God Made It All – Genesis 1:1 God Cares about You – Matthew 6:30 No More Worries – Philippians 4:6 God Is with You – Psalm 16:8 Pray to God – Psalm 17:6 and many more.

I love this book by Crystal Bowman; it contains The Ten Commandments, Psalm 23, The Lord’s Prayer and A Grandmother’s Prayer and a section on how to use the book.

My best part of this book is explaining to grandmothers how to use online video chat like Skype to communicate face to face with their grandchildren by reading the book and showing them the pictures on the pages. All you have to do is choose a specific time to video chat. And by the way www.skype.com is free.

And like the book said, “Pass along your faith to the precious toddlers and preschoolers in your life”.

What a great illustration by Katherine Kirkland which help bring this book to life.

Pages: 68

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway (US ONLY)

There will be ONLY 1 Winner

Copy will be provided by Tyndale House Publishers

PLEASE FOLLOW ALL MANDATORY RULES – Rules not followed will be deleted immediately.

Mandatory: You must leave your comments in the comment field below.

Don’t forget to leave your email address for contact if you win.

Giveaway Ends October 30th

The winner will be selected via Random.org

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner is #8 – Mel Bourn 

October 2, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. This sounds great for my nieces (ages 4 and 5). Especially since they are just beginning to enjoy church and learning bible verses. My mom would love to read this to my nieces. Thanks for the great review and information regarding this wonderful book!
    rayptc@gmail.com

    Comment by Amanda Ray | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  2. Oh, my mom would love this to read to my kids. they love to visit her because there is always something fun happening at Grandma’s house.

    Comment by Lauren M. | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  3. My kids enjoy spending time with their grandmas and I can imagine this being a wonderful part of their bedtime routine when they stay the night :-)

    Comment by Kristie | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  4. This is a wonderful idea for a book and I know my mom would love to use this with my kids. Thanks!

    Comment by Amy W. | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  5. This would be great to snuggle up and read with my kiddos! :) Thanks for the chance to win!!
    debbiemcmullen@live.ca

    Comment by debbie mcmullen | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  6. Great review Ella. The cover fits my daughter, son and mom (grandma) perfectly. One of most precious memories is when my daughter (5) first said The Lord’s Prayer, she was around 18 months old and she got this concentrating look on her face every time she would say it. The kids go to a Christian school and learn some of the most beautiful songs for their programs. Grandma would love to read this to the kids. Thanks for reviewing this precious book.

    Comment by Christine A. | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  7. My daughter and mom love reading books to each other over Skype when they are apart. This would book would be perfect!
    dominiquealewis@gmail.com

    Comment by Dominique Lewis | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  8. I love stories that emphasize a child’s relationship with other family members. Especially with the elders of our family. That is such an amazing thing.
    mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Mel Bourn (@MelCamino5) | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  9. My Grandma and Me sounds like a wonderful book. I have one grandchild and I would love to share this book with her. Thanks,
    Grandma Kathy

    Comment by Kathy Davis | October 2, 2012 | Reply

  10. We love books that are ‘generation’ stories. Looks like a wonderful story to share between grandmas and granddaughters.

    Comment by lisa | October 3, 2012 | Reply

  11. Aww, what an adorable book! I think I’d give this to my Mother so she could read it to my children!

    daniellepriser(at)mail.com

    Comment by danikatsouros | October 3, 2012 | Reply

  12. What a wonderful book. I love that grandmas can use this to share and begin to teach their grandchildren the biblical truths to start to build a strong biblical foundation.

    Comment by Maryann | October 9, 2012 | Reply

  13. I would love to share this with my grandkids and the idea of Skype is wonderful. A great idea for grandmoms. :)
    Carol L

    Comment by Carol L | October 14, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,609 other followers

