Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks Interview Author Alisha Smith.


About the Author: Alisha Smith is a Christian, a wife, a mother, a teacher, and an author. As a child, she felt an emptiness in her heart. She thought this came from what was lacking in her home environment. Then a childhood friend invited Alisha to church with her family. This is when Alisha realized what she was missing in life was Jesus Christ. She accepted Jesus Christ into her heart and was baptized in the Holy Ghost. She began living for the Lord, but still felt condemned and unsure of her destiny. This all changed when she moved to Wichita, Kansas and joined Revelation Ministries Christian Church. She began to receive the Word by faith that Apostle Cornelius Sanders II was preaching. He taught her how to walk by faith and be successful in life. He shared that life comes with temptations and challenges, but we can overcome these obstacles through our obedience to God and the Word.  Her life is now filled with joy and love for others. She has obtained and accomplished more than she ever dreamed was possible. Now, Alisha desires for everyone to know that God is real, He loves them very much, and that He has a plan for their life. She hopes that her books will inspire others and reveal to them that they are more than what they see. http://www.tatepublishing.com/bookstore/book.php?w=978-1-62024-478-4

Interview with Alisha Smith author of More Than What I See.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog
What is the last book you read?

My daughter and I just finished reading the Wizard of Oz. We had a lot of fun comparing it and the movie.

What was your favorite children’s book?

My favorite children’s book was Green Eggs and Ham because my teacher actually made us green eggs and ham to eat.

What were your earliest memories of writing?

My earliest memory of writing is creating poems that represented how I was feeling. I wrote about the people I cared about and how I felt about the world around me.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

I wasn’t encouraged to write; it’s just an activity that I enjoy.

Do you generally get a story idea first or does the main character develop first?

The moral of the story always comes first. My purpose for writing is to improve the life of the reader.

What inspired you to write More Than What I See?

My inspiration for “More Than What I See” came from my desire for everyone to know that they are loved and that they are here for a purpose. I do not want people depressed and discouraged. I want them to know that they can accomplish what is in their heart.

Are you working on a new book?

I have determined the theme for my next book and am researching further information on the topic.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

The most difficult part of writing is using language that the reader can relate to.

Do you write full time or do you still have a day job?

I am a 5th grade teacher.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

If I receive a bad review, I take the thoughts from the critique and use them to improve my writing. I can only write when the anointing to write is upon me.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

I pray that the readers will know that they are loved and they can be the person they want to be. They are valuable and important.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

Dr. Cornelius Sanders II, Holly Bea, and Paul (Bible).

What author inspires you the most and why?

Dr. Cornelius Sanders inspires me the most because of his passion and love for God. Also, he is able to explain the Bible in real life terms so I understand how it applies to me and what I need to do in my walk with Christ.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

In order to accomplish my goals I set a schedule. Then I get into a routine that allows me to reach my goal.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

I suggest that parents allow children to read for both knowledge and pleasure. Children should be reading books with topics they enjoy.

What advice you would give to new writers?

Don’t give up. Keep pursuing your dreams.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

Thank you for taking time to learn more about my book and me. I pray that God will bless you and that you know that you are loved and are more than what you see.

Thank you for this interview.

August 15, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. saince the author teaches 5th grade I think herbgoal to let everyone know that they are loved is a good one.

    Comment by nylne | August 16, 2012 | Reply

  2. The author has a strong faith. This is a great way to share that faith with children. It is important to show children how we faithfully use the talents God gave us.

    Comment by Cherese Vines | August 17, 2012 | Reply

  3. Mrs. Smith is a positive role model and her interview is enjoyable to read. My children also love Green Eggs and Ham and their teachers have served that as a snack as well. :)

    Comment by Mindy S | August 18, 2012 | Reply

  4. I think it’s great that she comes up with a message that she thinks children should hear and write about that. I think the message in the book is wonderful and definitely would be a book that we would read on a regular basis :-)

    Comment by Kristie | August 18, 2012 | Reply

  5. What a great interview. I really enjoyed reading it. The whole message is so important in the book. What better way to let our kids know that it doesn’t matter what goes wrong , we’re still going to love them.
    Carol L.

    Comment by Carol L. | August 18, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,568 other followers

