Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks Interview Author Tony Samuel


 

Tony Samuel is a marketing professional/writer and music industry veteran. He is the CEO/Founder of Talented Books – For Talented Kids Worldwide. Tony has extensive experience in media consulting, artist, management and promotion/publicity. He has an extensive record of music journalism, interviewing countless artists, managers and record company executives. As the NYC executive/Senior Writer for Insomniac Magazine, he has been involved in all aspects of publishing, promotions and anniversary conferences/parties.
He created a small street team and was the face of Insomniac for over 8 years in NYC and the tri-state area. He engineered Insomniac Magazine’s presence in over 87 NYC newsstands over a four-year period. He has a B.S. in Business Marketing from University of Phoenix (3.8 GPA) and a M.A. from Bellevue University School of Professional Studies, graduating with a 4.0 GPA.
Tony’s most important accomplishment is being a father to his beloved Nadia Rachael. Nadia has a very rare chromosome disorder known as Phelan McDermid Syndrome (PMS). He is a proud member of the PMS fundraising committee and has earmarked 50% of the profits from the sale of his book to the Phelan McDermid Syndrome Foundation. Like Nelson Mandela, he believes one person can make a difference. The long walk to freedom is at times lonely and filled with obstacles, yet obstacles are opportunities…kick them down and keep moving!

This first adventure of Princess Nadia is a positive story with a great character. Will You Play With Me? The Adventures Of Princess Nadia is full of fun and action.  http://talentedbooks.com/pages/about-our-people

 

Tony Samuel is the author of Will You Play With Me? The Adventures of Princess Nadia

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

Thank you for having me.  It is my honor.

 

What is the last book you read?

The Early Bird by Richard Scarry…about 10 minutes ago.  It’s my daughter Nadia’s favorite book.  Also, I am currently reading A Hand To Guide Me by Denzel Washington.

 

What was your favorite children’s book?

I always enjoyed the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew and Encyclopedia Brown books.   Mysteries were always a passion.  I was always a thinker, so mysteries were my passion.

 

What were your earliest memories of writing?

I remember writing poetry and writing long papers when I was in school.

 

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

It just came naturally.  Writing is cathartic and it helps me to focus.

 

Do you generally get a story idea first or does the main character develop first? 

The story comes first normally and then the characters follow.

 

What inspired you to write Will You Play With Me? The Adventures of Princess Nadia?

I always had a passion for writing; therefore it served as an impetus to raise awareness/funds for the Phelan McDermid Syndrome Foundation.  Additionally, I had a vision of creating something beautiful for talented kids worldwide.  It was very important for me to have a strong African American female character…therefore my daughter Nadia became the hero of the story.  It is part of my legacy for my beloved Nadia.

 

Are you working on a new book?

Yes, it is already done…just working on the illustration concepts.

 

What is the most difficult part of writing?

Staying focused with my busy schedule.  Sometimes I will go weeks without writing anything and then I get the urge to start writing for hours.

 

Do you write full time or do you still have a day job?

I still have a day job.  Most of my writing is done late into the night when the house is calm and everyone is asleep.

 

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

I know my limitations and I know my talents.  One of the most important books I ever read was Emotional Intelligence by Daniel Goleman.  It is easy to criticize, but making a difference takes courage.  As it relates to writers block, I have never succumbed to this malady.  When I feel like writing, the words flow effortlessly.

 

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

The story of Princess Nadia shows what we seek, is at times something we already have.  Kids and adults are always after that elusive “thing”…whatever it may be…and not taking the time to appreciate what we already have.  Princess Nadia is looking for a friend, but she failed to realize her friend was at her side throughout her adventure.  We all at times take things for granted…not realizing the benefits we have in abundance.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

Dr. King’s autobiography has always moved me.  He was not only a great orator, but his diction was quite eloquent.  Dr. King was a great poet.  Nelson Mandela’s Long Walk To Freedom is another great tour de force.  I would love to meet him too.  On the business book front, I enjoyed Good To Great and Built To Last.  I would love to meet Jim Collins and discuss his process for writing great business books.  I have a few leadership theories that will end up in a book one day…it is a work in progress!

 

What author inspires you the most and why?

I enjoy motivational books and books that have a positive message.  The power of the written word to create change, start revolutions and to even bring about happiness continues to amaze me.

 

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

When I lay down a plan or strategy, it is something that I try to complete on time.  Obstacles are to be knocked down…that is my philosophy.

 

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

Read the book first before you decide to give it to your child.  Make sure the books have lively and colorful pictures.  Always have a lot of books around the house and above all, make sure you read to your kids a lot!

 

What advice you would give to new writers?

Write and then write some more.  Never let obstacles stop you from doing what you are passionate about…critics are a dime a dozen.  Make it happen!

 

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

Will You Play With Me? The Adventures Of Princess Nadia is for talented kids worldwide.  50% of the profits will be donated to www.22Q13.org.  Donations can also be made directly by visiting www.22Q13.org.  I can be reached at rescue1one@aol.com.  Thank you for your time and the opportunity to spread the word.  You are doing great work.

 

Thank you for this interview.

July 10, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Tony, you are such an accomplished man. I love the idea behind your book “Will You Play With Me ? The Adventures of Princess Nadia. Congrats on your book.
    Carol L.
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | July 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,604 other followers

