Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks Interview Author Karen Shragg


Karen has many loves, but most include nature and teaching about nature. As a teacher and director of Wood Lake Nature Center in Richfield she is able to work at her passion for making the world a more sustainable place by exposing children to how nature works. Writing, however, is a way to reach more children than can be reached in the many programs she teaches along with her fellow naturalists. One of her great motivations for writing is the thought that while teaching a pond study class in Minnesota, someone could be reading one of her books in another part of the country.

Karen completed a doctorate in critical pedagogy from the Universityof St. Thomasin Minneapolis because of her interest in social justice. Her first children’s book, A Solstice Tree for Jenny (Prometheus Books, 2001), is a reflection of her desire to publish children’s books which provide understanding and common ground between all people.

Her most recent books are written with her close friend and fellow naturalist Lee Ann Landstrom: Nature’s Yucky! 2, the Desert Southwest (Mountain Press, 2007) and Nature’s Yucky, Gross Stuff that Helps Nature Work (Mountain Press, 2003).

Other books Karen has written or co-written with Stan Tekiela: Plantworks (Adventure Publications, 1991), Start Mushrooming (Adventure Publications, 1993), Nature Smart (Adventure Publications, 1995), and Tree Stories, A Collection of Extraordinary Encounters (cowritten with Warren Jacob and published by Sunshine Press). Her poem “Think Like a Tree” appeared in the anthology The Tree That Time Built in 2009.

In addition Karen conducts children’s literature seminars in order to communicate with potential authors on how to focus on the message contained in their manuscripts, (NAI National Interpreter’s Association Conference 2002, 2003, and the Children’s Literature Conference, University of St. Thomas, 2001.)

 

Karen Shragg is the author of The Eric Hoffer Award winning book Lucy’s Hero: Remembering Paul Wellstone and Nature’s Yucky! 2

 

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

 

What is the last book you read? The Last Flight of the Scarlet Macaws

What was your favorite children’s book? A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’engle

What were your earliest memories of writing? In third grade I told my mother I wanted to be a writer

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? Both, words do just pop into my head AND I am encouraged by those in my life

Do you generally get a story idea first or does the main character develop first? I believe in a process I call MESSAGE WRITING, so I start from what I want to say

What inspired you to write Lucy’s Hero Remembering Paul Wellstone?   I knew and worked for Paul Wellstone, I wanted his legacy to continue to inspire children                           

Are you working on a new book? Yes. I just finished Elisia and the Maya Forest Garden , but it is searching for a publisher and Nature’s Yucky 3 Animals of the Eastern Region Is due out from Mountain Press later this year.

What is the most difficult part of writing? The most difficult part of writing is carving out the time to do it when you feel creative

Do you write full time or do you still have a day job? I run a nature center full time which is my other passion

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?  I have had few bad ones, luckily, but I consider them as feedback and try to do better if I feel the critique is valid.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book? I hope they will see that we all can make a difference like Paul believed.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? Lynne Cherry, I love her work and Eve Bunting, I have spoken to them both, but not dined with them

What author inspires you the most and why? I love Byrd Baylor’s books and collect them all.. her perspective to love nature speaks to me, I’d like to dine with her as well.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? Every once and a while I try to get away to a hotel, lock myself in there, order room service and write write write… it’s too distracting to write at home

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? Look at a book’s message, what is it saying? Is that what you want for your child? Be sure to discuss it afterwards. ( example The Salamander Room, has a message that animals need to be left in the wild)

What advice you would give to new writers?  My advice is to write from your heart and be clear about what you want to say through the voice of your characters.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? Yes: I believe that children’s literature is a wonderful tool for introducing children to new ideas and concepts without lecturing them. It is important to encourage reading to them and by them Because it helps to build their vocabulary and other learning skills in ways that computer learning does not. I try to put books out into the world that parents and children can read over and over. Again and still get new things out of them.

Thank you for this interview.

Thanks so much

July 2, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I have not read any of the authors work, but after reading the interview I am going to look at some in the library for my boys. It seems that all of the books have a message and are fun to read. In my opinion a win- win.

    Comment by Julie Rupert | July 2, 2012 | Reply

  2. Thanks Ella for sharing these titles with your bloggers.
    Much appreciated..
    I just published a work that those who have been touched by grief might want, its called, GRIEVING OUTSIDE THE BOX, Stories of Hope and Resilience… can be googled on Amazon…

    Comment by Karen Shragg | July 2, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hi Karen
    I’m going to check out your books because I too believe reading teaches our children more then the computer can. It’s so important to start them as early as possible. I’m also going to look into your book “Grieving Outside The Box”. Thank you so much for the type of books you write.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | July 2, 2012 | Reply

  4. She sounds like such a good author; will have to check out her books – I think my children would be very interested.

    Comment by lisa | July 2, 2012 | Reply

  5. I am from Mn too! I think it is so wonderful that you are teaching kids the importance of nature. Thanks!

    Comment by lLarissa Brunken | July 4, 2012 | Reply

    • HI thanks, Nature’s Yucky 3 Animals of the Eastern Region is in the works for later this year.. more yucky reasons to realize nature is grand

      Comment by karen shragg | July 6, 2012 | Reply

  6. Thank you so much for your site. Finding books can get quite overwhelming at times. We enjoy fun silly books, however, my 6 y.o. daughter likes to read more informational books. She’s a girly girl who loves nature, animals, & bugs. And I’m a strong believer in early learning. This book looks like it will satisfy us both.

    Comment by Daya Rouse | July 14, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Daya,
      How sweet, It has certainly been popular with those who like fun and silly books, especially when they are TRUE.. I think kids tire of silliness that is all fantasy and nature is full of several lifetimes full of interesting facts.. thanks so much for writing

      Comment by karen shragg | July 14, 2012 | Reply

  7. I love nature also and I think it’s great you’re able to write about it and run a nature center for a living.

    Comment by likwan | July 24, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,553 other followers

