Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Author/Book Spotlight & Giveaway: Savage (Daughters of the Jaguar) Ends July 19th.


 

About the Author: Willow Rose writes YA Paranormal Romance, fantasy and mystery. Originally from Denmark she now lives on Florida’s Space Coast with her husband and two daughters. She is a huge fan of Anne Rice and Isabel Allende. When she is not writing or reading she enjoys watching the dolphins play in the waves of the Atlantic Ocean.


About the Book: Savage (Daughters of the Jaguar): The year is 1983. Christian is 22 years old when he leaves his home in Denmark to spend a year in Florida with a very wealthy family and go to med-school. A joyful night out with friends is shattered by an encounter with a savage predator that changes his life forever. Soon he faces challenges he had never expected. A supernatural gift he has no idea how to embrace. A haunting family in the house next door. A spirit-filled girl who seems to carry all the answers. An ancient secret hidden in the swamps of Florida. One life never the same. One love that becomes an obsession. Two destinies that will be forever entangled. http://www.willow-rose.blogspot.com/

Ages: 16 and up

Pages: 239

Mymcbooks Interview with Author Willow Rose.

 
I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog. The pleasure is mine.

What is the last book you read? I have just finished “Water for Elephants” by Sara Grue. I enjoyed it immensely even though I had already seen the movie.

What was your favorite book? As a child I loved “The Neverending Story” by Michael Ende. I loved the imagination and it made me start using mine. I have never stopped since.

What were your earliest memories of writing? I have always told stories to whoever would listen. In school I remember sitting in class during recess and telling stories to my friends making them forget that they were about to go out and play. Even my teacher would often listen in as well. I love spellbinding my audience.
 
Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? I had a great teacher as a young kid. He would listen in when I told stories to my friends and he told me to keep it up and to write them down. I wrote several notebooks filled with stories that he read. He encouraged me a lot. I went on to become a journalist and wrote my first novel when I was 28. It was published by one of the big Danish publishing houses.

Do you generally get a story idea first or does the main character develop first? The story and the characters come to me. I like to say that they “pop up” in my head. That is the best way I can describe it. The characters are just there all of a sudden and then they start to do stuff and talk to other people and soon there is a whole story that I simply have to tell or else I will burst. I simply adore the characters from Savage and I know everybody else will too. They are so lovable. I have a hard time letting go of them. I will write three books about the main character Christian.  It is sort of a family-saga really. In the first book he is in his twenties and so is the woman he falls in love with. In the second book they have kids of their own and are in their thirties. In the last book they will have young teenagers. I am also planning on doing a book about Aiyana, the spirit-filled Native American girl that he falls hopelessly in love with. About her and when she first discovers who she really is. I might also do a book about her sister who does telekinesis and their grand-mother who predicts natural disasters. I love those characters so much that they each deserve their own book.

What inspired you to write Savage the first book in the series Daughters of the Jaguar? It is actually inspired by my husbands story. When he was 19 he was shipped off to Florida by his parents to live with a very wealthy family over here. That changed his life and formed him into the man he is today. The rest of the story isn’t his, though, that’s just my imagination. I was also very inspired by my daughters. I have two young ones and one grown-up stepdaughter. I have actually dedicated the book to all of them. Because they are so beautifully innocent and magical. Just like the women in this book.

Are you working on a new book? I am currently writing the second book in this series. I hope to have it out in the fall.

What is the most difficult part of writing? The promotion is probably the hardest part. I don’t like having to be pushy and try to sell my product. I am not a salesperson, I really don’t like it. But if you want to sell books and make a living of it you have to do that part as well. The rest I love. I adore becoming one with my manuscript. I love getting to know my characters better and creating this world of my own that the reader gets a peek into.

Do you write full time or do you still have a day job? I write full-time. I stopped being a journalist when I had my first child. Today I am glad I did. I love writing so much more. It has brought me so much joy.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block? I am happy to say that I have never had writer’s block. At least not yet. I am filled with stories that I want to have out. But like most writers I have had bad reviews. I have learned to not write to please people. I have to write the story that I love with the characters that I adore and then be prepared to take whatever beating that awaits. It’s just part of the game. There will always be someone who doesn’t like your book.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book? I just received a wonderful heartfelt review yesterday where the reader said that the book made her think about the message to a point where she was stunned. I was so happy to read that because that is all you can ask for as a writer. That’s what it is all about. In this book it is the message about being yourself and not trying to be what everybody else thinks you should be. Christian the main character struggles a lot with that since his father wants him to become a doctor and he really doesn’t want to go to med-school and become like his father.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? Anne Rice. I love her books.

What author inspires you the most and why? Right now it is Anne Rice. I love her characters and the way she builds up her story.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? I set deadlines. I have to write at least five pages a day or between four and five thousand words.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? Chose some that will make them use their imagination. That’s what got me started.

What advice you would give to new writers? Write, write and then write some more. The more you write the better you get. And never listen to anyone who thinks you can’t do it.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? Just that I think they’ll fall completely in love with the characters in Savage. I know I have.

Thank you for this interview.

 

Giveaway

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Author will give one e-book and one signed paperback copy of Savage

 

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner selected by Random.org to win a copy

Giveaway Ends July 19th.

Mandatory: Please leave your comment about the interview, book and your email address in the comment field below.

Comments without email address will be deleted.

 

 This Giveaway Has Ended!

 

Winners are #2 & 1

Amanda Ray and Denise Z

June 25, 2012 - Posted by | Author and Book Spotlight, Free Giveaways | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I was going through my emails this morning and I saw the one for this post. Thinking it was about a different book, one that I have and am planning to read, I almost past up reading the post because of time constraints today. However, I thought to myself let’s see what Ella has to say about it LOL and am I glad I did. You are a new (to me) author and it was a treat to read the post and about Daughters of the Jaguar, which is certainly intriguing. I hopped over to Amazon and see you also have another series, which I will be checking out, but my question is was it difficult to switch gears for you into the new series and do you miss your characters from Afterlife? Thank you so much for sharing with us today and for the generous giveaway opportunity.
    dz59001[at]gmail[dot]com

    Comment by Denise Z | June 25, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Denise. I am glad you decided to read this post after all. It wasn’t difficult for me to switch gears and write about completely other characters. They each have their own life and are very unique. The story in Savage is very different from the story I wrote in the Afterlife-series. It is more adult as well. I do miss my earlier characters, but I am not yet finished with them. The Afterlife-story is not done and I am planning on writing a fourth book later on. First I am going to write the first three books in this series “Daughters of the jaguar”. I am really in love with these characters especially the women in this series so I will not be able to let them go some time soon. I hope I managed to answer your question. Thank you for your interest in my books! Willow

      Comment by Willow Rose | June 25, 2012 | Reply

  2. The book sounds interesting from the review. The interview was great! I love the fact that the character Christian is faced with choosing a differing path from that which his family would like for him to do. I am looking forward to reading the book.
    email addy: rayptc@gmail.com

    Comment by Amanda Ray | June 25, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Amanda. Thank you for your interest as well. I love that he is struggling with that too. And he will be throughout most of the series. He is torn between the world of science and the world of magic where you have to believe in things you haven’t seen. It has been interesting for me to follow his journey through this struggle. Thanks for commenting and entering the giveaway. Willow.

      Comment by Willow Rose | June 25, 2012 | Reply

  3. thanks for the give away

    Comment by nylne | June 25, 2012 | Reply

  4. Thank you for the giveaway:) sounds really good, and i can’t wait to read it!
    elliott2668(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by LorettaLynn | June 26, 2012 | Reply

  5. Savage sounds like a very interesting book. I love that the main character has choices and what they decide chides their path. This is true in life too. Thanks for a chance!

    Comment by Larissa brunken | June 26, 2012 | Reply

  6. Willow sounds like a very creative and imaginative person. I look forward to reading about Christian and his adventures.

    mslilyk@hotmail.com

    Comment by likwan | July 19, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,566 other followers

