Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Summer Fit P-K – 5th Grade. Ends June 18th


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Summer Fit written by Kelly Terrill and Sarria James

About the books: Summer Fit PK – 5th Grade contains grade appropriate, basic skill activities in reading, writing, math and language arts. The daily fitness component is a fun and easy-to-use exercise routine that gets children moving on a daily basis and is designed to help children build healthy exercise habits while away from school. Children choose from Aerobic, Strength and Sport activities using a Fitness Index developed by professional trainers, school coaches and parents. Exercises are reinforced online with videos that show children performing each of the different exercises.

Weekly core value activities and exercises are a resource for parents and guardians to use in talking about and teaching good character and values. Each week a different value is introduced and reinforced using real world examples of a person who represents that value.

Summer Fit is the most comprehensive summer workbook available and provides parents with the tools and the motivation to develop the physical and social well being of their child as well as the academic. Summer Fit includes online games to reinforce basic skills in reading, writing and language arts. http://summerfitlearning.com/

My Review: School is out and the summer holiday has begun. What best way to keep your children active than the Summer Fit Workbooks. The Summer Fit workbooks range from P-K to 5th Grade Levels. The activities and exercises in Summer Fit will take just 20-30 minutes a day to complete. Each day offers a simple and fun routine that reinforces skills not only in reading, math, language arts, and physical fitness plus a weekly core value, but basic history and geography as well.

I have never come across a workbook that incorporates reading, writing, math with fitness and nutrition. The daily fitness program consists of 2 Aerobic days, 2 Strength days and 1 Sport day.

The books are appropriate for each grade level, focusing on basics that will keep students involved with different activities and keep them ahead when school starts.

If you are looking for something to keep your child active this summer, then SUMMERFITwould be something to consider.  Summer Fit is the exercise book for your child’s brain and body while they are away from school. The activities are interesting, fun and educational. Like the book says, “prepare children mentally, physically and socially for the grade ahead!”

Summer Fit is the most comprehensive summer workbook and as a former teacher I highly recommend them.

Ages: 5 and up

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

 

Giveaway (US ONLY)

There will be ONLY 1 Winner

Winner will win 2 books

Do Not forget to write your selection of two books in your comments. No selection made we will make the selection for you. P-K, K-1, 1-2, 2-3, 3-4, 4-5

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute! So please leave a helpful comment relating to this book.

PLEASE FOLLOW ALL MANDATORY RULES – Rules not followed will be deleted immediately.

Mandatory: You must leave your comments in the comment field below Don’t forget to leave your email address for contact if you win.

Giveaway Ends June 18th

The winner will be selected via Random.org

 

 

 

For Blog Tour visit  Media Guests Blog Tours

 

This Giveaway Has Ended!

 

For a list of Winners click http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/category/giveaway-winners/

June 11, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. Like the book second to third grade for my granddaughters who are going in those in September
    Glorwal64@gmail.com

    Comment by Gloria walshver | June 11, 2012 | Reply

  2. What a great set of books! I like that they incorporate values and exercise along with the reading, writing, etc. The P-K would be great for my son and the K-1 would be nice for my daughter :-)

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | June 11, 2012 | Reply

  3. I haven’t seen these books like these in a while. My older boys used to have summer workbooks and I loved them. I would love the grade 4-5 book for my son. He is in 4th grade now and loves to keep busy.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Melissa Bourn (@MelCamino5) | June 11, 2012 | Reply

    • oops! I forgot my youngest son..He is in 2nd grade! Yikes! growing too fast :) He would very much love the 2-3 book. He has struggled in math and I can see these helping him stay fresh and introducing more concepts.
      Thanks
      Mel
      bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

      Comment by Melissa Bourn (@MelCamino5) | June 11, 2012 | Reply

  4. This is great! I always look for activities my kids can do to review math and reading through the summer, and now it includes fitness. It’s a great idea. P-K and K-1 would be great for my two sons in school.

    Comment by Naomie | June 11, 2012 | Reply

  5. Thanks for the great giveaway! My son is starting school next year and has to be tested to get in, so any prep work is great! I like the P-K and the K-1.
    candicesweeps at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Candice Hull | June 11, 2012 | Reply

  6. My daughter needs something like these. She struggles the school year and needs extra practice during the summer. It is hard to find s good workbook.
    I think I have to buy some….winning would be greater!
    We would choose grades 1-2 and 2-3

    Hopefully they make 6th soon…

    Thank you for sharing!

    Comment by Larissa brunken | June 11, 2012 | Reply

  7. My son would love to have this kind of book to work on his skills over the summer! He would need the P-K and K-1. Thank you so much for this awesome opportunity!

    Comment by Kelly Beam Brown | June 11, 2012 | Reply

  8. I’ve been looking for workbooks for my two children but it’s hard to find one that incorporates many subjects; most of the workbooks are one subject only so I would have to buy several. The Summer Fit series is exactly what I’ve been looking for. My children would need 1-2 and 2-3. Thank you for this giveaway!

    Comment by Mindy S | June 12, 2012 | Reply

  9. I love these type of workbooks. I haven’t ever seen them with so much content though. K-1 AND 1-2 for grandkids. Thank you.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | June 12, 2012 | Reply

  10. I love that these workbooks are combining healthy minds with healthy bodies and exercise for kids. Its great that they can get up and get moving both physically and mentally. I would love grade 1-2 or 3-4.

    Comment by Maryann | June 13, 2012 | Reply

  11. I LOVE workbooks and this one sounds well-rounded, covering all that I would want to cover over a Summer without a crazy amount of lesson planning. I would love P-K and 3-4, because that covers three of my kiddos! ilovemeinekinderatyahoodotcom

    Comment by Tamera Westhoff | June 13, 2012 | Reply

  12. My grandkids love workbooks. The girls especially like to play school. These workbooks sound great, love that they include fitness & nutrition. I would choose 3-4 & 4-5.

    Comment by tmy56 | June 16, 2012 | Reply

  13. Learning reinforcement during the summer is very important in one’s educational progress. I would choose 3-4 and 4-5.

    Comment by likwan | June 18, 2012 | Reply

  14. These books would be perfect because I am trying to keep my daughter active both physically and mentally this summer.

    Comment by Jeryl M. | June 19, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,516 other followers

