Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Polka-dot Fixes Kindergarten. Ends June 22nd


 

Polka-dot Fixes Kindergarten by Catherine Urdahl and illustrated by Mai S. Kemble

About the Book: With her fix-it-kit in tow, Polka-dot is ready for her first day of kindergarten. Or is she? Duct tape, runny soap and dotted bandages worked wonders for Polka-dot’s scrapes and snafus at home. But they’re not quite a match for her kindergarten catastrophes. And when it comes to dealing with stripe-loving, mean-mount Liz, Polka-dot finds herself in a fix that requires something more…

 
My Review: Polka-dot’s grandpa fixes everything for her. When her favorite dress was torn her grandpa would mend it with duct tape, when she smeared her ladybug tattoo, he scrubbed it off with runny soap and when she fell he was there to put a dotted bandage on her wound.

On her first day of kindergarten her grandpa gives her a fix-it kit to take to school. Unfortunately, things didn’t seem to go too well for Polka-dot. During art class things got messy and Polka-dot decided to fix it by using runny soap but the mess just got messier. And she had to deal with mean mouth Liz, who kept picking on her. When Liz’ dress got ripped on at the playground Polka-dot knew what to do. She took the duct tape out of her fix-it kit and stuck the tape on Liz’s ripped dress. Mean girl Liz and Polka-dot became friends and worked together in art class.

Children can be mean but there is always one who will stand up to a bully with kindness. This is a perfect book not only for the home but for classroom reading. The watercolor and pencil illustrations by Mai Kemble helps bring the story to life.  A highly recommend book for children of all ages.

Ages: 4 and up

Pages: 32

 
FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway (US ONLY)

There will be ONLY 1 Winner

Ends June 22th, 2012

Winner will be selected using Random.org

 PLEASE FOLLOW ALL MANDATORY RULES – Rules not followed will be deleted immediately.

Mandatory: You must leave your comments in the comment field below Don’t forget to leave your email address for contact if you win.

 
Mandatory Entry: Click on the author’s interview link and leave a comment

http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/mymcbooks-interview-author-catherine-urdahl/#comments

 

 

This Giveaway Has Ended

 

The Winner is #11 Marilyn H

June 8, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. I really like the idea presented in this book that it is possible for children to fix at least some of their own problems, this book sounds like a great way to introduce that idea.

    hg195 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Heidi Grange | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  2. What an interesting way to approach the bullying problem! First of all, it’s grandpa and grandaughter. Then there’s a fix-it kit for her to take to school. I think this book could really help a child who is being bullied or one who has the capacity to help another child — and they all do! puttputt1198eve(at)comcast(dot)net

    Comment by Mary Ann Woods | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  3. Another great lesson for the children but a very important one. Catherine created a unique way to handle the “mean” problem and bullying.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  4. I love when kids are empowered to solve things on their own. Such a powerful skill to have. My niece is going to be in kindergarten this year and this would be a wonderful book to start with. Thanks.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Melissa Bourn (@MelCamino5) | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  5. Oh your book sounds great. I think I had a child in my room this past year who would have benefited from me reading this book for sure. She was shy-just like you were! I teach Kindergarten and so many things can be taught and explained with a good ole book to read aloud to the students. I sure wish I had known about this book so I could have read it to my class! Thanks for using your talent to create great books for kids and teachers!

    kellybrown28021 at gmail dot com

    Comment by Kelly Beam Brown | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  6. I like that Polka-dot has been absorbing lessons from her grandpa and puts them to good use in school. My granddaughter is entering kindergarden in the fall & I think a book like this would give her a boost of confidence for dealing with new situations that she will encounter.

    Comment by tmy56 | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  7. I like that Polka-dot had a firm foundation with her Grandpa’s love and knowledge. I like how it addressed the bullying problem. It showed that while the bully wanted to be important, Polka-dot knew it was more important to be nice. She learned how to solve her own problem. which helped build her esteem and self confidence.

    Comment by Maryann | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  8. I liked that the author is inspired by one of my favorite children’s books : Charlotte’s Web. That was the first book I remember crying over!

    Comment by Nancy | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  9. My daughter is just finishing up kindergarten, but I am sure she would enjoy this book.

    Comment by Jeryl M. | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  10. Cute book! I would love this book for my mother who is a kindergarten teacher.

    Comment by Mary M | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  11. My granddaughter is going into Kindergarten and I know she would enjoy this book!

    Comment by Marilyn H | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  12. My granddaughter would enjoy and learn from this book. She will be going to kindergarten in a short whilr.

    Comment by Ron Marsh | June 12, 2012 | Reply

  13. I love that the book encourages kids to do things on their own. Yet it teaches sometimes you need help. Great lesson!

    Comment by Larissa brunken | June 14, 2012 | Reply

  14. I commented as timesurge , i can’t wait to read books like this to my daughter when she’s born
    contact email: tsgiveaways(at)hotmail.com

    Comment by timesurge | June 20, 2012 | Reply

  15. Polka-dot sounds like a spirited and kind person. I look forward to reading about her adventures!

    Comment by likwan | June 22, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,423 other followers

