Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks Interview Author Camy De Mario


Camy De Mario was born and raised in Milan, Italy on March 27, 1965. She studied and graduated in “Foreign Languages” with English, French and German. At the age of thirty she moved to Florida in the United States.  She is now a creative author and illustrator of children’s books.  She presently resides in a small island of the Bahamas with her husband and their youngest children, ten year old twins.

In the surrounding of this peaceful life, she developed the idea of a series dedicated to Happy, a red sea star, and his love for traveling to discover a whole new world. http://www.theworldofhappy.co

Interview with Camy De Mario author of The World of Happy Let’s All Be Friends.

 
I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

 
What is the last book you read?

“The Power of Now” by Eckart Tolle. So inspirational!

What were your earliest memories of writing?

I remember at a very young age, probably between 5 and 6 years old, sitting at the desk in my room and spending the entire afternoon drawing imaginary characters. Later I would ask my family to sit down as an audience and I would tell a story about those characters. That was the beginning of my passion!

What was your favorite children’s book?

I grew up in Italy, and I lived for a while nearby the town of Collodi, in Tuscany. When I was a child I would go and visit the town and a small amusement park named after the famous author Carlo Collodi who was the creator of “Pinocchio”, my favorite children’s book.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

It came natural, but I also have to thank my family for their strong encouragement.

Are you working on a new book?

Yes. The World of Happy is born as a series. I’m presently working on the second story with much more new funny characters.

 
What inspired you to write The World of Happy-Let’s all be Friends and how did you come up with each character?

It happened one beautiful sunny day, during a walk at the beach with my ten year old twins, on a small island of the Bahamas, where I relocated from Florida four years ago, with my husband and our youngest children. Suddenly we saw something special. It was the most gorgeous red sea star I have ever seen in my entire life! I was aware that sea stars are living creatures and move around quick and easily. My children named the sea star “Happy”. 

Back home, at night, I imagined my character Happy, the red sea star, traveling around to discover a whole new world out there and meet new friends. Once I decided the message I wanted to share, each character took shape easily.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

To choose the topic of your story, especially when you write for young children. After that is decided, anything else flows easily.
Do you write full time or do you still have a day job?

I consider myself very lucky to be able to write full time and concentrate on my new career.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

So far so good…“Happy” hasn’t had any!

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

I hope that readers, because we now live in a multicultural society, will learn  how important is to accept and respect diversity, through a fun and colorful story.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

Still alive or not some of my favorites are: J. K. Rowling, Beatrix Potter, Walt Disney, because of their fascinated lives and talents.  

What author inspires you the most and why?

Walt Disney has been and always will be my mentor. We share the love for animation, something that I plan to develop one day with “The World of Happy”. 

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

I stay focused on my goals and I try not to overload myself with too many daily  schedules. I like to surround myself with positive energy and live one project at the time. I exercise, meditate and spend quality time with friends and family.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

As a parent of young children, I understand the struggle on choosing the right book for them to read. While respecting their own interests, I try to encourage them with something positive and educational.

What advice you would give to new writers?

At the end of the day it’s all about telling a great story. With lots of patience and perseverance your work will be appreciated, so don’t give up!  

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

I’d like to thank anyone who took the time to read my interview. The recognition and appreciation of my work is what makes me feel I have given something special back to the world.

May 11, 2012 Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , | 15 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,578 other followers

