Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Alex and Tony Learn To Be Gentlemen. Ends March 17th


Alex and Tony Learn To Be Gentlemen by Antonee Boykin and Illustrated by Dia Reddo

About the Book: Alex and Tony are observant seven-year-old twin brothers who admire their parents and are constantly learning from them both. One morning during breakfast when Tony decides to ask their dad why he always gets a chair for their mom to sit in, he and Alex both learn a valuable lesson about what it means to be a gentleman. It isn’t until later that day at school when the boys are able to actually put dad’s lesson to use, and experience what it feels like to be gentlemen.

My Review: This book is a great start for young children to have the knowledge on how to behave among other people. It teaches boys how to conduct themselves as gentlemen. After Alex and Tony learned a valuable lesson about what it means to be a gentleman, they decided to put the lesson to use when Crystal tripped over her book bag in class. They rushed to her side to help her while the other kids in the class burst out laughing.

A well written book by the author and great illustrations by Dia Reddo which help tell the story and bring the book to life with its water-like crayon colors. I highly recommend this book for parents to read to their children and for classroom teaching.

Pages: 32

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.

Giveaway Rules

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There will be 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by Random.org

Giveaway Ends March 17th.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer

http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/giveaway-guidelines-disclaimer/

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: First leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there.

http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2012/02/27/mymcbooks-interview-author-antonee-boykin/#respond

 

Do Not Forget to Click the Link

above to leave Your Comment

about the interview also!

 

This Giveaway Has Ended!

 

Winner is #2 – Lisa

February 28, 2012 - Posted by | Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. We have two sons and one is named Alex! Manners and etiquette are something we stress are
    very important in life. I like the illustrations on the cover of this book and inside. This book would
    be a great family reading time book!
    Many thanks, Cindi

    Comment by Cindi | February 28, 2012 | Reply

  2. I love the idea behind this book; what a great way to help our boys continue to learn about being gentlemen!

    Comment by lisa | February 28, 2012 | Reply

  3. I wish I had this when my son was little, great idea behind the book and my nephew will value from it.

    Comment by Susan Peck | February 28, 2012 | Reply

  4. My grandson gets compliments on his behavior in school – it’s at home with his sisters where he needs to remember to practice good manners.

    Comment by Teresa Young | February 28, 2012 | Reply

  5. I like that this book shows kids learning and putting kindness (isn’t that most of being a gentleman?) to use.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | February 28, 2012 | Reply

  6. My 5 year old son could greatly benefit from this book. My husband works a lot, so my son doesn’t get to see “gentlemenly” things very often.

    Comment by Brenda | February 28, 2012 | Reply

  7. What a unique idea for a book. Kids are never too young to learn how to treat others . I love the concept. Thanks for the giveaway.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | February 29, 2012 | Reply

  8. My husband and I are definitely wanting to start early with training my son to be a gentleman and have good manners. I like that it shows the children learning from their parents before they face an experience. Sounds like a great teaching book.

    Comment by Terri | March 1, 2012 | Reply

  9. I LOVE the message in this book! There is a little boy at my children’s school who always holds the door for us and lets us go through first and I always think he’s such a little gentleman. I’d love to teach my son to be the same way and reading a book about it would be great for him! :-)

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | March 2, 2012 | Reply

  10. I totally love books with lessons and ones that teach manners are even better. It is hard to example WHY we should do things and story help alot.
    I left comment on authors interview too.

    Comment by Daily Woman | March 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,604 other followers

