Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks Interview with Author Sandra McLeod Humphrey


Sandra McLeod Humphrey is a retired clinical psychologist with over 35 years experience working with young people. She is a writer and consultant for the Heroes & Dreams Foundation which provides character education materials to schools K-8 throughout the United Statesand Canadaand the recipient of the NationalCharacterEducationCenter’s Award for “Exemplary Leadership in Ethics Education” (2000). She was also “Author of the Month” for MyShelf.com 12/03 and the recipient of the Helen Keating Ott Award for Outstanding Contribution to Children’s Literature (7/05). http://www.kidscandoit.com/kids-book-author.html

Interview with Sandra McLeod Humphrey author of They Stood ALONE! 25 Men and Women WHO MADE A DIFFERENCE

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?

I Stand with Courage: One Woman’s Journey to Conquer Paralysis is the story of Kathryn Holmes’s faith journey as she makes the transition from wheelchair to walker to cane to being completely ambulatory.  I love stories that inspire!

What were your earliest memories of writing?

One of my earliest memories is winning a Spenserian Sonnet contest. My sonnet was about Endymion (the mortal lover of the moon goddess Selene) and, looking back, I’m not sure how I did it. I don’t really think I could ever do it again!

What was your favorite children’s book?

 I think it would have to be Bambi. I still love Thumper and all his very sage advice!

 Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

I wasn’t particularly encouraged to write, but I always loved to write. I was a clinical psychologist for 31 years and I think it’s safe to say that I was the only psychologist on our staff who actually loved to write psychological assessments and court reports.  

Are you working on a new book?

Failure Isn’t Final!: 25 Men and Women Who Never Gave Up is my current work-in-progress. I want kids to understand that success usually doesn’t come easily and that it requires hard work, perseverance, and a belief in one’s dream.

What inspired you to write ‘They Stood Alone! Men and Women Who Made a Difference’?

During my school visits, I found so many students who had already given up their dreams and no longer had any personal aspirations. I wanted to restore some of their hopes and dreams by showing them that one person can indeed make a difference. Each of the 25 men and women in my book made a unique contribution which changed and shaped the course of history, and they were not afraid to take a risk even when it meant standing alone.

What was your reaction when you first learnt that you won 2011 Mom’s Choice Gold Award Recipient? 

I respect the Mom’s Choice Awards very much because they recognize and promote quality family-friendly products and services, so I felt very honored that my book received their gold YA nonfiction award.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

Finding the time to write has become the most difficult part of writing these days. I’m a morning person, so I try to do most of my writing in the morning and my promotional and volunteer activities later in the day.

Do you write full time or do you still have a day job?

I’m “retired” now, but I find that I’m busier than ever with all my promotional and volunteer activities.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

I’ve only had one bad review so far and the intensity of the negativity really

stunned me.  I tend to be an encourager as much as possible and, if I can’t write a positive review, then I prefer to write no review. I’ve never experienced writer’s block—I have just the opposite problem. I have so many ideas floating through my head that I would have to live to be at least 200 to be able to use them all.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

I hope my book will encourage readers to discover their passion, to have a dream, and to follow their heart and never give up their dream.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

Lois Lowry, C.S. Lewis, Madeline L’Engle, G.K. Chesterton, Judy Blume, and  Dr. Seuss are some of my favorites. What great dinner conversation we could have!

What author inspires you the most and why? I love Beth Moore’s books as she writes from the heart and with such passion.

 What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

I’m definitely a “list” person. I love to make lists, just so I can cross  off finished projects from my list. I have a ‘To-Do” list for every day of the week and crossing things off my list gives me a feeling of accomplishment!

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

Readingtrusted reviewers and  checking out blogs like yours, Read Aloud Dad, and Happy Birthday Author can give parents  some great book ideas for their kids.

What advice you would give to new writers? Pretty much the same old advice everyone else gives: READ, READ, READ! Read books in the genre you want to write, but also read in other genres as well.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

I would like to thank you for inviting me to  be your guest author and I would like to invite everyone to check out my DARE TO DREAM BIG! Blog which is part educational/part inspirational at http://www.kidscandoit.com/blog/.

Thank you for this interview.

 

February 24, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Hi Sandra,
    It’s a pleasure meeting you. I think your book is an amazing guide for children to find their own passions and see that dreams do come true. I’m definitely going to check out your blog. Congrats on your Mom’s Choice Gold Award.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | February 25, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks so much, Carol, and I’m so glad you’re going to check out my blog. I really want to inspire our kids to have a dream and the perseverance to do all that is necessary to fulfill that dream! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

      Comment by Sandra McLeod Humphrey | February 25, 2012 | Reply

  2. What an accomplished writer Sandra McLeod Humphrey is. I thank you for letting us in a seeing a side of you through you likes and favorite. Children need works like yours to grown with creativity and also knowing that the sky is no longer the limit. That they can sore! I look forward to reading your book They stood alone-25. Not only for myself but for my children as well. Thank you for your interview!

    Comment by Kelley Johnsen | February 25, 2012 | Reply

    • You’re most welcome, Kelley, and it was just announced that They Stood Alone! was the winner in the DIY Book Festival Winner for the Teenage category. You’re so right, the only limits are those we place upon ourselves! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment!

      Comment by Sandra McLeod Humphrey | February 25, 2012 | Reply

  3. Thanks so much, Carol, and I’m so glad you’re going to check out my blog. I really want to inspire our kids to have a dream and the perseverance to do all that is necessary to fulfill that dream! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

    Comment by Sandra McLeod Humphrey | February 25, 2012 | Reply

  4. You’re most welcome, Kelley, and it was just announced that They Stood Alone! was the winner in the DIY Book Festival Winner for the Teenage category. You’re so right, the only limits are those we place upon ourselves! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment!

    Comment by Sandra McLeod Humphrey | February 25, 2012 | Reply

  5. I like that she encourages other writers to read. It’s definitely important for everyone.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | February 25, 2012 | Reply

  6. I love her list of favorite authors-several are favorites of mine as well :-) And I’m very much a person who likes to make lists too…it definitely feels great accomplishing things on it and being able to cross the chores off :-)

    Comment by Kristie | February 26, 2012 | Reply

  7. I loved reading this interview. I made many connections…first, I think she may love writing about the courage of the girl who fell from a ride in WI Dells, WI, last summer. She was never to walk again, but I saw her this week on tv, walking with a walker and determined to be rid of it, too. Also, I love her frustration about never having enough time to write….ditto here…..and last, as I am a Title I teacher, I respect her advice about read, read, read…..thanks for this refreshing interview.

    Comment by louise zirk | February 26, 2012 | Reply

  8. I enjoyed your interview. I appreciate that you’ve chosen to find a way to motivate others to find a way to make a difference.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | February 27, 2012 | Reply

  9. One person really can make a difference, like you said. It is important that kids realize that they can too. They are unique and have a special role to play.

    Comment by Vanessa | March 3, 2012 | Reply

  10. Sandy is my inspiration. She is so positive and gives so much positive reinforcement to young people. She loves to inspire children. I am proud to read her books and share them with young friends.

    Comment by Kathi Holmes | March 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,577 other followers

