Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Wild Rose’s Weaving. Ends Jan 29th


Wild Rose’s Weaving by Ginger Churchill and illustrated by Nicole Wong.

 

Giveaway Winner

About the Book: Rose’s grandmother wants to teach Rose how to weave, but Rose is enjoying the beautiful day outside far too much to come in and learn. It is not until Grandma shows Rose how she has woven the elements of nature into her rug, that Rose wants to create a rug of her own. But now Grandma has spied a rainbow. Hand in hand, she and Rose head outside, and the next day, that rainbow reappears in Rosie’s own rug. http://gingerchurchill.com/

My Review: When Grandma called out to Rose Wild to come learn how to weave, Wild Rose said she was too busy and ran out of the house. She spooked the sheep, saw the lightning flash, and splashed in the tiny rivers. “This is so much better than weaving she thought.”

Even though her grandma asks her again and again to come and learn how to weave, Wild Rose would rather play than learn how to weave. When Wild Rose finally came in and saw that her grandma has finished the rug, she saw life in its colors.

This is an interesting story about a grandparent wanting to pass on a generational skill to her grandchild.  The illustrations by Nicole Wong are beautifully with the use of soft pastels to bring the story to life.

Read all about the author http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/interview-with-author-ginger-churchill/#comments

Ages: 4 and up

Pages: 32

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.

Giveaway Rules

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There will be 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by Random.org

Giveaway Ends January 29th.

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

Mandatory: First leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

This Giveaway Has Ended!

 

Winner: teabird

January 15, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,

19 Comments »

  1. Sounds like a book my little sister would like. My parents have passed on so many traditions to me and at the time (when I was younger) I did not appreciate their efforts nearly as much as I should. Thank you for the chance to win! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  2. This book makes me think of the importance of mentors for young people. If given their way all the time, children would play all the time and miss out on a lot of valuable skills. Unfortunately, I think back on my childhood and can think of many skills I missed out on because I chose to play instead.

    Comment by Heidi Grange | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  3. Sounds like a beautiful book. I like the way it sounds like it interweaves the beauty of nature with adult/child listening and relationships!!

    Comment by Jesse Miles | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  4. this book looks interesting and reminds me of time i spent with my grandmother and how she took the time to show me how to crochet. i remember wanting to play but also the pride i felt when she complimented my work and i actually made something! It seems to be a story encouraging how important it is to make time to weave out special memories with those important to you :)

    Comment by catherine c | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  5. I absolutely love the front cover illustration! Very eye catching.
    I am excited to see a book about this topic as I think the passing down of generational skills is at risk of vanishing completely. I hope this book helps to remind us as parents as well as encourage young ones to keep these skills going.

    Comment by stuffsmart | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  6. This book reminds me of when my Grandmother taught me to crochet when I was little. I still enjoy doing it, and I have those memories!

    Comment by Julie Miller Janney | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  7. What a sweet cover. From the sounds of the book I wish a few of my cousins had had it when they were young. I’m the oldest and seem to be the only one who wanted to learn from our grandma (cross stitches, etc). They were always running about and I know she would have loved to spend some extra time with them.

    Comment by anna | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  8. The elders of all families have so many sills to pass down and sadly when we are young we ‘d rather be out doing what we want then learning a family trait. My grand mother taught me how to cook along with my Mom but the knitting she tried to teach me I had no time for and regret it because I would love to knit now. :) Thanks so much for introducing us to another great read.
    Commented on interview also.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  9. This looks like a wonderful story to show the kids that we should appreciate our elders trying to teach us. It’s something we all need to remember : )

    Comment by lisa | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  10. This book could definitely spark a nice discussion between parent and child. It could be a springboard for teaching a generational skill to the child. This could include cooking, sewing, painting, etc.

    Thanks for offering!

    Katieamanda1(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by Katie W. | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  11. What a lovely book! It reminds me of my own grandmother teaching me to weave.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  12. Weaving, crocheting, sewing and knitting are a few things I wish I knew how to do. My grandmother was a great cook and that is the one thing she passed on to me, a love for cooking. Thank you for introducing this book.

    familyreads at ymail dot com

    Comment by Saba | January 15, 2012 | Reply

  13. What a wonderful story! It reminds me of my sister and I learning to knit from our grandmother and now my daughter is learning to knit from her grandma :-)

    Comment by Kristie | January 16, 2012 | Reply

  14. I love to do crafts with my grandchildren, nothing as traditional or ambitious as weaving though. I think this story would show how artists are connected to nature, whether they are weavers, photographers, quilters, etc, and how artwork can reflect nature. The cover illustration is adorable.
    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | January 16, 2012 | Reply

  15. Lovely story and drawings. Please enter me.

    harvee44 at yahoo.com

    Comment by harvee | January 17, 2012 | Reply

  16. this book sounds wonderful, a must read!

    Comment by Sue Bunting | January 17, 2012 | Reply

  17. Beautiful cover and a beautiful message. I think so much is getting lost in generations. Its nice to read about a skill from grandma to grandchild.

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | January 24, 2012 | Reply

  18. One of my close friends has a little girl who has been learning to use the spinning wheel and knit. I think she’d love this book!

    Comment by teabird | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  19. I liked how Rose’s grandmother connected her desire to teach Rose to weave to Rose’s interest in nature.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | January 29, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,607 other followers

