Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Mortimer’s Sweet Retreat. Ends Nov 19th


 

 The Many Adventures of Mortimer Crump: Mortimer’s Sweet Retreat by Mandi Tilotson Williams.

My Review: Mortimer Crump was watching the sky turn gray when a bird shouted from the sky to Mortimer to run. Before Mortimer could do anything, along came a flying monster named Boo Woolly who scooped him up and flew him to a land full of sweets and fun. Where an amusement park has all kind of sweets, where the slides are made of bubblegum, peppermint roads and the gingerbread men who walk around saying hello.

 

Boo Woolly turned out to be a friendly monster that later disappeared. Knowing that he was Boo Woolly’s only hope he armed himself and set out to rescue him. Was he able to rescue Boo Woolly? This book is all about friendship. The hand drawn illustrations with crayon coloring are wonderful that it will captivate any child to pick it up to read. I highly recommend this book.

Ages: 6 and up

Pages: 28 

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

 

PLEASE FOLLOW ALL MANDATORY RULES – Rules not followed will be deleted immediately.

(Rule 4. Winner/winners will be seleted from either the Book review comments field OR from the Author’s interview comments field.) So it would be best to leave your comment on both.

Giveaway

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Comments should be left for the Book Review and the Author’s Interview 

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner selected by Random.org

Author is giving  1 copy to 1 lucky winner.

Giveaway Ends November 19th.

 

1. Mandatory: Please leave your comment about the book and your email address in the comment field below.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there 

http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2011/11/05/interview-with-author-mandi-tillotson-williams/#respond

 

Do Not Forget to Click the link

above to leave Your Comment

  about the interview also!

November 5, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. My nephew would love to read this. He is only four years old, so he would learn alot about friendship.

    Comment by Patsy Hagen | November 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. The book sounds sweet, and it’s nice to read about acting kindly to friends.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | November 5, 2011 | Reply

  3. I cant wait to read this book with my children, Ages 10, 6, 3 and 10months! I know that they will love it! I think that the 19yr old and 15 yr old will too.

    Comment by Missie Sadler-Goodwin | November 5, 2011 | Reply

  4. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my book and review it. :o) Glad you liked it. Thank you too for the sweet comments from Patsy and domestic diva. Good luck to you both.
    Mandi

    Comment by Mandi Tillotson Williams | November 5, 2011 | Reply

  5. Where were Amusement Parks like this when I was a kid. lol
    This is an entertaining read with a valuable lesson for children. I love the stories where the children are amused and having fun reading while learning important values. Love the illustrations done by Mandi. Commented on the Interview with Mandi..GFC name is Lucky47.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  6. Hi Carol. So glad you enjoyed my book. Thank you for sharing about it. I wish my last name was Disney, Mortimer would have a theme park! Lol. :o)

    Comment by Mandi Tillotson Williams | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  7. To very cute…candy and amusement park?
    I think all little ones would love to go and eat a park!!!

    alekee02[at]yahoo[dot]com

    Comment by Maureen Timerman | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  8. I love that there are new children books out there. The standards are great, but new authors should be encouraged.

    Comment by Bonnie Gurney | November 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you Bonnie. :) I have gotten so much encouragement, not only from friends and family but others as well that have just read my books and loved them. At first I was unsure of how my illustrations would do being that I used a color book style. To my surprise, I have gotten wonderful feedback! This makes me sooo happy too and also to hear that my illustrations have inspired kids to want to write is one of the best compliments ever. I even had a little girl make a book as a gift for ME! It was sooo precious. This encouragement is what has turned me into a writing machine lately. Lol. Thank you all for showing interest in my book. Your kids will love it I am certain. :)

      Comment by Mandi | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  9. Friendship, amusement park, and sweets– who could ask for more?! My daughter would love this book.

    Comment by AEKZ2 | November 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you AEKZ2. :) good luck to your daughter too.

      Comment by Mandi | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  10. I enjoy reading books to my kids that are about friendship, so they can learn what it means to be a true friend :-)

    Comment by Kristie | November 7, 2011 | Reply

  11. Boo woolly looks so cute! I love that it tells the story of friendship. Would be a great addition!

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | November 8, 2011 | Reply

  12. I enjoy the time I spend with my kids reading them books :) I especially love to read them bopoks that they will learn something from,wether it be friendship, sharing,helping…anything to help guide them as they grow.
    Thanks for the giveaway.
    kristinaparmenter51(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by Kristina Parmenter (@harley_chick883) | November 18, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,557 other followers

