Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Garter Snake at Willow Creek Lane. Ends Nov 19th


Garter Snake atWillow Creek Lanewritten by Janet Halfmann, illustrated by Anne Wertheim

Garter Snake has been on her own since birth. She has learned important skills including how to find meals and protect herself from enemies such as crows and dogs. Now, her biggest struggle is to find a place to spend the winter months. Will she find a winter den before it gets too cold? An easy-to-download read-along audiobook with realistic sound effects is included!

My Review: This is a delightful book about Garter snakes that would intrigue children of all ages.  Author Janet Halfmann did a great job using fictional story to describe the habits and habitats of the Garter snakes. Do you know that after the mother Garter has given birth to move than 12 Garter snakes she moves on after just spend up to two days with the snakelings? The snakelings are then left to fend for themselves. They feed on earthworms, insects, snails, slugs in the garden. After a few weeks, the Garter snakes rub their faces on rocks to tear or shed their old shin. To protect themselves they can squirts musk from an opening near their tail. The liquid’s foul odor and icky taste usually make animals leave them alone. And during the month of October, they like to look for a warm place where they wouldn’t freeze during the winter. I don’t like snakes but I enjoyed reading this book. I highly recommend this book for classroom teaching and school libraries.

 

Pages:  32

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

 

Giveaway

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY

Author is giving  1 copy to 1 lucky winner.

Giveaway Ends November 19th.

 Mandatory: Please leave your comment about the book and your email address in the comment field below.

November 1, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,

24 Comments »

  1. My nephew loves Garter snakes, he’s had an obsession with snakes for awhile now :) Thank you for the chance to win! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thanks so much for the wonderful review of my book. I’m happy to find that even people who don’t particularly like snakes are enjoying the book. Happy Reading to All!

    Comment by Janet Halfmann | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  3. My reptile lover would find this fascinating. I think we’d all learn something.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  4. This is really cute my little four year old grandson would love this. He is very adventurous and loves to explore.

    plb1050 at gmail dot com

    Comment by It's Time To Read Mamaw | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  5. It amazes me how few books there are on animals that many of my students might run into. I guess it’s probably because there isn’t a large market for those kinds of topics. This looks like a great book for the snake lovers at my school.
    Thanks.

    hg195 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Heidi Grange | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  6. I would love to win this for my son to enjoy. He loves snakes and outdoor animals

    bamagv at aol dot com

    Comment by Gretta | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  7. hi i think this book on gater snakes would be a fun way to learn. i have a new great grandson that i am trying to get involved in books and this would make learning about snakes fun, boys like stuff like this. thanks joannie jscddmj[at]aol[dot]com

    Comment by joannie sparks | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  8. This sounds like just the type of book my Grandson would want to read and look at. He loves things like snakes, even though Grandma shudders at the thought. lol
    A great way for kids to learn and at the same time enjoy themselves. Thanks
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | November 2, 2011 | Reply

  9. Who knew little garter snakes had to be so independent from day 1! I think all kids would enjoy hearing and learning about this early independence. Sounds like a fun way to learn about this species of reptile.

    Suzanne Purvis
    spurvis500@embarqmail.com

    Comment by Suzanne | November 2, 2011 | Reply

  10. My kids are scared of snakes so this might help them enjoy snakes and nature more, thanks cute book

    Comment by mdebockmelissa | November 2, 2011 | Reply

  11. This is great my Grandson lives on Willow Creek Lane!
    Know how good these guys are, help with the insects in the garden
    Thanks
    Maureen

    alekee02[at]yah00[dot]com

    Comment by Maureen Timerman | November 2, 2011 | Reply

  12. My son and daughter would love to read this with their POP!
    delcodealdiva@yahoo.com

    Comment by Kelly Moran | November 2, 2011 | Reply

  13. Would love this for my great-niece who loves the outdoors.

    Comment by Kathy Schoenherr | November 2, 2011 | Reply

  14. I would to share this with the children in my life. The illustrations look absolutely fabulous.

    Comment by Stuff Smart (@StuffSmart) | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  15. Sounds like a great story that I would love to share with my daughter.

    Comment by Tasha Kearney | November 4, 2011 | Reply

  16. Smithsonian Backyard books are wonderful – my grandkids enjoy the ones we own. And we love Janet Halfman’s Pelican’s Catch & Star of the Sea. I know this story would entertain them.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | November 4, 2011 | Reply

  17. What an awesome book. My kids would love to learn about snakes. I think its neat how the illustrations look and how the facts are given.

    Comment by larissa brunken | November 5, 2011 | Reply

  18. I’d love to win this book.

    Comment by clenna | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  19. i am lucky enough to be able to hang out with two awesome kids while my friends go get things one. The boy is 8 and he loves snakes. This would be awesome for him. I think I would love reading it to him and his sister.

    Comment by antane | November 12, 2011 | Reply

  20. It’s so much fun reading all these comments about budding snake lovers! Happy Reading to All—and Good Luck!

    Comment by Janet Halfmann | November 12, 2011 | Reply

  21. This sounds like a wonderful introduction to snakes for kids — a way for them to understand their place in their environment and not fear them. My niece and nephew love their copy of another of Janet’s other books Goodnight, Little Sea Otter. I know they’d love this too!

    Comment by Patricia | November 12, 2011 | Reply

  22. I would love to enter your draw. Love the sound of this book, and we are already huge fans of the author. Plus these Smithsonian series books are awesome. We have one about the little black ant that was really cute, educational read.

    Comment by rebekah crain | November 12, 2011 | Reply

  23. How adorable! I love Smithsonian backyard books, they are perfect for my little girls!

    Comment by Carol | November 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,579 other followers

