Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Rock & Rhino Learn Responsibility. Ends Sept 14th


Rock and Rhino Learn Responsibility by Margie Taylor Lisbona & Brock Pfannenstiel illustrated by JP Roberts.

Have YOU ever met a “Rhino?” Have you ever witnessed a child who is being unmanageable and out of control? Perhaps you’ve seen this “Rhino” in an airport, restaurant, public event or even in their own home. If your answer is a resounding “YES,” then this book series is made just for you!

The tired and frustrated parent/guardian is ready for a better way of “training up” their children, overcoming behavioral and organizational issues. A voice to help guide them along the way. The first book in the series is “Rock & Rhino Learn Responsibility.” This book offers an exciting and engaging way for kids to have fun and learn at the same time.

The book is divided into three parts showcasing the lovable and quirky Rock & Rhino demonstrating fun and easy examples of what to do, and what not to do, in everyday childhood situations. The third part of the book is for “adults only.” This will give you a “Treasure Trove” of information, plus the tools needed to fix the inappropriate behavior. The result will be happier kids and parents! The ultimate goal is for your children to be “ROCKSTARS” and not “Whiney Rhineys!”

My Review: Rock and Rhino Learn Responsibility is the first book of the ten book series by Margie Taylor Lisbona.  

This is a self help book of responsibility and organizational skills for parent and child. The author uses the character Rhino and Rock to show children the important of responsibility.

Rhino is a Rhinoceros who is always having problems being organized and responsible. He rather plays outside with his friends than take the trash out. His toys are all over the house and his room is always a mess that that he has problem finding things he needs. And because he doesn’t listen to his parents he has to do timeout which makes him unhappy. Unlike his friend Rock the Chicken, Rock is always happy, his father and mother teaches him how to be organized. His room is always clean and his toys and books are neatly put away. He knows that he has to do his chores before he goes outside to play. The author also listed a few things parents can teach their child. The illustrations by JP Roberts help tell the story. I highly recommend this book for parents and classroom teaching.

Ages: 4 -8

Pages: 48

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway (US ONLY) – There will be ONLY 1 Winner

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer

http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/giveaway-guidelines-disclaimer/

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! So please leave a helpful comment relating to this book.

PLEASE FOLLOW ALL MANDATORY RULES – Rules not followed will be deleted immediately.

(Rule 4. Winner/winners will be seleted from either the Book review comments field OR from the Author’s interview comments field.)

Mandatory Entry: You must leave your comments in the field below. Don’t forget to leave your email address for contact if you win.

Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment .

http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/interview-with-margie-taylor-lisbona/

 

 

Giveaway Ends September 14th @ 12 noon

The winner will be selected via Random.org

 

This giveaway has ended!

August 31, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. I think this book would be great for my son! He definitely needs to learn a little bit about responsibility and organization :)
    I left a comment on Margie’s interview, which I really, really enjoyed!

    http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/interview-with-margie-taylor-lisbona/#comment-2543

    Comment by Julie Witt | August 31, 2011 | Reply

  2. This book would be so beneficial to my granddaughter. Sadly, she is from a broken home and because of the constant upheaval in her life, she has some behavior problems.
    I enjoyed Margie’s interview.

    http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/interview-with-margie-taylor-lisbona/#comment-2545

    Comment by Lisa Richards | August 31, 2011 | Reply

  3. What a good idea! I think every child could use to be reminded of how you are supposed to behave. And how nice for the parents to have their own go-to section of the book!

    Comment by lisa | August 31, 2011 | Reply

  4. This book would be great for my little cousins. They’re at that stage now where they’re really, really interested in books. Especially those in cartoon form.

    brittany_tucker@aol.com

    Comment by Brittany T. | August 31, 2011 | Reply

  5. This book has come at a perfect time. My daughter is going through this now with her son. A 10 book series sounds incredible and I will mention this to her. Thanks for the opportunity. I did leave a comment on the Author’s interview but once again I couldn’t answer above because as soon as I clicked it went to the graphic.Thanks for the chance.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | September 1, 2011 | Reply

  6. I love books with a lesson attached this would be great for my 6 year old son! He loves books and I love books that will teach him something while he’s enjoying them!
    amandacrews@hotmail.com

    Comment by amanda beasley | September 1, 2011 | Reply

  7. I read the interview and commented…we also posted about your giveaway at Winning Readings

    Comment by Megan | September 1, 2011 | Reply

    • I tend to be a Rhino…but am hoping to raise Rockstars!!! Will have to start teaching by example…

      Comment by Megan | September 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you.

      Comment by mymcbooks | September 2, 2011 | Reply

  8. I loved the interview and love the idea of her next book
    This book looks like an awesome book for my 4 year old. It looks like a good lesson teacher.
    chaarmedone1512(at)aol(dot)com

    Comment by Lora1967 | September 3, 2011 | Reply

  9. We could totally use this book here with my 2 little ones! They’re just starting to learn to be more responsible for their own things and it’d be nice to reinforce that with a good book! :-)

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | September 7, 2011 | Reply

  10. Yes I left a comment in the interview (Sophie and Momma). sophieandmomma at gmail dot com

    I absolutely love authors whose goal is towards helping children learn valuable lessons in life. There are times that help comes in the form of fun stories! I know that as a parent I appreciate it when a book is more than just a book, but a platform in which I can help better my child.

    Comment by Sophie and Momma | September 8, 2011 | Reply

  11. This seems to be just the kind of book we’re looking for. I have a “Rhino” right now and I think that a book written for children might just help him understand his behaviors better than me lecturing him all of the time!

    I left a comment on the author post. I attempted to leave a “yes” in the form, but I’m not sure if it went through.

    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Alicia C. | September 9, 2011 | Reply

  12. Loved the interview! Love how the book helps teach and not preach. Not only for kids but parents. I have a houseful of Rhino’ s

    Also tried clicking the yes line above but it keeps taking me to the picture of the book.

    Comment by Larissa | September 11, 2011 | Reply

  13. I left a comment on the author’s interview.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | September 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,552 other followers

