Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Zapato Power Freddie Ramos Takes off. Ends Sept 4th


Zapato Power: Freddie Ramos Takes Off written by Jacqueline Jules and illustrated by Miguel Benitez

 

One day Freddie Ramos comes home from school and finds a strange box just for him.  What’s inside? 

My Review: Freddie was trying to find out who left him a mysterious package with no return address but a note that says ‘Zapato Power for Freddie Ramos’. Was the mysterious package from his uncle Jorge inNew York? But uncle always sends funny cards with his gifts and there was no card in the box but a pair of purple sneakers with silver wings on the side. Later that day Freddie found out that the sneakers wasn’t from his uncle or his mother.  But Freddie was happy because he was ready to be a hero.

The positive thing about this book is that Freddie decided to use his new-found powers for good. He was eager to use his new power to help his friends and save the day. By using his super speed he was able to pick up forgotten lunches and library books.

The mystery is who sent Freddie the purple sneakers and would he figure it out in the end?  An interesting read for early chapter readers.

Age: 4-8
Pages: 80

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway (US ONLY)

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer

http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/giveaway-guidelines-disclaimer/

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! So please leave a helpful comment relating to this book.

PLEASE FOLLOW ALLMANDATORY RULES – Rules not followed will be deleted immediately.

Mandatory Question: What super power would your child have and why?

You must leave your comments and answer to the question in the comment field below Don’t forget to leave your email address for contact if you win.

Mandatory Entry: Please read the author’s interview and leave a comment also http://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2011/08/21/interview-the-author-jacqueline-jules/#respond

 

Giveaway Ends September 4th  @ 12 noon

The winner will be selected via Random.org And there will only be 1 winner

 

 

This giveaway has ended.  

 

 

August 21, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , , ,

16 Comments »

  1. My granddaughter would so love this book. She is always pretending to talk to Jake from “Jake and the Never Land”. She says he is invisible so that would be her super power.

    Comment by Lisa Richards | August 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. I asked my grandson what he would like his superpower to be. He said I want to be able to fly around, be really strong, to know what people’s face says and to always get what they are saying. Those last two may not be a super power to most people but my little guy has autism. For him they are a super power. Junior likes to read and he reviews books occasionally on my blog, (you can also see him there on his page – if you stop by look for One face of Autism). We both think this book is very interesting. Thanks!

    Comment by Cristina Gutierrez | August 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. I know my niece would choose to be telekinetic…she learned that from X-men, I believe.

    Comment by krystallarson | August 21, 2011 | Reply

  4. I think it would be cool if my child could fly; I’m not sure if I would want her to be able to read my mind or disappear.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    susanna DOT pyatt AT student DOT rcsnc DOT org

    Comment by Susanna P | August 21, 2011 | Reply

  5. My son would like the ability to fly. He loves having Daddy fly him all over the place!

    I thought the author’s interview was very interesting – especially when she talked about her critical professor. It is obvious that she herself has had an amazing impact on many, many students. Too sad that there are so many critical teachers and instructors out there.

    Thanks for sharing the book. I’m very interested in first readers for little boys and am just beginning to research this category.

    as @ pass-ed.com

    Comment by Andrea | August 21, 2011 | Reply

  6. My little guy wants to be able to jump really high.

    lovelydomesticdiva@gmail.com

    Comment by domestic diva | August 22, 2011 | Reply

  7. My child wants to fly so we can get where we need to go alot faster.
    laceylong27574atgmaildotcom

    Comment by Daily Woman | August 22, 2011 | Reply

  8. This looks like a wonderful adventure! I love that he uses his “zapato powers” for good! I wonder if there are a few more Spanish words? I’ve found that my little one (and older son) both learn new words when they’re disbursed throughout text, such as this book!
    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com ☮

    Comment by Alicia C. | August 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Eek! Thanks for the heads-up!
      My little one AND my oldest would both like to be super fast runners. They both run everywhere they go!

      Comment by Alicia C. | August 22, 2011 | Reply

  9. My kids would love to fly. They zoom around and pretend to do it all the time.
    My daughter pretends she can climb walls and jump high!

    Cute book!

    Comment by Larissa | August 26, 2011 | Reply

  10. Sounds like an entertaining story. My one grandson would definitely want to fly (I don’t think he realizes he can’t yet) lol This would be a good one for several of my grandkids.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | August 27, 2011 | Reply

  11. I think my granddaughter would love to have ability to leap over tall buildings — well, actually her playpen.
    rmelton[at]hotmail[dot]com

    Comment by Rita M | August 29, 2011 | Reply

  12. As the parents of an almost four year old who loves pretending he has super powers this would be a fantastic book. I know he would love to be able to fly. He is always wearing a cape pretending to fly around the house.
    ldombeck@hotmail.com

    Comment by Lauren S | August 31, 2011 | Reply

  13. My 7 year old daughter said that she would like to have the superpower to save and heal sick animals and people too.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

    Comment by Nancye Davis | September 4, 2011 | Reply

  14. I left a comment on the author’s interview.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

    Comment by Nancye Davis | September 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,604 other followers

